We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Anchor Hotel

Booking.comUS$60*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$60*
US$60*
US$60*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Anchor Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 257: English reviews
Start your review of The Anchor Hotel
 Click to rate
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited on Monday evening. Great value - great service - try the chicken burger - it's yummy and great value at £8.95 with chunky chips and salad. Leave the bun out with the chicken though - not necessary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susiejulie
West Midlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel before meeting friends at Thorpe Park the next day. Positives: I received a warm welcome. The bed was comfortable. Tea and coffee plentiful. Reasonably priced. I decided to treat myself to dinner. I didn't expect a fine dining experience because the appearance of the hotel did not suggest that would be the case. I expected more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sesny
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, some positives and negatives for us to take on board. I would like to sincerely apologise for the shortcomings during your stay, points that can be fixed have been seen to by our maintenance manager. I do hope you will stay with us again when next in the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very enjoyable stay and especially enjoyed the local poached free range eggs at breakfast. Location good for a leisurely stroll down to the river and Shepperton Lock. Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. En Suite room overlooking Church Square was clean, the bed very comfortable and boasted a bath as well as a shower. We will certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff K
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane, Thank you for your fabulous five star review, the whole team are delighted with the feedback. Hopefully you will return for a longer stay in the not too distant future. Thanks & regards, Garrett Hayes, General Manager.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff here are fantastic. Lovely people and very welcoming. The room was very standard. Quite small but isn't a problem really, not like I was going to be running in there ! The only thing I could criticise was the the amount of noise you hear. Constant floorboards creaking, and walls were quite thin. But overall a good place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack, Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to be able to feedback to the team that you thought they were fantastic. A lot of work has gone into resolving the creaking floorboards - we had them all sealed last year and all new carpets & underlay put...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Anchor is a very old and traditional, small hotel in Church Square, Shepperton, Middlesex. This was a last minute booking and I was pleased with the rate at £72 for a double room. I was greeted by an extremely pleasant chap who efficiently and quickly booked me in. Good job really as I was kerry packered (knackered)!! The old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell J
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Russell, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We take all feedback on board and will have a look at our continental breakfast offering. Car parking can be an issue but we do have a free in the evening public car park, which is a three minute walk away from us. Overall you seemed...

Devon
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

From the moment we stepped into the reception area a warm welcome awaited us from Vasil. Our room was small but comfortable but as the building is probably 300/400 years old this is only to be expected. Preferable to clinical decor and more space. A small problem with the heating control (hard for us to adjust) was dealt with immediately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DevonBobby
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review. I am glad that Vasil, Chris & the rest of the team looked after you so well. The Head chef was especially pleased with the feedback, he will be with us a year on the 27th March and we are very happy that he is part...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

The breakfast was cooked to order, so much to eat and fresh, the staff were very helpful and polite , I would definitely stay here again , the room was clean and fresh Some lovely walks nearby, seating area available outside was very relaxing and peaceful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anna, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I will be sure to share your review with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next in the area. Thanks again, Garrett Hayes, General Manager.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Stayed for one night only, tiny room but bedding appeared clean. Bathroom was only a shower room, dirty and ill fitted with the door catching so it could not be closed properly. Loo roll holder was positioned about three feet away from the toilet and the toilet roll itself was some cheap nasty one sheet brand that should be banned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen R
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen, I would like to apologise for the sub-standard experience you had whilst staying with us. It would be great if you could contact me directly so I can discuss your stay in full with you, I can be contacted at Anchor@Desboroughhotels.com. Apologies again and I look forward to hearing from you, Garrett Hayes, General Manager.

Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

We had our family get together meal at this hotel, 30 people and they looked after us very well, the food was good, the service was good and we shall be going there again next year, says it all really, thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hersham027
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Robbins, Thank you for your lovely comments. I am glad to hear your dinner went so well and that you are already planning to return again in the future. I will be sure to share this review with the team. Thanks again, Garrett Hayes, General Manager.

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I had a great time staying here. The food is great! The service is awesome! It's just a 5 minute drive to Shepperton Studios or a 40 minute walk. My room was small, but I had everything I needed: clean bathroom, soft bed, tasty English food, and plenty of beer! Love this hotel! I would recommend it to everyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie T
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your week with us and I have shared your comments with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back when next in the area. Kind regards, Garrett Hayes, General Manager.

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepperton
0.0 km away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
562 reviews
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Ship Hotel Weybridge
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
590 reviews
1.7 km away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
902 reviews
4.0 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel

Address: Church Square, Shepperton TW17 9JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Shepperton
Price Range: $86 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Anchor Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Anchor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't ask for room 7, its by the road!!”
  • 100 year old wardrobe & very comfy bed!!!
  • Entrance into room from bathroom lobby
349russellj, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My room looked over the Square, which was very pleasant”
monty551, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get the largest you can afford. The staircases are narrow the higher you go.”
philip_gearing, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take ear plugs.”
mallyinswanage, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 on first floor overlooks the Square”
RGHD1951, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$60* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$60
TripAdvisorUS$60
Agoda.comUS$60
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates