We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Porth Avallen Hotel

290 reviews
Save
Traveller (68)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (13)
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good30%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (290)Write a Review
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
89
83
43
39
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
89
83
43
39
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning views of the baycarlyon baybay windoweden projectcharming hotelcoastal pathst austell baypiping hotvery pleasant stayfeel very welcomelong weekendlovely roomhowthcornwalltlc
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stayed for three nights including Christmas night . Our room was spacious , clean and very comfortable with amazing views over the bay . Our Christmas dinner was excellent .. Very rarely do roast dinners equal home cooked for taste but the food was...More

Thank rjw132015
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

Went here on a Xmas party ..food was loveĺy crispy spuds a bonus and great dessert...DJ issues and no music wich killed the atmosphere but came well in the end..Manager should of apologised and may be offered a free drink 😁😁

Thank Tracy B
Reviewed 16 December 2017

Had Christmas party on 15th December 2017, sadly it was the worst I have ever been to.Only 4 tables had been booked totalling 32 guests, which made the function room seem huge. Function room poorly decorated for a Christmas party. Staff were brusque, verging on...More

1  Thank gromit61
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Fantastic views from the front of hotel rooms, especially the a Avelon suite, which overlooks the sea at Charlestown.It is a charming hotel , not large, but very friendly, and the owner is certainly hands on.Yes it needs a little updating, but as it is...More

Thank nantlais
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Lovely hotel in a great location overlooking the sea. Close to Charlestown with some lovely pubs and restaurants. Our bedroom was a good size, great view and the breakfast didn't disappoint. Thank youMore

Thank denisebirnie
Response from PorthAvallen, Front Office Manager at Porth Avallen HotelResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. It is so pleasing to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are a small team here and do our best to ensure our guests are happy and comfortable. It is great when guests take the...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345656
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Shuttle Bus Service
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$109 - US$250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$109 - US$250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (68)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (13)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dave T
Interested in reading your reviews. We booked in for 3 night's stay in June to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. On the third night I was woken at midnight and again at 6am by very loud fan noise appearing to emanate from just outside our room. There was no one to whom we were able to complain but at 6:15 a couple of the hotel workers arrived and heard the noise. I tried to complain on checking out but the owner/manager was too busy to see me and told his staff to get me to email my complaint. Needless to say my email and follow up recorded delivery letter were totally ignored. I am sending a final letter today and expect to be starting proceedings in the Small Claims Court in 2 weeks time citing "accomodation not fit for purpose" and "Loss of enjoyment of life". Do you think this is the appropriate action for me to take?
28 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Dave T |
I was not expecting a reply but to my final letter but George phoned me when he received it.He said my initial complaint was lost due to a computer problem in July and a manager leaving. He immediately settled my claim and... More
2
Votes
Room Tips
"Sea facing,and if possible the suite"
Read review
"We were in a rear wing extension, bit of a route march through narrow corridors ...prime rooms to the front"
Read review
"Pay a bit more for a view."
Read review
"go for a sea view room it helps to make up for the shabbiness"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing