We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostel Surfing Donkey

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hostel Surfing Donkey
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Surfing Donkey
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Myself and 2 others stayed at The Surfing Donkey for 3 nights at the end of June. We really enjoyed this hostel and considered it one of the best during our week vacation in Nicaragua. You can really tell maintenance is a priority at this hostel with workers cleaning the gardens and pool and painting the walkways. This place was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 87Globalgirl
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I found the staff to be nice and friendly the dorm I was in was huge. Nice location walking distance from everywhere. Two criticisms though...they charge you to refill your water bottle from the large water dispenser at the reception which is totally acceptable apart from the fact I caught the caretaker filling it up from the tap beside the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Very, very dissapointing hostel. I got to the hostel and stayed for 2 nights. The last day, me and my 2 friends where leaving at mid day, so we went out to the local market, that is 5 minutes away, to buy some souvenirs. We were all saying in the same room, whith just another backpacker who wasn't there at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simón G
The_Surfing_Donkey, Owner at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear about your experience, losing things is never fun! Unfortunately theft happens often in large hostels, even with all the security measures we have in place to prevent them, which is why we always recommend for guests in a shared room to keep things locked up or charge them at the reception desk. Even with the cameras,...

San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I would not recommend staying more than one night here. First off this place is filthy! Bed bugs and fly's covering the kitchen and dorms. Secondly, every morning you will be awaken by the same loud club songs that play on repeat until 10 pm. All but one of the staff members at the front desk are rude and greedy,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ellitrelly
The_Surfing_Donkey, Owner at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and we're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at our hostel! To address your concerns: - Bed Bugs: As can be seen by the string of reviews in late June/ early July, one of our private rooms had a temporary issue with bed bugs. We take many precautionary measures, but it's never possible...

Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

We had intended to stay at Surfing Donkey for two nights, in the private room number 5 with a double bed and ensuite bathroom. Went to bed around 11 and realised it was full of bed bugs. Reception was closed and the guard couldn't help us, so we had to find another accomodation after midnight which was obviously tricky. Went...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Signe S
The_Surfing_Donkey, Owner at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear about the issue during your stay! Bed bugs, as scary as they sound, tend to be a common problem in both hotels and hostels in Central America. Even with fumigation and proper cleaning, all it takes is one guest to bring them in, then the beds need to be treated...

Reviewed 1 June 2016

originally booked to stay at the surfing donkey for 3 nights, on the first night my friend got absolutely covered in bed bug bites! the staff member at the desk was incredibly rude but allowed her to move beds (after a lot of convincing) on the second night, my friend and I also got bitten and had to sleep on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Miriam E
The_Surfing_Donkey, Owner at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear about the issue during your stay! Bed bugs, as scary as they sound, tend to be a common problem in both hotels and hostels in Central America. Even with fumigation and proper cleaning, all it takes is one guest to bring them in, then the beds need to be treated...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights and had a great time, the pool really helps to cool you down and the staff are very friendly. Stayed in a private room which seemed to be worth the extra money for the increased security, private bathrooms and fans. Overall a great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hromses
The_Surfing_Donkey, Owner at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! The pool is definitely a necessity in San Juan, it gets insanely hot during the daytime. Most people either spend their day surfing at the beach, or relaxing in the cool pool. We try hard to pick friendly staff to help our guests enjoy their time at...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Talk about combining your party with a little bit of peaceful atmosphere. If you're looking for a hostel that gives you the best of both worlds this is the place to book! Have stayed here twice now and both times met fabulous individuals and had amazing time! The staff are extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area and things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimberlysvincent
The_Surfing_Donkey, Owner at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we're always happy when we see return guests! Our guests and staff are what keep the hostel's atmosphere awesome, we've met some great people here. And we agree, the 4 person rooms have the privacy of a private room at dorm bed cost, with a group of 4 that's the way to go! We're glad you've...

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

We booked in here to stay 2 nights for Sunday funday and at first seemed nice. Unfortunately my friend and numerous others woke up covered in bed bug bites. We went to reception to let them know and they weren't apologetic and were straight up rude. We asked for a refund for the next night so that we could go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
The_Surfing_Donkey, Owner at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear about the issues during your stay! Bedbugs are definitely a tricky issue faced by hostels in Nicaragua - regardless of how clean the hostel is all it takes is one guest to bring them in from anywhere! If we ever have a report, our policy is always to clear the...

Reviewed 15 May 2016

Wicked hostel with great food, drinks and staff. Internet is good throughout the whole hostel and, while the bathrooms were small, they never smelt terrible and stayed relatively clean. Showers were reasonable enough just for a quick rinse. Rooftop patio is a great spot for drinks, particularly the 2X1 mojito's. While the rooms were hot and sweaty, thats pretty hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank max m

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Sur
0.0 km away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#18 of 68 in San Juan del Sur
29 reviews
0.7 km away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 68 in San Juan del Sur
142 reviews
0.2 km away
Chale's House
Chale's House
#23 of 68 in San Juan del Sur
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.7 km away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#20 of 68 in San Juan del Sur
123 reviews
0.0 km away
Hostel Lomas del Bosque
Hostel Lomas del Bosque
#53 of 68 in San Juan del Sur
7 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostal suenos del mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Surfing Donkey is the best new social hostel in San Juan del Sur, only two blocks away from the city center with a large pool, cheap bar, full kitchen, yoga, and events like group BBQs and pool parties. We balance our social activities with a strict quiet policy before 9am and after 10pm, so guests can have fun and sleep well on the new premium mattresses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Surfing Donkey

Address: One block south of Central Park and church, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $27 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Surfing Donkey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Surfing Donkey staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostel Surfing Donkey staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wach out for your things, things get stolen in this hostel. Staff wont help at all.”
 of 5 bubbles sim_ng2015, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we booked private 4 Person Rooms - way to go in any hostel I think.”
 of 5 bubbles kimberlysvincent, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms (2 bunk-beds) with private bathroom is great value to share with friends.”
 of 5 bubbles cadmuspro, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The best private rooms are the ones NOT facing the pool”
 of 5 bubbles ljane25, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“avoid room 5 - so noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles megank73, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay