We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Brandywine River Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Brandywine River Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Brandywine River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 344: English reviews
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Easy to find but if you are coming 1north you need to do a U-turn to get to the hotel. Parking lot is a bit tight. Great location to see Longwood Gardens or the Brandywine River Museum. Nice nearby restaurant and antique shop. Cute exterior and nicely decorated festive registration area. The ladies at the front desk for check in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joyceTL4
Management response:

Thank You for your lovely review on our hotel. We do everything possible to make your stay memorable. Thank You for the compliment on the decorations, you should see what I do at Christmas. If possible you should come back and see Longwood at Christmas it is amazing! Have a good Holiday Season! Lisa Manager

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is a pleasant hotel, and quite convenient to places like Longwood Gardens. Our room was tastefully appointed and comfortable. For us, the spring mattresses were very hard, and one of our beds had a significant dip in it (room 123). Breakfast is more in keeping with what one might expect at a budget hotel. The staff was very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hmdpa
Management response:

Thanks for your review and honest comments about the hotel. We are still in the middle of getting some new things and obviously your room did not have the new fixtures in it. If your in the area again please stay with us again! Lisa Manager

New Jersey
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Lovely small hotel set off the main highway. Staff friendly. Room very clean. Bathroom spacious. Shower clean and adequate ... even a jacuzzi tub. Bed very comfortable. Carpets, drapes and bedding seem brand new. Some of the decor is "dated" but but not shabby ... that is part of the hotel's charm. Even a gas fireplace is room 201. Complimenatary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaggsMNewJersey
Management response:

I have to say Thank You very much for your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and the sights we have around us. We do want all of our guests to have a memorable time. The older decor is for the area and period Chadds Ford is noted for, we have had a refurbishment and are...

Morris County, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Sorry haters, I had a lovely stay at the Brandywine River Hotel. I had interactions with three separate people working the front desk and all three women were very kind and professional. My room was very comfortable, especially the bed. The bathroom was very large, the tub/jacuzzi was a welcome respite after spending the day walking around Longwood Gardens. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMR1138
Management response:

Thank You so much for your lovely review. We pride ourselves on wanting your stay to be truly wonderful with out any problems. Looking forward to having you stay with us again ! Lisa/Manager

Poughkeepsie
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We were very pleased with the hotel. Contrary to other travelers, a very nice man checked us in and was very friendly in suggesting places to eat. We enjoyed the tea & cookies, and the dining room was charming. The breakfast was very good: waffles, eggs, pastries, toast, cereal, juice - what more could you want? Room was spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
Management response:

Thanks for your great review. The night auditor that helped you has only been her a couple weeks but is truly a gracious person from what we have seen, so thank you for also letting us know. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Lisa Manager

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The property was quite nice, which makes it especially unfortunate that the Manager was so unprofessional when I checked in. She seemed utterly disgusted that someone was there to check in, and then she hit the roof when I told her I was traveling with my dogs. I booked the room online, and my confirmation didn't say anything about calling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank droppinout
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt I was unprofessional, I know you had to wait while I checked in 9 guests and you were running late for a wedding and were upset to begin with. As for the dog rooms I did not hit the roof, I just explained that we only have 5 dog rooms that we allow the pets to...

Madison, Georgia
Reviewed 25 September 2016

A dingy and depressing dump. The 1950's decor of the rooms--outdated furniture, granny wallpaper, bad bathroom fixtures, etc.--needs a complete overhaul, and the quality of the pillows and sheets was horrible. The continental breakfast is mediocre and there is no "wine and cheese" hour due to the lack of a liquor license. But worst is the attitude of the (almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I'm surprised you felt the hotel was old and the wallpaper depressing, we just had all that renovated including the rugs. The guests like the colonial feel since it is an historical era. We never advertised a wine and cheese hour, we have tea and cookies from 4:30-6:30 which everyone seems to enjoy. As for the check in agent, she...

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Our booking was messed up: I booked, long in advance and directly with the hotel, two rooms and called on the eve of arrival to confirm that we had two rooms reserved, but at arrival it turned out that only one room was booked. Fortunately, the receptionist found another room. While choosing this hotel, I relayed on "certificate of excellence"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olga K
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I am truly sorry if you felt I was confrontational, you were visibly upset that the internet was not working, we had Comcast in the first day and they told us the problem was solved, again that evening it went down and Comcast came back the next day and put in a new router (which had a problem). As long...

Reviewed 21 September 2016

This location was convenient for a business trip, closest hotel to the conference location. It was quaint and cute from the outside. Restaurants within walking distance and a cute little spa in front. The hotel is quite older, smells a little musty (but I sort of expected that from the other surroundings). The decor and fixtures and everything were older,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and I can only apologize for the front desk agent who didn't call out on Sunday. She did call out Mon & Tues. Had I been aware (my day off) I would not have allowed her to work the desk, so for that I'm truly sorry. Thank you for the honest review and...

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Peaceful, quiet and affordable. A little tucked away but conveniently located near shopping, restaurants, the Brandywine River musuem, the beautiful Longwood Gardens, Winterthur and local municipalities. All rooms have replacement windows that you can open to let in fresh air. A true gem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lewisn112016
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your review and happy that you enjoyed your stay. Longwood at Christmas is magnificent so come back and see us again. Lisa/Office Manager

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
4.8 km away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
8.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
539 reviews
9.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
5.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7395
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Price Range: $155 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brandywine River Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
East Meadow, New York
8 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Brandywine River Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There appears to be one handicapped room so if you are needing it book early”
 of 5 bubbles 539SusanB539, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Although we were on the front side in room 216 sleep was not disturbed by traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles grazia2626, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Nice mountain view. Continental breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles susanmV4657VG, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the Jacuzzi suite. A true pleasure.”
 of 5 bubbles lewisn112016, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back face a park-like area and are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles jotenn, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay