We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oakwell Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
15/06/2017 16/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Oakwell Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oakwell Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 221: English reviews
York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here 1 night on 16th August 2014 and was pleased with the guest house. I would have given the extra rating but for the small bed we had. The bed was ok for 1 night, and the bedroom was clean and comfortable with a well thought out en-suite. Breakfast was excellent. All in all a lovely friendly place....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 611Chris
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, sorry the bed is a 4ft one, if we had a full 4ft 6 one you wouldn't be able to get into it properly (very tight squeeze). But thank for your comments. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards Carole & Alec

Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2014

lovely overnight stay with my mam and my two children . We were made very welcome , nothing was to much trouble. Rooms were spacious and spotless. Breakfast was fresh and very nice.could not ask for anything more ,would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joanne M
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased that all was ok for you all. Both Alec & myself try to do our best for our guests & hope we do. If their is anything we can do more we would like to be told. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards Carole & Alec

Market Lavington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely overnight stay with my wife and daughter We were made very welcome by great friendly hosts who served a super breakfast Rooms are spotlessly clean but a little basic but bed was very comfortable Overall a very enjoyable stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tedosborn
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all the reviews we get, we are pleased that all was ok for you, I believe you were in small family room, it is a bit tight sorry but we have to do what we can with the space we have. Pleased the breakfast went down well. Hope to see you again in...

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Can't knock this hotel especially for the price! I had a lovely double room and the un suite was really modern and clean, maybe a little on the small side. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice. It was always ready within 5-10 minutes and everything was cooked when ordered and very fresh. Only thing I can knock is a heard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole R
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Nicola for your review, we both appreciate all our reviews, sorry for the baby crying, makes a change from the gulls. We hope to see you again next year, we will try to keep the place up to scratch. Regards Carole & Alec

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2014

had a two night stay with the family using two rooms, family room and twin room, both rooms exceptionally clean,spacuious and comfertable. had breakfast both days served fresh and very tastey. served with a smile, thanks carole and alec for making us feel welcome.. will defenitly be back when we are in brid again couldnt ask for more..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarahswaine81
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your 2 day break, always glad to make it enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Every one say's how good the breakfast is ( tought him well ). Regards Carole & Alec

Gateshead, England
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My partner and I took my 2 nieces here and stayed the night of the 26th July. We stayed in a family room, which was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was spot on with lots of choice, hot and extremely tasty - really set us up for the day. I can honestly say, a one night stay was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EnglandLucy
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, glad that all was ok for you, yes it gets a bit heck tick when all come at the same time, but we manage, it would be quicker if the food was already for you, but we will not do that, as you know all is cooked...

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at this fantastic guest house in Bridlington, Thursday 24th July upto Saturday 26th July. Alec and Carole are very friendly,warm and welcoming. Made us feel at home straight away. Excellent family room (More than enough room for me, my wife and two children (11 and 8). Very clean, and the breakfasts were out of this world. Would very much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adamp276
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us, pleased that all was to your satisfaction, we try our best to make things as comfortable as possible for our guests. We both hope to see you in the future, just give us a call & we will see what we can do. Thank you for your review we appreciate...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having booked online we wouldn't arrive until 8pm by train. Rang to confirm this with a week to go and they were nothing short off brilliant. Our stay for the 3 off us was nothing short off fantastic. Good local information from Carole and Alec if your a first time stayer to help you make the most off your stay,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MR_K1974
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, both Alec & myself are happy with the reviews that we get from our guests, all we ask is they say as it is. We try to do our best & hope it is good enough, glad you enjoyed your short stay,we hope to see you in the future. regards Carole & Alec

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Our 3rd visit to the Oakwell Guest House. Carole and Alec are very welcoming and friendly. My little boy (5) loves coming here, and girl (2) enjoyed it too. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are spacious. The breakfast definitely sets you up for the day! I would recommend this guest house.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallyf1980
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we always welcome them, it shows others that we do look after our guests, both Alec & myself do our best to make it enjoyable to all. Thank you for keep coming back to us. Regards Carole & Alec

Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our first stay at Oakwell Guest House and we would definitely return! Both Carole and Alec were lovely hosts - very friendly with a welcoming air. The room itself was very clean and a good size. Breakfast was also very yummy with various choices, and the guest house was only a short distance from the beach and town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RyanandKadey
alcass, Owner at Oakwell Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Ryan & kady for your review, we were pleased that you enjoyed your short break with us, as you found we try to be homely for everyone. As for the breakfast well we do it as we would like to receive it. We both hope to see you in the future, again thank you. Carole & Alec

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
15/06/2017 16/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.4 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
215 reviews
1.5 km away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
546 reviews
0.5 km away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#48 of 118 in Bridlington
44 reviews
0.4 km away
Malvern Guesthouse
Malvern Guesthouse
#11 of 118 in Bridlington
269 reviews
0.5 km away
Ivanhoe Guest House
Ivanhoe Guest House
#7 of 118 in Bridlington
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carole & Alec welcome you to the Oakwell Guest House, a 6 bedroom all en-suite establishment, only 5 mins walk from the harbour and railway station. Spa Theatre only a few mins walk away. We try to cater for all needs. We are family orientated and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakwell Guest House

Address: 84 Windsor Crescent, Bridlington YO15 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Price Range: $98 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwell Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oakwell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oakwell Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Oakwell Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Three sleeper family room...just been redecorated!”
shaundavidsmith, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Large bathroom in room 6”
potterdempsey, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you book in advance, Carole and Alec can be fully booked. They are a very nice, friendly couple.”
Pipip21, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 looked nice. :)”
rachelbR851XK, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“There was two flights of stairs to go up ,wife took a short break going up apart from that everything was fine”
908rogerp, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates