We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Scarlet Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,455: English reviews
Start your review of The Scarlet Hotel
 Click to rate
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We have recently returned from our second weekend at the Scarlet in the last six months and must say that this visit was just as memorable as the first. The views from the room and all the public areas are breathtaking, it is so easy to just sit and watch the sea while sipping a glass of wine that relaxation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Recently returned from a great few days in a lovely room - what could have been one of the best hotel stays ever - but - don't you just hate it when some places seem to suffer from location apathy ? Our room had a sea view , was spacious , great balcony - but the magnifying mirror was falling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's not the most attractive building from the outside, but once inside (ignoring the fact that the 'infinity pool' outside reception, which looks so good in photos, was drained due to leakage - hopefully they'll resolve that soon) all looks very cool and boutique style, with interesting artwork and expensive furnishings. They don't do anything as traditional as an actual...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonysony
Reviewed 1 week ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Scarlet, the food was probably the best we have had at any of the places we stayed on our UK tour, the staff were quite good. We arrived and they took us through to an area to be seated while they go through the check-in process. We were taken to a lounge room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregf674
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Wow thank you for rating us as the best food on your UK tour! I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. It is such a shame about the dirty plates not being moved on your table – that is not our usual standard at all and I will pass your feedback onto our host manager. I hope...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel, immaculately maintained with no signs of wear anywhere. Everything looks brand new. There is a lot of light wood and beautiful fabrics and artworks. Our generous room was simply furnished and the whole place has the feeling of almost being at a retreat, where you can focus on being together and chilling out. I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elles_Belles555
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much – what lovely words! I am so pleased you felt so well taken care of. Our beautiful environment is set into the rugged Cornish coastal landscape and provides a welcome distraction from everyday life. To see it from the hot tub is just pure bliss - a true Scarlet moment. I was disheartened to hear you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to the Scarlet (the first being about 18 months ago). Our first visit was, without doubt, 5 stars. The service is excellent but relaxed, the food is fantastic and the views are spectacular. The only disappointment on our recent trip was the room. We had booked a generous room (as we had before) but this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N_H_George
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about us. It is so lovely to welcome guests back for return stays. I’m sorry to hear you did not like room 22 – we can absolutely make sure you stay in a different room for your next stay - it’s always lovely to try different rooms until you find...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed with my wife and parents and loved it. Although it was mine and my wife's first stay my parents have now been 9 times which speaks volumes. The room was clean and bed very comfortable but unfortunately the chairs in the room although pleasing to the eye are not comfortable to sit in. The hotel as a whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajbsab
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so pleased you had such lovely time with us. I hope John had a lovely birthday too – the lemon drizzle cake is always a firm favourite, it’s definitely mine! We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit – and hopefully...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great stay at the scarlet. Valet parking easy. Friendly reception staff who showed us around. Nice relaxing areas to rest in. Bar and restaurant very well done and good quality food. Bit disappointed that no wines from New Zealand but we were happy with the Italian wine we ordered. Would be nice if the bar area faced the sea, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustinA-S1979
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a wonderful time, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Our wine list reflects our upbeat, inquisitive and sustainable approach to life. We made a conscientious decision not to head to the New world for our wines as we feel our local European suppliers have such an abundance of wonderful...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking forward to our special treat for my wife birthday when booking The Scarlet, unfortunately we were very much disappointed. On arrival all seemed well, we were shown around and eventually to our room which had stunning views out to sea. We decided to have a sandwich lunch down in one of the many relaxed areas of the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 61knocker
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it saddened me to read about your disappointing experience with us. I understand you had spoken to one of our managers whilst in house, leading us to believe you left happy. We clearly misread the impact of these mistakes during your stay and I apologise you were not contacted after your departure. I would very...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for New Year and it was fantastic - it's a shame the UK road network can make for an arduous journey to and from... The setting is amazing - the views are spectacular with great walks in all directions. The rooms are lovely and there's plenty of areas for relaxing. All the food is excellent, with plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mostin-33
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

The New Year’s break was so much fun! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Perhaps try getting the train down to us next, the views are stunning and gives a few hours to start to unwind before you arrive at the hotel. We also offer an Eco-discount if you travel to us by foot, bike, rail...

963 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (750)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (168)
Viewed
View from Room (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (254)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Annella Indulgent Room (58)
Viewed
Hot Tub (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (3)
Viewed
Just Right Room (41)
Viewed
Natural Reed Filtered Pool (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.2 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,082 reviews
7.1 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
8.3 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
443 reviews
35.6 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
134 reviews
34.4 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Price Range: $417 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Scarlet Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Hampshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Scarlet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea views are good”
 of 5 bubbles johngN4705ZO, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid Room 22. It's fine but not as special as other rooms in the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles N_H_George, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay just a vist”
 of 5 bubbles melvynh2017, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There is no bad rooms all have a sea view I think”
 of 5 bubbles 293kerryw, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book rooms with sea views!”
 of 5 bubbles gemlou3, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5