We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Imperial Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Imperial Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The rooms were nice but nothing more than you'd expect from a motel. I'd agree the staff are sour but when asked questions they would be helpful. The plumbing is not great eg you can hear other people running water, but our children slept through, so it's more annoying rather than disturbing. The biggest noise is provided by the train...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank familyoffiveonhols
Oatley, Australia
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Checked into room 4 on friday night. Nice simple room. Quickly realised there was something wrong with the plumbing. When flushing the toilet, the water raised to the top of the bowl, then drained down over the next 30 mins. When empty, the toilet made a loud sucking noise. The noise got worse when having a shower, and also seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank feso70
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We stayed here for a girls weekend so didn't spend much time in the room other than getting ready and sleeping! It was clean enough but the bathroom felt a little dirty because of the bath mat that was hanging filled with bath scum. Overall a good cheap option for one night. The woodfired Pizzas are fantastic in the pub!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank n0tafrequenttraveler
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

This fairly new motel extension to the established pub business is convenient, clean and well-equipped. The rooms are spacious and include all the usual in-room extras. The only downside is the lack of insulation from the noise of the local parrots.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Royden S
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here during a visit for a family wedding. From check in to check out the staff were obliging and friendly. Rooms were clean, tidy and light. Shower was lovely and big. Beds were comfy, and there was plenty of extra blankets available should we needed them. 👍🏼

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kateyloubaker
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

We had been to the Imperial 2 years ago and enjoyed the proximity to restaurants and town features. Last time we had friendly staff, affordability and a pleasant stay. We decided to stay again, on a journey passing through. Not so great this time. The matronly receptionist was rude, dismissive, patronising and disinterested. The room was clean but the privacy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fussybutnotthatfussy
Trent J, Owner at The Imperial Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is much appreciated. Just to let you know we had had all privacy latches & locks inspected to ensure they are in perfect working order, & have also checked all bed linen for any wear or rips. We hope to see you again soon.

Mudgee, Australia
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Didn't even make it to my room!!! The lady at reception immediately insulted me as I introduced myself as a reservation booked for a wedding, she insulted the mother of the bride to me!!! Threw her hands up and stated she's had it with this wedding! THEN I was rudely told 'you do NOT have a reservation here' I could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank natesmummy
Trent J, Owner at The Imperial Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry we were unable to accommodate you after a 5 hour drive & hope you made your wedding in time. I was also there when you arrived & as we tried to explain to you our system keeps guest's details - even when bookings have been cancelled - & we have never had a booking under your name. We...

sydney
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Ordered the prawn laksa and on this Saturday night it was not availabe ??? So ordered the San Choy Bau and it was a tasteless beef mince dish with lettuce. It had no flavour whatsoever and my daughter could have cooked something more flavorsome. Hubby had a steak which was okay to taste wise but was chewy and tough.. Say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank camasawa
Finley, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with 5 other couples everyone commented on the rudeness of the receptionist on arrival. The rooms were okay, however the bed and the pillows were dreadful, hard mattress and very uncomfortable. I would not recommend this place mainly due to the arrogance the receptionist she needs a lesson in hospitality, shame I did not get her...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hidden-treasures123
Flinders, Australia
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

Handy location to shops and located at rear of Imperial Hotel. Sleeping on floor would have been just as comfortable as sleeping on bed. Matress was just too hard. Motel was clean, but way overpriced. Breakfasts were not available.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruce K

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.8 km away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
341 reviews
1.2 km away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
1.7 km away
Peppers Craigieburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
1.2 km away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
4.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Grand Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Imperial Motel

Address: 228-234 Bong Bong St, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Price Range: $121 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Motel Bowral, New South Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Imperial Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Imperial Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have trouble with stairs, ensure you request a ground floor room!”
 of 5 bubbles 808margm, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid if you can”
 of 5 bubbles paulgB600ZH, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try and get a room away from the entrance driveway.”
 of 5 bubbles 630gwyns, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“1st floor rooms may have been quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles kgb668, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some car parks are larger than others.”
 of 5 bubbles JayR142, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5