We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

University Place Hotel and Conference Center

Expedia.comUS$101*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

436 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 393: English reviews
Start your review of University Place Hotel and Conference Center
 Click to rate
Corvallis Oregon
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for 2 nights, room were clean well maintained but a little dates and wore. Biggest complaint was the noise. The walls seemed to be very thin you could hear your neighbors easily and carts rolling by your room were very loud. Staff was very friendly and accommodating with our needs of a easy access room. Breakfast was plain but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
Washington
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We like that you can pretty much walk everywhere downtown or if you want to take the light rail located very close. We like the parking and easy access to our car if we want to use it or get something out of it. Other downtown hotels insist on parking your car in a garage and it's a hassle to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William S
Alex H, Sales at University Place Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

William, thank you so much for this review! We appreciate your comments. Glad to know that your stay went so well here -- we're actually just about to open up a new room class that's even more "deluxe" than before. Hopefully we'll see you soon! Have a good one!

Renton, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is in need of a facelift, but as far as downtown Portland is concerned, you can't beat the price. We had no complaints. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff people we met were friendly and helpful. The cookie we were presented with at check-in was a nice touch. Having a light rail stop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
Alex H, Sales at University Place Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

John, thank you for your review. We really do think it needs some replacements/repairs as well -- and that's exactly what we're doing right now! We're renovating a lot of the hotel. Good to know you had such a good trip overall, liking our beds, the location, and the cookie! Hopefully you had a great trip, safe travels!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was clean but since it had an outside entrance, needed better insulation. This is in Portland and it is still chilly in the spring and there was a huge draft coming through the edge of the closed door. Restaurant food was horrible. Well located. Close to mass transit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
Alex H, Sales at University Place Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Susan, Thanks for your feedback. We're currently working on a lot of repairs throughout the hotel -- we'll try and find out what room you were in to repair that draft! As for the restaurant, we're getting new management very, very soon and we'll have a whole new crew working there with new food. Thank you so much for your...

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is a bit worn and many areas need a makeover. Great location on light rail line. Not much of a bar or dinning but food and people were friendly. Great complementary breakfast. Car rental on site. Noisy area near freeway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
Alex H, Sales at University Place Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Ken, thank you for your review. Happy to know that you enjoyed our location and staff so much! We definitely agree that many rooms need a makeover - and right now we're doing that! Today, actually, we're opening up a new room type, and it's just the beginning of massive plans for renovations. Hope to see you again soon with...

Bahia Del Sol, El Salvador
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in the afternoon by train and were able to quickly get to the hotel by public transportation. The city line lets you off right in front of the hotel and from that same place you can go virtually anywhere in the city. The check in process was quick and efficient although the lady at the desk seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elbye
Tori B, Sales at University Place Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. I am glad you were able to take advantage of both the free hot breakfast and our location directly next to Portland public transportation. I apologize that are ice machines were not working, but I hope you come stay with us again soon!

Steilacoom, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were nice sized and equipped with microwave, small refrigerator, and Keurig Coffee Maker. Our room was clean and had everything we needed including free internet access. Convenient parking on site. Hot breakfast included. We were disappointed that the outdoor pool was not ready yet. We had read there was "health club access" but found out it was $15 per...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelPair1968
Tori B, Sales at University Place Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize that our outdoor pool was not accessible as the weather has not been nice enough to open it. We hope that you come back once it is and also check out the renovations we have been doing.

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I think it might be owned by Portland State University. It's an old property and dated (60s/70s era) but clean and tidy. All staff were helpful and pleasant. Breakfast is included and hot buffet and usual continental choices - pretty decent spread. The bar/restaurant is the same location and has a very limited menu but the food was tasty. Wings,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne W
Alex H, Sales at University Place Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Wayne, thank you for the review. We try our best to keep our hotel clean even if it is an older building! We are definitely owned and operated by Portland State University and do our best to cater to the student needs here, i.e. an affordable and simple menu, access to transit, and good value. We hope that you had...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Checked in late and the staff were amazing. Free cookies were appreciated :) Breakfast buffet was well stocked and tasty. Portland Street Car is 2 blocks away and an easy & cheap way to get most places. Walking is fairly easy as well, all flat and plenty to see along the way

 Report
Helpful?
Thank briony_b83
Alex H, Sales at University Place Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. We try our best to let people check in as late as they need to with no problems -- so glad to hear that you had such a positive experience overall! Hopefully we'll see you again, safe travels!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Cinco de Mayo weekend was surprisingly busy in Portland and I was lucky to discover University Place that was great value. (Tip: Check their Facebook page for any current discount codes!) The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and the location is well-connected. Things are not perfect (I could hear road noise from my room, you bus your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fermax
Alex H, Sales at University Place Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Nice tip, Fermax! We definitely post there frequently. We're so glad that you took advantage of our breakfast, our location, and had nice experiences with our staff! We are the only economy hotel in downtown Portland and we do our best to make sure our place is a solid choice to stay at, simple and satisfying. Thank you for all...

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 140 in Portland
699 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#27 of 140 in Portland
1,900 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Affordable rooms and conference space with easy access to everything in downtown including Pioneer Square, Saturday Market, and Portland Art Museum. TriMet public transportation located right in front of the hotel. Outdoor seasonal pool, free WiFi and giant cookie upon check-in are just a few of our great amenities! ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Place Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 310 SW Lincoln St, Portland State University, Portland, OR 97201-5007
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range: $144 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Place Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your University Place Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Place Hotel Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from University Place Hotel and Conference Center staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
United States
4 months ago
Kailua, Hawaii
New York, New York, United States

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from University Place Hotel and Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose inside room facing pool not street.”
KenH628, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“We were in a conference area with partiers coming and going as well as lots of kids.”
TravelPair1968, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Not the 2nd floor - we had noise on all sides”
Joplin2015, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing inside garden are quiet.”
mikim859, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“don't stay here if you want hotel is nice. IT is on the south side of CBD and a hike from all the places to eat etc.”
dallasmanta, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$101* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$128
Booking.comUS$109
PricelineUS$109
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates