We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 233: English reviews
Start your review of Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
 Click to rate
Oceanside, California, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented one of the casitas at Surf Ranch and had a wonderful vacation. We loved having a resort right outside our door and enjoyed all the activities they had to offer. The climbing wall was a blast and my husband enjoyed a couple hours of paintball with some guys he met on our stay. It was easy to arrange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Surf Ranch San Juan Del Sur is hands down one of my favourite places to go and relax for a day and enjoy the pool. Its only about a ten minute drive from down town San Juan. They have a fun skate park and a rock climbing wall. Great pool side cold drinks and food not to mention they run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethania G
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. I am glad you got to receive the experience that our guests have come to know and love. Looking forward to your return. Thank you.

Matagalpa, Nicaragua
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

1st at check in they make you sign a form that says that they are not responsible for nothing. Theft injury nothing. $20 per hour if you check out late. I pre-paid so I had no choice no refunds stuck for 4 nights. This place is the biggest ripoff I have ever encountered. 1st night at dinner and drinks I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank joeloenicacano
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. I spoke with our manager about this, and she mentioned that it was difficult to deal with you, although they did everything they could. We thrive to offer the best customer service, but the resort does have policies that we need to abide by. Let...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying in Villa 1 and paying top dollar and all I got was; Miserable staff, horrible food and extremely over priced, pool was dirty and murky, no power which I understand is out of their hands but no update on when it would be back on, no remuneration for no Wi-Fi or air-conditioning, not even an apology, asked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jai K
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Jake Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. I am surprised by this review as we were in contact via email. You requested by email room service, which we do not usually do that way, but I called in to make sure the food was made and delivered to your room. Yes I have...

Taylorsville, Utah
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay at Surf Ranch. It is great that the location is not too far from the city San Juan Del Sur, but far enough to get away from the hustle of the city. The owners were great and took us in as friends and even showed us a good night on the town one night. The on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wes4181
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. It is great to hear that you had a great time. It was great to meet all of you. Yes we do look forward to your return at our 2nd resort in Popoyo. See you soon, Thank you.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I spent about a week at the resort with a group of friends. The shuttle from Managua airport was very convenient and saved us from having to figure out a cab in a foreign country. The resort felt very safe and was well-located near downtown San Juan del Sur. There was a lot to do at the resort, but probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DS31488
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, it was great to meet all of you ad we do look forward to your return :) All the best,

Salmon Arm, BC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We arrived at Surf Ranch well before check in and, instead of suggesting we return in a few hours, Yoselyn immediately made sure we were comfortable and had us wait, by the pool with a drink, as she checked to make sure our room was ready for our arrival. She returned shortly and let us know that she would take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ange_McD
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. Thank you for the great review and I am glad you had an amazing time. We look forward to your return. On behalf of everyone at the Surf Ranch :)

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

A complete and utter disappointment. Don't believe any of the pictures and don't believe the owners comments on these reviews. It's verging on fraud the price they charge for such a woefully inadequate resort. Besides the staff, who are all polite locals, there is nothing positive to write! The place is rundown, grotty and depressing. The pool is cloudy, the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nick A
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort during the busy holidays here in San Juan Del Sur. As you know from your review, we do respond to every review, as this is what makes us get better. I am confused by a lot of things you mentioned, and of course some of...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Surf Ranch has beautiful facilities, including a wrap-around swimming pool, plentiful lounge chairs, beautiful cabinas and a bar. The facilities and infrastructure they have is not in proportion to the number of rooms they have - it seems they should have another two or three buildings of lodging to utilize all the services they offer. Our beds were very comfortable...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miranda B
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We had a meeting with the staff about being shy, and yes it is in their culture, and some may be timid of foreigners, however for our management and service staff who speak English, they...

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

The facilities looked great in pictures and indeed they are; otherwise I would rate one star (the friendly staff also helps the place to avoid that rating). However, from the moment we arrived it was clear the room had not been properly cleaned and prepared. There was no toilet paper, there were spider webs on the walls, the towels were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alvaro José C
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort during the busy holidays! I am glad you enjoyed the resort and staff. It was also great to meet you and your girlfriend. Yes, you came to reception, and claimed there was no toilet paper in your room. I personally looked into it and realized...

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
7.6 km away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
138 reviews
2.7 km away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
296 reviews
4.9 km away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
205 reviews
10.4 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.3 km away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Surf Ranch in San Juan Del Sur, features Nicaragua's largest skateboard park, rock climbing wall, private gym, airbag jump, volleyball court, world class restaurant & bar, swimming pool & swim up bar, poolside cabanas, standard rooms, villas, and deluxe condos. The Surf Ranch offers many extreme sports and activities such as surfing, skateboarding, sailing, fishing, yoga, rock climbing and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort

Address: Empalme de El Valle, 991.5 m al Este, San Juan del Sur 47008, Nicaragua (Formerly Surf Ranch Action Sports Resort)
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $75 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think AC is standard in all rooms, but if not, definitely worth springing for.”
 of 5 bubbles DS31488, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were put in one of the last available rooms for booking, which did not have air conditioning. There was enough air circulation to make it comfortable, however.”
 of 5 bubbles 400mirandab, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the deluxe condo was the best!”
 of 5 bubbles magisan03, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a safe.”
 of 5 bubbles 654neilw, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“standard room was perfect for me”
 of 5 bubbles Globalgoddess316, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5