We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Eastlund

Show Prices
#9 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Eastlund
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 326: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Eastlund
 Click to rate
Salem, Oregon
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My first review was 3 stars when they first opened. We have now stayed 2 more times and referred many friends and family. Clean, comfortable and so convenient. It is now our go to! Service is top notch and do not miss the bakery.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Babs8
Desmond M, General Manager at Hotel Eastlund, responded to this review

Dear Babs8, Thank you for taking the time review our hotel for a 2nd time. We are so happy to hear you are pleased with our service and are comfortable and confident to refer us to your family and friends! We look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Desmond M.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a class in Portland two weekends in a row, for the full weekend. I opted, due to the snow, to stay in Portland the whole weekend instead of driving back and forth from Salem. The first weekend that I stayed at the Hotel Eastland was an "average to good" time, the room was clean and tidy...economical. But the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mimis_NW_Adventures
Desmond M, General Manager at Hotel Eastlund, responded to this review

Dear Mimis_NW_Adventures, I'm so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your second stay with us. I can assure you, the entire building was renovated at the same time, I apologize for the inconsistencies. I hope that you alerted the staff so that we could rectify the issues you encountered at the time they were discovered. I encourage you to contact...

oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was remodeled a couple of years ago and this is my first visit. It is being touted as a boutique hotel but I'm not sure of the definition of a boutique hotel. It seems nicer and roomier than other boutique hotels I've stayed in. The decor is very modern with modern art in every room. They have all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spelkey56
Desmond M, General Manager at Hotel Eastlund, responded to this review

Dear spelkey56, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm glad to hear you experienced excellent service during your stay. I'm sorry to hear you had trouble with the mini fridge, next time please report any issues so we may resolve the problem prior to leaving, that way we can make it a flawless stay! We...

Kodiak Island, Alaska
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Its definitely not a comfort in or best western... more high end on the affordable spectrum. Clean and comfortable. I didn't see many families or kids besides the cheerleaders from the competition that was going on next door during our stay....I wouldn't say it's family friendly. Lots of couples and business men... less than 8 min uber to downtown bars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hailey T
Desmond M, General Manager at Hotel Eastlund, responded to this review

Dear Hailey T, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and had fun at the rooftop bar! Valet parking is an amenity we offer to take the hassle out of finding parking in this limited and metered parking district. It's very reasonably priced and comparable with our neighbors....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had traveled for buisness for 15 years. Hilton Diamond for 10 straight and really know hotels. I stayed here with my boys on a high occupancy weekend in Portland and was sort of bummed it wasn't in Down Town. Turned out it was a short train ride away, was a good deal slower paced and one of the most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
Desmond M, General Manager at Hotel Eastlund, responded to this review

Dear Dave E, Thank you for the great review! We are excited to be comparable to some of the great hotels you've experienced in your travels! I'm glad the staff was excellent and you got to have breakfast with a celebrity! We are so happy you and your kids enjoyed your stay and we hope the next time you are...

New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for several nights and was impressed with the contemporary feel and our (upgraded) suite! The hallways are really cool, with an optical illusion made possible by creative carpeting, paint colors, and lighting. Our room was beautiful lots of space and a huge bathroom. Even though we were very close to the light rail, it was still pretty quiet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y4269LF
Desmond M, General Manager at Hotel Eastlund, responded to this review

Dear Y4269LF, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your spacious suite and the hotel decor. Thank you for acknowledging the valet, they are fast, efficient and helpful. We look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Desmond M.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay here was disappointing. We had originally book for my grandparents, and I'm so glad they didn't have to stay. Air quality in the room was terrible, and we both woke up with allergy-like symptoms. A low beeping noise permeated the room, keeping me awake. Staff in the "update" restaurant was dismissive even after the game rush was over....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank flash_to_shine
Desmond M, General Manager at Hotel Eastlund, responded to this review

Dear flash_to_shine, I'm so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. After reviewing the details of your stay, our maintenance has followed up with the issues you encountered in your room. Unfortunately, we were not given the opportunity to address your dissatisfaction until recently. I encourage you to contact me directly so that we may arrange another opportunity...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very good experience at Hotel Eastlund... twice. Stayed on either end of a mid-week trip up to Timberline Lodge on Mt. Hood. I chose the hotel because the on-line images looked cool & contemporary, not homey and faux suburban. We had a single king on the third floor the first night, and were upgraded to a fourth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph G
Desmond M, General Manager at Hotel Eastlund, responded to this review

Dear Joseph G, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Hotel Eastlund. We enjoy hearing about the little details that caught your eye and enhanced your overall experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Sincerely, Desmond M.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was stranded in Portland due to an ice storm so I had to find a place to stay. Booked a room here and was thoroughly impressed. They let me check in early and made every accommodation that I requested. The rooms were clean and the view from my room was very nice. The amenities in the hotel were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spairmebs
Desmond M, General Manager at Hotel Eastlund, responded to this review

Dear Spairmebs, Thank you for the excellent review! Sorry to hear you were stranded during the ice storm but it sounds like it turned into a great experience. I'm glad you were impressed with the service and accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Desmond M.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is great. The staff is amazing and friendly, especially Jake at the front desk. Yes, paying for parking sucks, but the valets are great and super quick. The room was comfortable and clean and had a nice view of the city. I didn't find it to be too noisy, and actually slept with the window open to hear...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natalie O
Desmond M, General Manager at Hotel Eastlund, responded to this review

Dear Natalie O, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I'm glad to hear the staff was amazing and you enjoyed the view and city sounds. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Desmond M.

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
1,646 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
2,674 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
1,323 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 138 in Portland
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Eastlund the highly anticipated boutique hotel with sweeping views of the city, is now accepting reservations. Hotel Eastlund is the first contemporary, four-star boutique hotel located in downtown Portland's Eastside. Hotel is scheduled to open in May. Hotel Eastlund, with its mid-century inspired design, will feature wall-to-wall windows in each room and throughout hotel. 168 Rooms and suites, a flexible ballroom with floor-to-ceiling windows, two executive boardrooms and two private dining rooms overlooking downtown. In addition, it will boast world-class dining on its rooftop restaurant and bar, Altabira City Tavern and Citizen Baker the lobby level casual daytime cafe and evening wine bar. Guestrooms and suites have either California Kings or California Double Queens. Hotel Eastlund is adjacent to the Oregon Convention Center, Moda Center, Veteran's Memorial Coliseum and the Central Eastside culinary hub with artisan distilleries, restaurants and breweries. Easy access to MAX & Portland Street Car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Eastlund

Address: 1021 NE Grand Ave, Portland, OR 97232-3490
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range: $243 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eastlund 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Eastlund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Business Hotel in Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Eastlund staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Krakow, Poland
over a year ago
Milton Freewater, Oregon
over a year ago
Nashville, Tennessee

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Eastlund staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get room in accordance with your budget as they all are great!”
 of 5 bubbles 942davee, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was near the light rail (it ran right outside our window) but it was not too loud”
 of 5 bubbles Y4269LF, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher is probably better. It's a city, and the MAX is right outside. It's not a quiet location.”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room not facing the Trimet”
 of 5 bubbles abyks1, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Clean, modern and ideal location”
 of 5 bubbles sammee8, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5