We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Manyatta Rock Camp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Manyatta Rock Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Manyatta Rock Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Nice place with fantastic views! Game drive not very exciting, definately not when you have spent 3 days in Krugerpark before. Staff is friendly but not enthousiastic! Rooms are great with very good views and bathrooms. Some nice toilets with a view at the restaurant!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans D
KwaMadwala, General Manager at Manyatta Rock Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is a pity you did not book one of our other special activities namely our Elephant Back Safaris, Horse Back Safaris and Microlight Safaris. We also offer very interesting Walking Safaris.

Yokohama, Japan
Reviewed 9 December 2015

I spent one day (two nights) at Manyatta Rock Camp at Kwa Madwala Private Game reserve. They greated me with a nice cool beverage when I arrived. All of the employees were very accommodating. The rooms looked like boulders - very cool. It was just me, so I had plenty of room. The room would have been plenty big enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YokohamaMurrays
KwaMadwala, General Manager at Manyatta Rock Camp, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return this your with your family and maybe stay a bit longer to be able to experience all that we have to offer.

Gauteng
Reviewed 12 October 2015

The reviews on TripAdvisor were good and I booked without hesitation. The room was a triple but really the triple is for two adults and a child. An adult would not be able to sleep comfortably on the third bed. I specifically wanted separate quarters for two adults - this did not work out. The unit was west facing which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WoefieGauteng
KwaMadwala, General Manager at Manyatta Rock Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is upsetting to read that you thought that the lodge do not cater for vegetarians. We always have options for vegetarians if clients ask for these options, unfortunately we will not know if not told. The chefs can easily dish up a salad instead of the pork fillet or lamb neck. Yes, we had...

Muscat, Oman
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Had 4 lovely days at the camp. Was very peaceful and if we did not fill our days with Kruger visits and many other activities I think we would have been well rested. Did a 2 hour elephant game walk that was excellent. Staff all very friendly and went out of their way to please. Dinner in the boma was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PeterMPF
KwaMadwala, General Manager at Manyatta Rock Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate Manyatta Rock Camp on the Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve. All the staff are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 8 September 2015

I spent a couple of days at Manyatta Rock Camp, the view from the room was fantastic, but the MUST is the shower under the stars! Also the view from the restaurant is amazing, and the food good. Everybody there was nice and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dorinawonder
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We have just returned from a fantastic few days at Manyatta Rock Camp. We were warmly welcomed by Camilla, and were then guided through the safari options that were available. Although we arrived too late for our pre-paid bush drive on our first day, they let us use this on another day. Luxon, the guide, went above and beyond to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank huddstyke
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We had a wonderful 4 days/3 nights at this establishment. Good service, great food amazing setting! We really enjoyed our time there. I would make the following recommendations towards the management: 1. Meet & greet your guests on arrival at their vehicle 2. Offer warm face towels to your guest when arriving back from a game drive 3. Take along...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanieLourens
Colorado
Reviewed 21 May 2015

This was the greatest family experience! We traveled with our children aged 9 (son), 15 (daughter), and 17 (son). We were up early and in bed tired...There was plenty of time to just 'soak it all in' in between the safari's (Early Morning, Late Evening, Night and Walking), Horseback Riding, although we were not in the Big 5 area due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
KwaMadwala, Marketing Manager at Manyatta Rock Camp, responded to this review

Dear Dan, It is so wonderful to read your positive feedback, thank you very much. We are very pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay at Manyatta Rock Camp, the activities on the Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve as well as your Kruger Game Drive. Yes, it was very sad when we heard the news that our...

Reviewed 29 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed at manyatta Rock camp in March '15. The site itself is beautifully designed on top of a hill with dense forests all around. Other reviewers will tell you all about it(including the brilliant shower outside) . Everything aside, Few main points id like to mention here: 1) The staff is very courteous and helpful! From Mike, the main...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 3dayan
KwaMadwala, Marketing Manager at Manyatta Rock Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review. I am glad that you enjoyed your Game Drive with Luxon, he has been working with us since 2002 and knows the property as well as the southern park of Kruger like the palm of his hand. I am also glad that you enjoyed your vegetarian meals...

Penarth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2015 via mobile

We had the pleasure of being spoilt by the wonderful staff in what was a very nice if not small game reserve. What we missed in animal viewings was more than made up for by the service, the food and our magic elephant experience. Good value and worth a visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
KwaMadwala, Marketing Manager at Manyatta Rock Camp, responded to this review

Dear Peter, I am so glad that you had a great time at Manyatta Rock Camp and Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve. I am sorry that your Game Viewing Experience was not that good, but if you visit us next time please make sure to book a Kruger Game Drive with us in our 4 x 4 open safari vehicles,...

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve
19.3 km away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
335 reviews
11.2 km away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
266 reviews
22.4 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#74 of 166 in Kruger National Park
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 30 in Marloth Park
291 reviews
12.3 km away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 30 in Marloth Park
355 reviews
17.8 km away
Grand Kruger Lodge
Grand Kruger Lodge
#9 of 30 in Marloth Park
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manyatta Rock Camp's accommodation is very unique and combines extremely creative architecture with its simplistic elevated rock environment. Looking like giant rocks our unique dome shaped bedrooms are scattered across the rocky outcrop with fabulous views out across the bush from the private wooden deck of each unit. Manyatta has been skillfully designed to blend in with the surrounding natural environment and to ensure that all rooms offer a private wooden deck for bright mornings and lazy afternoons overlooking the African bush. An outside shower and chairs on the deck make the decks very popular with guests. Manyatta Rock camp accommodation is sold including dinner, bed and breakfast. Lunch, safaris and all activities are extra and can either be pre booked or booked on site. Subtle lighting around the camp and footpaths connect all rooms to the swimming pool, Boma, dining deck, bar, day Spa and viewing lounge deck. All 27 rooms are comfortable yet tastefully furnished and infused with elegant African touches. Simplicity in the bush! The bedrooms are air-conditioned with two twin beds which can be made up as a queen size bed. Included is a mini fridge (which can be stocked as a bar upon request). The en-suite bathroom has dual his and hers basins and bath. Two of the accommodation units also feature a separate living room complete with sofa bed; these units are well suited to families with children. Maximum room occupancy in these units is 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children 12 years and under. Four of the accommodation units also feature a separate living room with an extra single bed; these units are well suited to families with one child 12 years and under, maximum room occupancy in these units is 3 adults or 2 adults and 1 child 12 years and under. The beautifully appointed Honeymoon Suite features a large four poster bed, lounge, private deck and shower and is ideally located for maximum privacy. Comfortable and elegant without being fussy, Manyatta is praised for its relaxed charm, unique bedroom design and stunning hilltop location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manyatta Rock Camp

Address: Strydomblok Road, Hectorspruit | 30 Km From Kruger National Park, Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve 1330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $165 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manyatta Rock Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Manyatta Rock Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manyatta Rock Hotel Kwa Madwala Private Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Manyatta Rock Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Manyatta Rock Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to ask for the chalets facing west to be able to enjoy a nice sunset from your terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles 917sofiav, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms appear to all have great views across the reserve and there is internet access in the lounge/restaurant area.”
 of 5 bubbles daves552016, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Wifi is only in the lounge area”
 of 5 bubbles S1930RXsharons, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“There was free wifi in the lounge/reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles WoefieGauteng, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Get a room that looks west for great sunsets”
 of 5 bubbles DanieLourens, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay