We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel

West View, Wells Road, Ilkley LS29 9JG, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Ilkley Pool & Lido
    1.2 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 15 December 2016
Pleasant old world charm
Very comfortable stay in this quiet elegant hotel. Its very... more
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 286: English reviews
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noosadreams
Yorkshire, England
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Attended a private function which was excellent in a lovely room with Yorkshire Pudding starter and perfectly cooked beef. Very friendly and accomodating management and staff. Had the 'Honeymoon Suite' which was spacious and has a nicely refurbished bathroom with a great bath. However the mattress was tired and the decor and furnishings are very outdated. Slept with the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DandA_10
Mentmore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Faulty Towers without the comedy. Strange place/atmosphere like sitting round grannies! Chicken dinner was served to us cold, cook who was also bar man/receptionist forgot to reheat! Breakfast lady one of the rudest people I have met, might as well of served ourselves. Given the impression we were a major inconvenience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thetowers2016
ColinClarkson, Owner at BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment relating to your stay at Rombalds in September. Firstly may I apologise that you were disappointed with your visit to the hotel as we pride ourselves on the facilities and service that we offer. Like my colleague in the North I am surprised that you have waited so long to post so...

Bournemouth
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We had a superior suite, The Bronte which is at the front of the building. It has a bedroom, small lounge with tea/coffee making facilities and alsobath/shower room. Everything was to our liking with a reasonably comfortable, very large bed, two televisions, excellent free wifi and convenient location for acess to bars and restaurants in the centre of Ilkley. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bewildered1
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is an acceptable Hotel for an overnighter. It's in a leafy road and very close to Town one direction and country walk the other. It's very traditional which we liked. Just to warn people it's a steep walk into Town down the hill. Breakfast was cooked to order which was a treat and it was very good, full Yorkshire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaci W
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Nice hotel in a quiet leafy road close to town centre and close to good walks on the moors. Ilkely is a wonderful town with an amazing array of eateries all within walking distance of the Rombalds hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was spotlessly clean with everything one could need. Our only complaint was that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bevstirling
Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

After our last experience in a Best Western establishment, this was a refreshing and pleasant stay in a lovely small hotel. On arrival we were informed we had been upgraded at no extra cost. The room was well appointed with tasteful decor and the King size bed was very comfortable. We didn't eat dinner but the competitively priced breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goolysand
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

If you want a great base for walking the moors, with paths two minutes from the door AND close to the town centre with its pubs, restaurants, cafes and shops, then this is it. Turn left out of the door and you are climbing through bracken and heather to the hills, turn right and you are walking down to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank breweruk
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

The hotel tell is situated on Wells Road with great views of the moors, that's if you get a front room. Unfortunately my room was small and compact and overlooking a flat roof and the car park. The bathroom was tiny and the shower cubicle was the smallest I have ever used and I am a slim person! The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ButterflyWarwick21
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel if you enjoy traditional styling and decor. We booked a delux room which turned out to be a very spacious and comfortable suite. With a 4 poster bed and baronial styling, our stay was a unique experience. Breakfast was both buffet and table service with a varied menu, beautifully presented and consistent with the Yorkshire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lily2948

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 km away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ilkley
936 reviews
7.5 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.8 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ilkley
193 reviews
16.1 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.5 km away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If Ilkley is the gateway to the Yorkshire Dales, this elegant townhouse style hotel must be the hand-woven welcome mat. Close to the world famous Betty's Tearooms, moors, walks and hidden gem's of God's own county all on your doorstep, you'll be spoiled with choice when it comes to filling your free time. An excellent train service to Leeds and Bradford allows you to explore the delights of these two cities without the hassle of parking and traffic congestion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel

Address: West View, Wells Road, Ilkley LS29 9JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Price Range: $159 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rombalds Hotel And Restaurant
Best Western Ilkley
Ilkley Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a superior, themed room for space and comfort.”
 of 5 bubbles Bewildered1, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are used to space, upgrade to a superior room.”
 of 5 bubbles JaciW_13, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms have best views.”
 of 5 bubbles bevstirling, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Facing the moors in the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ButterflyWarwick21, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book early”
 of 5 bubbles squib01, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5