We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Horse Inn

Save
Share
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (9)
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good21%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“jacobean room”(7 reviews)
“lamb”(11 reviews)
“set menu”(9 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Pets Allowed
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
221
76
32
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
221
76
32
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacobean roomlambset menuyoung waiterwonderful mealan absolute gemsuperior roomthe pubevening mealfantastic foodwhirlpool bathevery member of staffcouple of nightsfew drinkslarge bathroomsaturday nightwell worth a visit
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting Yorkshire and Warrington in a search to buy a classic Porsche and needed an overnight stop as we live on the South coast. This Inn suited that purpose and looked OK. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly as were the staff...More

1  Thank patcf100
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had two rooms off the courtyard, both were dirty and in need of a complete refurbishment. One of the twin beds was very creaky and the mattress needed replacing, neither was comfortable. The double bed was comfortable but the duvet cover had obviously been...More

Thank vjlindus
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a little gem of an Inn! We wish we had found you sooner. The pea soup was out of this world and the Lincolnshire scotch egg was divine. As were the steak and lamb road dinner. We enjoyed every second of our Sunday afternoon...More

1  Thank Emma G
Response from Andrew R, Owner at The Black Horse InnResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Emma and Ash, Thankyou so much for your feedback. We are all delighted that you had an enjoyable time and enjoyed the food. James is chuffed to buttons that you mentioned him! We look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best. Andrew...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a fantastic place attended a wedding. Brilliant organisation, fantastic food and tidy clean and just brilliant highly recommended. Great accommodation. Adequate parking around the exterior. For special occasions there is a wonderful court yard in the centre of the old buildings after 9pm there...More

Thank Angela H
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We have eaten at Black Horse many times and never been disappointed. Would definitely recommend the fabulous restaurant. Our only disappointment was that there was a wedding on the weekend we were there, which meant we could not stay overnight. We will definitely be back.

Thank Cuzack01
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (9)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
victorstephenson100
10 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from billgresty | Reviewed this property |
I feel the question has been answered above. Worth a visit.
0
Votes
keimar219
29 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from grumbleweed1 | Reviewed this property |
We know somebody who is disabled and has lunched there on several occasions but there is no ramp from the road and they have to be carried in. Having said that they are very helpful and there may be better access. It is... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The others in the party who had a room in the building across the road from the inn, had a much bigger room..."
Read review
"We enjoyed staying in the Blue Room all rooms have an individul theme"
Read review
"Don't book 'Jockey'"
Read review
"Did not stay in hotel, just had a meal in the restaurant."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing