We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Casa Oro

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Casa Oro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa Oro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 216: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

Nice hostel and good location. Shame about the staff who were consistently rude and unhelpful throughout our stay. Refused to return clothes that was taken from our rooms, later we discovered this behind reception. Breakfast was a nice added, but staff again rude and unpleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our Trip Advisor Page. We are sorry you were disappointed by our staff. We would like to have more details about what happened to your clothes.... We don't understand how our staff could refuse to return your clothes... unless the cloths in question were not yet found...they were probably misplaced...

Hong kong
Reviewed 22 March 2015

I will start my review by saying I did NOT stay there, although I tried 2 weekends in a row for a dorm bed, they were full. I am so glad I wasnt there after all. i did go there to get the shuttle, which is open to everyone. i dont know if they are that rude to everyone, or...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chana D
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you to have taken the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry you were disappointed by our services. As you realized, we are quiet busy down here and our receptionist does not have always the time to answer the numerous tourist's questions, especially during the rush to buy Shuttle tickets ! Moreover, our receptionist is obviously not...

Reviewed 18 March 2015

For being one of the main hostels, I wasn't overwhelmed with a party atmosphere. The bar on the roof top was fun, and a good place to mingle at night, or just a nice place to hang out in the daytime. It wasn't too noisy, but I sleep with earplugs anyhow. The Free breakfast was a good deal the one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheAlaskaLady
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed our stay with us. We always try to provide a nice and friendly atmosphere in our hostel, offering our guests the possibility to chill and relax. We are happy to hear that you liked the breakfast, our beach shuttles and our ideal location. Have a safe trip !

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Two things make Casa Oro awesome: 1) Cheap, semi-regular shuttles from San Juan del Sur to Playa Madera ($5 round trip, $3 one-way, running 4 or 5 times a day in peak season. Open to anyone.) 2) Good wifi. I stayed in Casa Oro my first night in Nicaragua. It was a nice place to crash after a flight and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon Y
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear you liked our Beach Shuttle service and enjoyed our good wifi. We are sorry that you did'nt have the opportunity to socialize with others guests. We always hear comments to the contrary ! Its true that most of our guests are long time travellers and do need to...

Seville, Spain
Reviewed 6 March 2015

Positives This is a great hostel to meet people in as it is always busy. The dorms are clean and breezy, and provide a quiet place to rest after a night partying! The bar upstairs is a great place to have some drinks with everyone before heading out, and the hammocks on the ground floor help to nurse a hangover...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear you liked our roof top bar, the common area with hammocks, the breakfast, and our shuttle services. During high season and especially since beginning of 2014, we have been very very busy as you noticed. We have had too many times guests leaving without paying so we had...

Zürich
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

I stayed almost a week here, because I liked San Juan del Sur and also the hostel that much. Stayed in a 8-bed dorm which was good, a bit loud sometimes. Staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast is included and varies every day ( burritos, pancakes, gallo pinto..). The hostel offers transfer to different beaches everyday and their inhouse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marina-ch-85
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thanks you for sharing your experience with us. It always helps us to improve ourselves. We are glad to hear you liked your stay at Casa Oro, the breakfast, the staff, our shuttles services. We will make sure our kitchen is being improved. Hope to see you again and Have a nice trip.

Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 18 February 2015 via mobile

Great centrally located hostel. Large area including upstairs. Good-ish wifi TV with news Brekkie included 7-10am Shuttles to nearby beaches for $5-6 Close to mercado Lots of seating and hammocking GREAT mattresses with covers Spotless Nice staff Attached to surf school Lockers Ensuite bathroom in dorms Fans galore Lights out around 1030p Pay daily for the night you stay $10

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaCumberbatch
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a nice review. We are happy to read that you were satisfied by all our services and that you appreciated our nice staff. We always try to offer our guest the best conditions and facilities to enjoy their stay. Have a save trip !

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 18 February 2015 via mobile

The hostel has almost everything you can ask for, good location (safe and central), comfortable enough beds with clean sheets, good WiFi, plug above the pillow, enough showers and toilets with no ques, good common area and kitchen, great breakfast included in the price. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank henhern
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your really nice review. It always give us a big smile to hear that people appreciate our hostel and their stay with us. We will transmit your compliment about the breakfast to our chef. We hope to see you again at Casa Oro.

Reviewed 12 February 2015 via mobile

We didn't stay here but took surf lessons here. The lessons were great and reasonably priced. For $30 per person you got a 3-4 hour lesson, a surfboard rental for all day, a rash guard, and transport to and from playa Maderas. Our instructor Ander was great and was really good about correcting you. It is a sport that you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bjanethom
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you to share your Casa Oro Surf Lesson experience. We are glad to hear you liked it and recommend it ! We will transmit your compliments to the surf instructor ! You are more than welcome to visit us again.

Reviewed 24 January 2015

I stayed here based on the Lonely Planet recommendation and it didn't disappoint. It is a nice, clean hostel with great communal area with comfy chairs and hammocks to laze about it. There is free wifi and a room with computers and ipads for guests. Breakfast is included and was great - it was different every day. The hostel also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thanks you for sharing your experience with us. It always help us to improve our services. We are glad to hear you liked Casa Oro, our confortable communal area and the breakfast. We are really sorry you got mugged and that our staff didn't help you the way you were expecting him to. The phone at the reception only permit...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
193 reviews
0.1 km away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#6 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
130 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#8 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 68 in San Juan del Sur
143 reviews
0.1 km away
HC Suites Hotel
HC Suites Hotel
#15 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
55 reviews
0.5 km away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Casa Oro

Address: Saliendo del Colonial 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $9 - $11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Oro staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Casa Oro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try and grab a top bunk if staying in the dorms, closer to the fans”
 of 5 bubbles madh96, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra dollar to stay upstairs. Downstairs is busy during the day.”
 of 5 bubbles cameront422, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Second Floor dorms: less noise in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles ameliedg, 4 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Affordable shuttle service to surrounding beaches (Playa Madera) is great!”
 of 5 bubbles simony114, 15 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The downstairs dorms have a nice refreshing breeze.”
 of 5 bubbles NicolaH901, 6 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay