We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

George Hotel

Expedia.comUS$67*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$67*
US$67*
US$67*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Start your review of George Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a room with a Four Poster Bed and got a poor, pokey room! Food was acceptable but defiantly Pub Grub. As this was a special holiday I had booked a special room, but without any explaination we were allocated another. I did not want to make a fuss as this was a very special occasion for my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George C
Paul H, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello , I am sorry that you were not allocated the room booked , I am unsure as to why this did happen, I sincerely regret you not having a word with a member of the team during your stay as I would have liked to think we could have dealt with this for you. The Hotel has changed after...

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped into this pub for lunch after a visit to Stonehenge. Very quiet, but service and food was very good and reasonably priced - A varied menu with good portion size cooked to order - well recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
Paul H, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr G Thank you for your kind review, I will pass on your comments to all those on duty. We have a New menu being introduced in the very near future, if you are ever in the area, please call in and see how we are doing Thank you Paul Hill

wolverhampton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here Fri 7th April in room 29 (triple room) with my sister. First impressions were good, lots of free parking and nice old building, which had been there since 13th century. Check in was easy and friendly. The hotel has lots of small corridors and creaky floorboards, which myself and my sister loved....others might find them a little claustrophobic....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mojo2301
Paul H, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

As previously replied on your e mail, I apologize for the disturbance caused by the music from the public bar, which as I pointed out should have been mentioned on arrival. Thank you for the other positive and nice comments and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. regards

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival it took about 5 min to find a staff member to check me in, I booked for 1 night but my work was extended so I was going to extend my stay all I can say is I'm glad I didn't. The room was clean ish very dated with damaged furniture and very run down, the wifi is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westwelldesignstudio
Paul H, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Afternoon Sir, Thank you for your review however it would be appreciated if you could furnish me with more details of your date of stay and which Room you were allocated. I am disappointed to read your comments and that your stay was cut short, to which I apologise, I would be more than happy to discuss your comments and...

Herstmonceux, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A big old hotel on the high street with exposed beams. Very warm welcome. Friendly staff. Plenty of free parking. Not too expensive. A bit of peeling wallpaper here and there. But clean rooms beding and bathroom in nearly new condition. Good range of beers and family friendly. We didnt eat there appart from the included full english breakfast which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
Paul H, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sir Thank you for your review , I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay. We have a new menu being implemented in the next few weeks so we look forward to serving you and your family when next in the area Regards Paul Hill Manager

Amesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went here on Sunday for lunch. Excellent food, service and beer. Well worth a try. Best place for a Sunday roast in the town centre. It is well worth a try when you are in town. We will be back.Very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
Paul H, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Peter J Thank you for your review , I am very extremely pleased to learn you and your party enjoyed the Lunch, Sundays are a great family day here at the George and if you arte in the area soon please say hello, once again many thanks I will pass on to the whole of the team. Regards Paul...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having spent time looking for a 4 poster with en suite I was sure this was the place to stay ( how wrong i was ). I booked the bridal suite, Imagine my surprise when the keys was handed over after being told there was a boiler problem, but it should be sorted by 3pm and I got to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent last Saturday night in your beautiful hotel. The friendly staff made us very welcome and looked after us extremely well. The room was beautiful with the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in. We really enjoyed the breakfast. The lovely surprise was to be given George Bear. I have made and given away numerous teddy bears...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank UpperHuttKiwis
Aachen, Germany
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Easy to get here, parking no problem. Room was extremely comfortable and more than sufficient; warm, clean, spacious and characterful. Staff welcoming and friendly. Prices very reasonable, both for accommodation and bar. Will definitely come again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mik C
Norman F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to seeing you again

liverpool
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Hotel is a very old building and as such is rather uneven in floor levels. Room was relatively clean but the place could really do with a deep clean. carpet had ground in plaster and could do with replacing. The linen, toilet and bath were spotless. Lots of hot water. Bar food was good value and the bar had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dilc
Norman F, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as you mentioned the building is over 700 years old, as you could imagine redecorating such an old landmark needs to be in-keeping with the History of the building. i am surprised that you and your friend wasn't joining in with the revelers. I'm unable to locate the radiator that in not working please could...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (47)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
0.1 km away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
289 reviews
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
5.0 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
11.7 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
724 reviews
0.1 km away
Fairlawn House
Fairlawn House
#1 of 3 in Amesbury
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Flat George Hotel 19 High Street, Amesbury SP4 7ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Price Range: $110 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you check what you have booked when you arrive.”
883georgec, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 6, four poster bed very peaceful atmosphere.”
helmoore, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room 22 a good one”
gabby472, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are some noisy areas near the sports bar but the staff are well aware and advise of this.”
BonnieKent, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms are good ,but the ones to the rear are quieter.”
alanhowitt, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$67* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$67
Booking.comUS$67
TripAdvisorUS$67
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates