We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

George Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 349: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel was comfy, clean and tidy although a little dated,with its creeky floors it added to its character, i would recommend room 206 with a view over the town centre, bed was comfy, and room warm 2 mins from River Severn and 10mins from Severn Valley Railway its worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rubynottingham
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Placed on the 3rd floor in a room that was not insulated well enough. The ceiling was vaulted and front facing and the noise from the street echoed into the room. Once the pubs closed the noise from the street was terrible. It went on for an hour or so and you could hear every vehicle that went by. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 601rosb
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was well proportioned great for wheelchair access. The bathroom was well appointed for someone disabled. It had a wet room with walk in shower with a seat, shower curtain and rail, plus safety pull cord. Pleanty of fresh towels etc.Very friendly and nothing seemed too much! Thank you for making our visit to Bewdley terrific! We visited the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8Linda8
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with your room. I'm glad you enjoyed visiting Bewdley and Severn Valley Railway and we look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visit here a lot. Quite a regular meeting place for us. Always been happy but yesterday very long hair in my ice cream. Waitress changed it but spoilt the meal for me. Think waitress could of been a bit more shocked

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dizzywytche1964
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello I'm so sorry to hear about your disappointing visit in our restaurant. I will pass your feedback on to ensure something like this does not happen again. I hope this does not prevent you from visiting us in the future. Kind Regards

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Great quirky old building, just watch your head if you tall! lol Friendly staff, great food, good value for money, pretty good all round. I stayed on a Wednesday night, only downside was the noise of a beer delivery and waste bottle collection at 06.45am but don't let that put you off.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djsidan
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us. I'm sorry if the beer delivery disturbed you! I'm glad you were happy with the food and service you received and that you liked the quirkiness of our hotel! Look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Reviewed 2 November 2016

Went to event round the corner for Halloween, we decided to stay at this little treasure of a hotel, because it was great value for money and by that i mean cheap. Not the cheapest but some of the cheaper places looked like you might get murdered in them. So a good find, so we thought. Then we rocked up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil K
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback following your stay with us. We are so happy to read your comments regarding the character in your room, our customer service, our cleanliness and the value for the money. We will definitely look into the TV and WIFI issues that you has so this does...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

the double room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. We were there for Halloween and it was great fun. There is a lift if needed to the first floor. The staff are very friendly and helpful , my only moan would be the tables in the bar and restaurant are not cleared enough and can be really off putting

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizzie17795
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for leaving your lovely review I'm very pleased you were happy with your stay and that our staff were friendly and helpful. I am sorry to read about our tables not being cleared quick enough, we will make sure this is something we work on in future. Thank you again for taking the tie to...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Had a nice time - staff very friendly and helpful but the "free wifi" logged on automatically then didn't work. Disappointing. Also, we were given a disabled access room as all other rooms were booked (which was ok) but the shower overflowed as there was no slope and floor was dangerously slippery. Finally, we were woken quite early in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gracie-ab97
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm sorry you were disappointed with you room, this room actually has a wet room rather than a bath or shower cubicle for easy access, I'm sorry if this was not mentioned to you on check in. And I'm also sorry you were disturbed by our beer...

Betws-y-Coed
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Very good service. Requested room change was no problem. Clean and comfortable room overlooked the High street, but no problem with noise. Adjoining restaurant and pub Wetherspoons usual excellent standards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank parky210
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm very pleased we were able to assist you in your room change and that they were comfortable enough for you. Hope to see you again another time.

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Stayed for one night the room far too small for the very uncomfortable double bed, when door open on the wardrobe it hit the corner of the bed. The roof was slanting at one side of the room so you had to walk bent over to get in and out of the bed. The room itself was so dark and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm very sorry to read of your disappointment. It seems you were allocated a room on the very top of the building where the hotel rooms have the most character with the sloping ceilings and uneven floors, I'm sorry if you were unhappy with this. We are...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
3.4 km away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kidderminster
422 reviews
1.7 km away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kidderminster
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 14 in Worcester
308 reviews
7.5 km away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
5.5 km away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Load Street, Bewdley DY12 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Price Range: $68 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from George Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need a accessible room ask! It was well appointed. The quirky routes for the wheel need explanation.”
 of 5 bubbles 8Linda8, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there if you do ask to see the room before parting with your money”
 of 5 bubbles L9875NWbarbaraw, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not have room at back overlooking courtyard as can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles margshell29, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose rooms 105 or 106. First floor and very noisy at the front”
 of 5 bubbles stuartp1960, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask Paige for advice”
 of 5 bubbles robbie1doe, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay