We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Jupiter Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Jupiter Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jupiter Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 507: English reviews
Foth of Avalars
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The Jupiter Hotel is a really nice hotel, it is a restored fifties building with a bit of a streamline style with modern decor. The particular thing of this hotel is that it surrounds the Doug Fir lounge and your room is right in the middle of it. The big noise from the bar is kept below the surface, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Puercozon
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Puercozon, Thank you for staying with us, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and will be returning. I appreciate and agree fully with your candid and objective thoughts on atmosphere of the Bar Patio and your right; our "chill side" is a better option for those needing/ looking for a quieter experience. Would love to thank...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel was like hipster camping. We'd fall asleep to the the smell of the firepit coming from the bar patio just outside our room and wake up to the smell of meats smoking. Also, I saw lots of dudes laying around on thier beds with their doors open during the day. I think this hotel is more suited for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cat0720
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cat0720, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your stay with us. I do apologize that you did not enjoy the atmosphere of the property while you were here. It's very true that we have a community vibe here at the hotel and people do hang around the Doug Fir's fire pit at night but generally...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Jupiter Hotel is a good place to stay as it has great access to restaurants and other unique shops within walking distance. The hotel lobby features art displays and the vibe is current contemporary. The Doug Fir Lounge adjacent to the property brings night life and some noise so do not expect your stay to be a like a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary B, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your thoughts. We always attempt to make each guests' stay perfect and I'm glad that we succeeded in that for yourself. I am extremely happy to hear that Jed and Shauna took such good care of you, I will make sure that they...

Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed 30 June 2013

If you want a quiet, good-quality, comfortable hotel, this is not one to stay. This motel tries to make itself look hip and cool, but the substance is simply made of cheap stuffs. The room was extremely small, about ~5x times the area of a queen-sized bed! It was very noisy due to a bar right next to it, which...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bewtmlres
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bewtmlres, Thank you for giving us your feedback. Our property is unique and while it offers a fun, unique atmosphere and a great location, it is not for everyone. We understand this and we really try to make sure that people know what to expect before they stay with us so that they are sure we are the hotel...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Room decor was very cool and hipster. A bit noisy in parts of the hotel. The service of the front desk was fabulous especially Jed as he was very helpful and informative. We would stay again. Good location. Nice lounge and restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dougquon
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dougquon, Thank you for staying with us while you were in Portland. I'm very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and I will certainly recognize and pass on your comments to Jed for the wonderful service he provided. I hope to have you staying with us again in the near future. Sincerely, Zach Miller

Kapolei, Hawaii
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and I were looking for a mid-century modern hotel and booked the Jupiter. It was ok... Clean room, but bathroom dated/ tile damage and could have been cleaner. Friendly employees at front desk. Nice organic shampoo, soaps, lotion. We were in the first floor far corner room. No problem with noise. Neighborhood was a little sketchy... Took a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CESMMS
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CESMMS, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed our clean rooms and Eco-Friendly lotions and shampoos. We are located in an up and coming area that is home to some of the city's' newest and coolest restaurants, bars and shops however it does still have the...

Corvallis, OR
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We found the Jupiter to be spic-n-span clean, with friendly staff. It can be noisy, but primarily from patrons at the outside bar. The quietest rooms are 118-124 and 218-224. We had hoped that we could hear the music from the Doug-fir lounge in our room (couldn't get tickets for sold-out show), but this is not the case. The music...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beeblebrox42
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beeblebrox42, Thank you for staying with us at the Jupiter and for providing such detailed feedback for future guests. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the noise did not bother you while you were here. I certainly hope that you enjoyed the consistency and cleanliness of the hotel enough to come back...

Eugene, Oregon, United States
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I booked a two night stay at the Jupiter Hotel when I picked up my son from graduating from Marine Boot Camp, thought we would hang out in Portland. Thought I'd find a hotel he would appreciate, more his age group. Problem is, he likes quality as well as I do. They say the Jupiter is a minimalist hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Laura A
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura A, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us as it lets us know how we are doing as a hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately these all sound like issues that could have been rectified while you were with us as we are...

Stratford, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Well, they tried. The Ikea-esque remodel was somewhat tastefully done, but you can't mask 50s construction and the stench of 50+ years of partying. I am not sure what was louder, the necessary in-wall air conditioner that cycled on and off to minimize the humidity from the dank, dark, cinderblock rooms -- or what I learned was the "hippest" bar...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kim H
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kim H, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Our property has been here since the 50's and before we took it over 9 years ago, it definitely was a motel with a past and some stories that we may not be proud of, however we do still embrace what it was...

Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel provides ear plugs and I used them to drown out the bar noise. We were told we were lucky to be far from the action but even on a cold rainy night it was rocking. It is a motel remodeled from ikea. For the price we paid we were disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Liz C
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liz C, Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments to us. I am sorry that you encountered the noise issues you did while staying with us, however I am glad you found the earplugs we have in the rooms. We do not shy from the noise that we know exists and try to make every effort...

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel Eastlund
#9 of 137 in Portland
315 reviews
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#43 of 137 in Portland
262 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#24 of 137 in Portland
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Convention Center
#73 of 137 in Portland
312 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Jupiter Hotel, a mid-century, renovated motor inn-turned-boutique hotel in the heart of Portland, minutes away from Downtown Portland, the Oregon Convention Center, the Pearl District and the Rose Garden Arena. A refreshingly affordable minimalist hotel for creative business nomads and urban explorers, the Jupiter Hotel offers 81 guestrooms, over 4,000 square feet of unique meeting and event space, an airy bamboo courtyard and outdoor fireplace seating for guests. Jupiter Hotel amenities include complimentary wireless internet, locally-roasted Water Avenue organic coffee every morning in the lobby, bikes for rent and Natura eco-friendly bath amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Address: 800 E Burnside St, Portland, OR 97214 (Formerly Travel Inn Motel)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range: $154 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jupiter Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jupiter Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Jupiter Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you know what you're getting. "We will see what best we can do" is not going to work.”
 of 5 bubbles 753vaishnavir, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a room over the garage.”
 of 5 bubbles cathya684, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor offers more privacy”
 of 5 bubbles 457kathrynt, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“While there is a chill("quiet") side, keep in mind that there is still a bar on-site and non-chill rooms. "Quieter" does not equal "quiet".”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms are available - ask for one if you need it. Disabled? Ask for ground floor room when you make your reservation.”
 of 5 bubbles SactoDiner, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay