We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gibraltar Hotel Bowral

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 533: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very disappointed!! I paid extra and booked with the expectations of a superior suite.1 bedroom with bath and balcony, as described on Hotels.com. Having paid the higher rate for balcony, only to be placed in a studio room with windows and no balcony! NOT HAPPY JAN!!!😾 got shown a woodland balcony room that was 2 inch Deep under belting sun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent 3 days in the Southern highlands of NSW and we based ourselves at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral. We had a lovely quiet room with a view of the golf course. The peaceful ambience created by the beautiful decor, lighting and furniture helped make for a relaxing stay. We chose to dine every night at Gibraltar. We had 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear Robyn S, It gives us great pleasure reading the experience you have shared during your recent stay at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral. Your kind words gives warmth to our hearts and we will share this with the team. We are happy that you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed everything; from the room, ambience, décor, all the way to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Gibraltar Hotel wellness retreat was amazing, relaxing and rejuvenating experience. It enabled me to switch off from everyday stressors of life to focus on my own health and wellbeing. The food, accommodation, facilities and staff were outstanding. Monica Moore’s is an incredible and intuitive yoga teacher and her guidance and nurturing instruction lead us all through a wonderfully, memorable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear Joanne C, Thank you so much for your kind words! We are pleased that you enjoyed our Wellness program and we are happy knowing that it has served its purpose of relaxing and rejuvenating you. We hope that you will be able to follow through with the learnings you had during the retreat and be able to apply it...

NSW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for the weekend for a friends wedding. Stayed 2 nights in the twin room with queen beds. Pros - large room size and large bathroom, plenty of mirrors for girls to get ready in! - had a beautiful balcony Cons - SO NOISY - Very thin walls, hard floors and the door may as well not be there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iheartgeography
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear iheartgeography, It is unfortunate to hear of the unfavorable experience you had during your stay. We will look into the inputs you have shared and rest assured we will do everything we can to address them. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you safe travels. Kind Regards, Liz

wagga
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was good value and a lovely surprise. Very clean attractive rooms and a fantastic buffet breakfast included. The dining room staff were fantastic and very welcoming to us and our children. The only negative was our room was part of an interconnecting suite. At midnight a large wedding party arrived back next door waking up everyone in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mumofthreeWagga
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear mumofthreeWagga, Our gratitude for sharing your review. It is great to know that you enjoyed the room, the breakfast and the service of our staff. We appreciate the kind words and allow us to share them with the team. It is unfortunate to hear of the negative experience you had with the noise. Please be advised we are looking...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have mixed feelings about this hotel. Maybe if it weren't so expensive we wouldn't have expected a top notch experience - which didn't exactly pan out. We did the Indulgence Package, which set us back around $1300 for 3 nights. We hadn't been on a holiday in forever and this was the last one before baby arrives, hence why...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LeaseP
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear LeaseP, Many thanks for sharing your experience during your stay with us. As you have mentioned in your review it is nice to know that you appreciated the food and staff of the hotel. However, it saddens us to hear of the unfavorable experience you had with our Food and Beverage. Rest assured that we will look into each...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to celebrate a friend's wedding, however we decided to book the golf package with a room upgrade to a superior with a balcony. His is where things started to go wrong - we arrived and had been allocated a superior with a bath and no balcony - weird that they have a bath OR...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SydneySinger2011
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear SydneySinger2011, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your last visit. It is unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy your stay. Thank you for sharing your inputs, we greatly appreciate it as this will help us improve on the products and services we offer to our guests. Rest assured that we will look...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very well organised group event for those who wish to increase or confirm and extend their knowledge of self care and the best way to achieve wellness and healthy living. The days contained interactive talks, demonstrations and information sharing by experts in their special field. As a small group (8) we were well cared for by hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hopstepandjump
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear hopstepandjump, It warms our hearts to know that you enjoyed our Wellness program. It gives us great pleasure that the program we have carefully planned for has helped you as in your own words ‘escape from the pressures of every day life’. We hope that you were able to recharge during your stay with us and we look forward...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is not worth more than 3 stars. Rooms are tired and dirty. Expected from photos that it was glam but it was the opposite.So disappointing that Aussie hotels cannot reflect the same as a 4 star in Europe. The dark brown decor was depressing and even the decent breakfast couldn't convince me to try it again. However the golf...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lillian K
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear Lillian K, It is unfortunate that you did not have a good experience during your stay with us. Whereas we take pride in the unique, modern and stylish décor of the hotel; unfortunately it does not suit your preference. We are grateful for sharing your constructive inputs nonetheless as these helps us to continuously improve; and many thanks for...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed one night, but it was a very pleasant stay. Our room was super comfortable, with an enormous bed, and lovely view over the golf course where we sat in bed watching the baby ducks! I really enjoyed that we could just stay on premises in the evening and enjoy a really fabulous dinner and good drinks in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cara S
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear Cara S, Many thanks for sharing the pleasant experiences you had during your stay at the Gibraltar Hotel Bowral. It gives us great pleasure knowing that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and lovely view. And yes, watching the baby ducks on our greens is amusing! We are glad you enjoyed our food and drink offerings; from breakfast to dinner....

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
2.9 km away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
326 reviews
0.9 km away
Peppers Craigieburn
Peppers Craigieburn
#3 of 9 in Bowral
830 reviews
13.2 km away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
2.2 km away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
6.7 km away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Harvey's Bar
Harvey's Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on 100-acres, among century old elm and pine trees and under the shadow of Bowral’s iconic Mt Gibraltar, is Gibraltar Hotel, the most luxurious and modern hotel accommodation available in NSW’s Southern Highlands. Just one and half hours easy drive from Sydney and Canberra, Gibraltar Hotel offers 76 luxurious suites each with vistas of beautiful Bowral woodland or Mt Gibraltar itself. The Hotel also features a challenging 18-hole golf course, the largest conference centre in the region with a unique, elegant ballroom, six breakout meeting rooms, a wedding chapel with a full organ, as well as its own heated indoor swimming pool, cardio centre and luxurious Bowral Day Spa and Grooming Lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gibraltar Hotel Bowral

Address: Centennial Rd & Boronia St, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Price Range: $196 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gibraltar Hotel Bowral 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gibraltar Hotel Bowral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral New South Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gibraltar Hotel Bowral staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Gibraltar Hotel Bowral staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay if there is a wedding booked!”
 of 5 bubbles LeaseP, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with views to the golf course are nicer but I would opt for a balcony room to prevent your neighbours seeing into your room.”
 of 5 bubbles LynetteB411, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the golf course view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Channabella, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our deal was for the rooms that overlooked the carpark. The rooms that overlooked the golf course would be stunning.”
 of 5 bubbles Calamitykid, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room overlooking the golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles Amc3107, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay