We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Downtown Value Inn

Hostelworld.comUS$68*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$127*
US$68*
Great Deal
US$110*
US$110*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Downtown Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Downtown Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
San Antonio, TX
Reviewed 28 April 2016

I was in town following my favorite band around the country by myself. I selected this place mainly because of its proximity to the band's venue, as well as the price. I was not disappointed. It is a 5-minute walk from Portland 5's Keller Auditorium. For a drive-out price of $90.37 (on a Tuesday in March), I had a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Steve B, Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel conveniently located, spacious and affordable. We're glad that you're "very impressed." We hope that you enjoyed the concert! Hoping your travels bring you back again soon! Warm...

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Whilst the hotel is nothing special; The person who made our stay so good was the girl on reception named Molly. She gave us a very warm welcome and helped us tremendously with our visit to Portland. The room we had was a bit dated...but it was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, it was right by the stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SybSC
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear SyBSC, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We were disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with our hotel in general but glad to hear that you found our beds comfortable and that our staff made it a good experience. We do have a friendly and helpful team working here and...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 29 July 2015

This is my second time staying here and I must admit it was better than the first. Stayed in room 41 which was on what the hotel calls the first floor, but it involved climbing some stairs (about 10). I had my little brother and friends traveling with me this time so I asked for a double queen room. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kari S
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere to provide the best possible experience for our guests and we're glad to see that you noticed our work to improve our guests' experience during their stay. We hope to keep you coming back! -Guest Relations

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

This is a really good place to sleep and stay. It is so affordable even in summer at about $110 per night. Nothing fancy, but there is a tv, refrigerator and microwave. Not enough hangers for clothes, but they have an ironing board on request. The light rail and street car go by the hotel, so it is a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We greatly appreciate the kind words of feedback you had for the Downtown Value Inn. We were glad to see that our facilities were satisfactory and that you were pleased with the service that you received during your time with us. We look forward to your return visit!

Colorado
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

Upon arrival the room and beds had obvious signs of bed bugs. We immediately left. When speaking to the management on our way out he was extremely rude and refused to refund our money. Since we were past the cancellation period there was nothing we could do. We found another hotel that was more expensive, but definitely better than bringing...

 Report
Helpful?
17Thank 26255home
Lewiston, Idaho
Reviewed 1 July 2015

I had a pleasant experience here. Yes, it's not the most modern hotel, but it is close to my office and the room was clean. The bathroom was clean, I had no issues with hot water or anything. The room has a refrigerator and microwave (great for warming up the pizza from next door) and they have FREE parking. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carith A
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay and that we were able to meet your accommodation needs. We hope to see you back again soon!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 June 2015

Myself along with 2 of my friends went on a trip to Portland a few weeks ago. When we arrived we decided to stay at a lower end hotel so that we would have more money to spend on recreational activities. The room itself was perfectly fine. It was clean when we arrived and kept clean daily. It smelled odd...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jake R
Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 27 June 2015

I've stayed here three times now. It has a good location for a business meeting. Friendly staff. However, the room was marginal, run down, cold showers, lots of noise from the street and bar below the room. The place is run down.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim-BoiseIdaho
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

Came here with two women in their seventies and requested ground floor. To get from the lobby to the "ground" floor you have to climb a flight of stairs! There are cobwebs in the corners and no counter in the bathroom. I am very disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chell2000
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 17 June 2015

We arrived with low standards but were still very dissapointed with the place. Walked into the room and there were two half empty beer cans and the bedding had a few stains even though the room had been cleaned. Staff werent very approachable either. If you want to see Portland properly even while on a budget, stay elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank samander11

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 140 in Portland
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#27 of 140 in Portland
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Address: 415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range: $118 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Downtown Value Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Downtown Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The right side of the hotel may be better. 40's and up.”
ChristinaN384, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from them and get somewhere else...it is the best way!”
hirohosono, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“# 34 was our room and the owner had just painted and remodeled the bathroom.”
vld, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room not on the main road as the trams are go right pass the front and start at around 5.30AM”
817karlp, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you can park on-location,”
883luisj, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$68* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$110
Hotwire.comUS$110
Booking.comUS$127
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates