We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lansdowne Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lansdowne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Lansdowne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 184: English reviews
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016

The refurbishment was not that bothersome so we were glad we didn't take the cancellation offer two days before - we couldn't find anywhere else anyway for our budget. What did bother us was the lack of heating in the bedrooms. We asked for heating to be put on but it was explained this was not possible as it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank fl0psybunny
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Hello fl0psybunny, Thank you for your review. In the couple of days since your visit my husband and I have joined at The Lansdowne Hotel as the new managers. We are eager to take on board all guest feedback to help us fulfil our commitment to providing our customers with the excellent stay which they rightly expect. As you as... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in the midst of an upgrade, we were given the option of cancelling, we didn't and received a reduction offered, room was fine and clean, breakfast good also, it's an honest place with nice staff, maybe not for wedding anniversary, but for work or a cheap Overnight stay in the heart of calne its fine. Thanks to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gareth L
lansdownehotelcalne, Assisany Manage at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. More 

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We stayed here as easy access to an interview my husband was attending but really wished we hadn't room at the very top of the hotel ,very large and very old but clearly in need of some TLC clean but that's about all you could say . Restaurant not open evenings only bar food which had to be sent back... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Gill P
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review It would of been nice for a complaint to be made to the hotel rather that a review site.- the hotel is under major renovations as stated on all booking sites so there is not a lot we can say about this - if guests arrive and are not happy with this we are offering... More 

Travellers are raving about these Calne hotels

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with some friends for a wedding. Room was fine with comfy beds but the shower was pretty weak. Breakfast was average at best, and certainly wouldn't be worth the £8 for non residents. Not bad for the price but equally not great either.

Helpful?
Thank Alastair T
lansdownehotelcalne, assistant manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review the breakfast for all residents is a free options we do not charge for this all money paid is for there rooms. Non Residents on top of the full English have extras as hash browns and black pudding, with free cereals, coffee or tea and also juices, we charge £7.95 for all this. We have... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

A stay in what must be the worst hotel in the UK ! I am disabled & had to struggle through the builders yard at the rear, & up several flights of rickety stairs to put my key into the swivelling lock of 235. As for the room, let's just say I had to wipe my feet when I left... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
lansdownehotelcalne, assistant manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel is under major renovations of which we have told everybody booked into the hotel - either via the hotel or online. The room you booked was the cheapest room in the hotel which is a budget twin room of which is cheap as still needs refurbishing. The hotel dose sell standard rooms at a higher price. All residents... More 

1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2016

as the Hotel is being renovated the carvary was not as expected , you can only have roast beef, ham with veg and Yorkshire pudding , there was 2 other tables with customers, when the waitress came for our order we were told there was no Yorkshire pudding , but that is a Sunday roast you must have Yorkshire pudding... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment. It's an interesting building with some informative pictures on the wall. Cooked breakfast was very good (although the table next to mine sent theirs back becuase the beans were cold). At £49 for a single room including cooked breakfast, I thought it was good value. Downside: bedroom tatty (bathroom better and clean) with exposed pipes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ferret55
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This place is nothing like advertised. Its a complete dump. Old and tatty with wallpaper falling off the walls, workmen sawing and drilling everywhere and not a manager to be seen. We had been told that the restaurant was closed which was fine by us, however had we known that there was work being carried out we would have cancelled.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peeboin
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

I can assure that we have a manager on site 24 hours a day, if the manager is not in main hotel they would be on a break but are always on call as they live onsite. I agree the hotel is old and tatty, of which when you stayed it is very obvious that we are currently going through... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Arrived 4.30pm. Had to search for a receptionist. Young girl arrived, more interested in her phone than us? Were we shown to our room? No! Were directed to a staircase. Were we offered assistance with our cases up 3 flights of stairs? No! Room overlooked A4 by a set of traffic lights. Double glazing panels missing from one of the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

The room is not up three flights of stairs it is only one flight of stairs - we do not offer a porter services which is advertised on all our websites. The hotel has also advertise that we are currently going through a refurbishment so this is why there is bins, cement mixers and scaffolding. We also have on all... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

A very dirty and grubby room. Ceiling cracked with mold patches. Bathroom moldy and dirty. Definitely not worth the £76 paid and not worth the 3* given by AA more like 0*. On arrival we waited at reception for 10 minutes before we were attended. Banisters up to rooms sticky a very unpleasant place to stay. We only chose the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank JmW1973

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
0.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
144 reviews
14.8 km away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
77 reviews
3.8 km away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
486 reviews
8.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
10.8 km away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Address: The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Price Range: $77 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calne
Calne Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lansdowne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I gave a higher rating only because of the employees.”
 of 5 bubbles D6893MPmichaelm, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 788alanw, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms were a bit noisy at the front but quietened down by midnight.”
 of 5 bubbles fl0psybunny, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Find somewhere else whilst building work going on”
 of 5 bubbles gillp905, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't go to the Sunday Carvery as not good with very poor Customer Service”
 of 5 bubbles X7668DTmargaretr, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay