We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Esperanza

Hostelworld.comUS$18*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$50*
US$18*
Great Deal
US$50*
US$50*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hostel Esperanza
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
Start your review of Hostel Esperanza
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The location is perfect, you're right in front of the beach and you can see beautiful sunsets every night. The dorms are big, breakfast is good (but they start a bit after 7:30, that's the only thing) . I booked a surf transfer from the hotel and they were all super kind. I'll go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyne R
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights in a private room with a double bed. The beach is really right across the street! It has a really nice courtyard with hammocks and coconut trees. Really nice and quiet atmosphere. The staff was really amazing and helpful. I booked a birthday surf day at the last minute through them which was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrée D
Seventeen Seventy, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really like hotel Esperanza. The owners of the place are really lovely people. The atmosphere is good. There is a kitchen and the outside area where you eat and hang out is like an indoor garden, with lts of beautiful plants. The beach is just infront of the hostel and its a calmer area just at the edge of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maya B
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff, accomodation includes a good fresh cooked breakfast. Room is fine although the bed isn't very comfortable and the fan isn't very effective. The ceiling fan spins so hard it seems it will take off, but doesn't result in much breeze. I suggest replacing with a better quality. I love the shady courtyard where you can relax in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
OurPointofView, Owner at Hostel Esperanza, responded to this review

Hi Lynne, we really apreciate your comments because are constructive and really help us to improve. We are now in the transition of having new matrasses for the whole hostel, and we will have a look for sure to the fan and fix the noise. Thank you very much for staying with us!

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Awesome location acros the street from the ocean. I stayed in a private single room with a super comfortable bed. Cool chilling areas with hammocks. Breakfast was good and stuff helpful. Would definately stay there again next time 👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaTheGypsy
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The place is a little hostal 15mts. from the beach, Clean and really home like. Staff is helpfull. Wi-fi decent. Lots of foreing nationals (surfers mostly) .The town is really small and safe, locals are really helpfull with tourist ,Bank for money exchange 3 blocks away

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo M
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We were greeted with enthusiasm and felt safe here. It was comfortable anx clean. Breakfast was spectacular AND GLUTEN FREE was prepared just for me ! The garden in the back was very cozy tons of birds...it felt like I had left the city! Thanks Marco!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rena_Canada
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This jewel's location is perfection. It's about fifteen steps to the beach and a couple more, to reach the beginning of San Juan's "restaurant row". It is a wonderful location for watching a tropical sunset and a perfect base camp from which to explore the town and surrounding area. Our room (private with bathroom) was clean, secure, quiet, and most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gondermann
OurPointofView, Propietario at Hostel Esperanza, responded to this review

Hi guys, thanks for your comments, we really aprecciate our guests value our efforts to do a good job. Best wishes for you and hope to see you soon. Happy new year.

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Horrible hostel, don't stay here. Lots of better options in San Juan. Dirty, unfriendly staff, awful dorms where you wont sleep, bathrooms are gross, poor security with open dorms right near the entrance for anyone to walk out with a backpack. Definitely one of the worst dorms I've seen in my travels around the world. I booked 5 nights in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelllar
OurPointofView, Director de Recepción at Hostel Esperanza, responded to this review

Hi Traveller, we absolutelly like our guests write comments about us, and we like they are fair and constructive doing it, which is not your case. You have been just a moment in our hostel because once you realized you booked a dorm bed instead a private room you wanted to leave. We explained you what the cancellation polices were...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

We booked into the Esperanza for our first night in SJDS. Would have stayed longer if the room had some shelving/storage. After three weeks on the road wanted to unpack instead of living out of our suitcase/ backpack. Great location, pretty good common area (miss the hammock) and awesome breakfast included in the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KinderM

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Sur
77.3 km away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
279 reviews
33.9 km away
Casa Pochomil
Casa Pochomil
#2 of 4 in Pochomil
36 reviews
75.0 km away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
#54 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
46 reviews
0.0 km away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#23 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
32 reviews
35.2 km away
Barcelo Montelimar
Barcelo Montelimar
#1 of 1 in San Rafael del Sur
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hostel Esperanza

Address: Del BDF 1/2 c. al Sur | Frente al Malecón, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $21 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Esperanza Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Esperanza staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostel Esperanza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call in advance if you have any questions (english speacker staff)”
rodrigomH7309VQ, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Dorms are pretty busy places and right at near the road. Opt for a private room if you are keen for a decent sleep!”
371mel371, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“NOT the dorms”
lynnes614, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Average rooms”
rpearce0909, 17 May 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms that have already been renovated”
579CristinaC, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$18* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$50
PricelineUS$50
Agoda.comUS$50
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates