We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waves Byron Bay

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Waves Byron Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Waves Byron Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 299: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Whilst staying in Sydney took a short flight to Buyron Bay Previously used Waves and no hesitation returning for our 2 night stay The staff always helpful, location so handy for eating and shops The beach on at the end of the short road Plan to return again next year

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bob D
WavesResorts1, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Recent Guest, It was great to receive your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We agree our location is fabulous with everything within walking distance. Please contact us direct, so we can offer you our 'Best Available Rate' when you return. Regards, The Team@Waves

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 17 February 2016

The staff were friendly, and the foyer entry looks clean and updated styling wise. We stayed in the penthouse and it is so dated for the price. There seems to be a lot of issues with but here are a few things we had to deal with- cockroaches, ants and spiderwebs, light switches didn't work, pop up plug in bathroom...

1Thank Jay W
WavesResorts1, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Recent Guest, We were very disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our cleaning standards are to the highest standard, so we will definitely follow up your issues raised. It is the first time we have had any bug or insect complaints, so very unusual, but probably due to the existing current climate and humidity. Thank you...

New Farm, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend at waves, the location is perfect, 2 min walk to beach and into town, rooms were very tidy but above all the staff were exceptionally welcoming and accommodating, went out of there way to help us. Highly recommend. The walk up to cape Byron lighthouse is also a must do!

Thank Jennifer F
WavesResorts1, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer F Thank you for your recent review. We are fortunate to have great local staff who are well equipped to give advice and help to all our guests. We would love to welcome you again, and please call us direct , so we can offer you our Best Available Rate. Regards The Team@WavesByronBay

Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

Very over priced for a suite! Oh but hang on you get muffins to start your day ! Friendly greeting on a past opening hours probably the only real thing that I could take with me. Close to town but so not worth the money. Would have to improve to get me back.

1Thank Peter S
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Paid $320 for Suite for 1 night - waste of money - will never stay again. Smell in room; filthy windows and balcony door; broken flickering light in bathroom (receptionist just shrugged when told). Over-priced and overrated

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1Thank sheilac7000
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We loved the location, they had underground parking but beyond that we were not overly impressed by the motel. We had a boutique suite but such a name implied a bit better experience to what I would consider a pretty normal hotel room. The breakfast was as advertised. The wifi was very poor in our room.

1Thank Robert W
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

We've just completed a four night stay at the Waves. It's a fantastic hotel with many plus points: The great comfortable beds, the fresh and crisp linen, the spacious rooms, the great modern bathroom, the awesome morning muffins for free that fill you till lunch, the central location (we forgot we had a car for four days). We could also...

Thank Yiorgos Y
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Great location, friendly staff, nice sized rooms, good bed. Waves was a pleasure to stay at. The only minute gripe I had was the fluctuation in water temperature when having a shower, everything else was great, I highly recommend Waves to anyone looking for a stay close to the heart of Byron Bay, just park the car in their secure...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank discos2016
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2016

The location of Waves is brilliant - to the beach, restaurants, shops. Not having a pool is fine as the beach is right there. One of the prettiest beaches with surf lifeguard close.We didn't need a car with a efficient bus service from Ballina airport. The king bed was great and mini bar fridge just large enough to put a...

Thank Wendy735
Gunnedah, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

When we booked our room here it was one week out from when we wanted to check in. There will very little available left in town. Waves looked like the place that would suit our needs best. Best decision we have ever made! I can't say anything bad about this place. We have been here for 10 days. Quiet a...

Thank MummaD68

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (12)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Bathroom (5)
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Room/Suite (7)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 km away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
0.2 km away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
237 reviews
3.3 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.2 km away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
3.8 km away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waves Byron Bay is a 20 room Stylish Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Byron Bay on the Beach. Guests enjoy a high standard of amenities. All rooms include Air-Conditioning, King Size Bath and separate Shower,STD/ISD phones,Plasma TV's, Austar, DVD Player, Stereo System, Clock Radio, Wireless Internet, Electronic Room Safes, Ironing Board and Iron, Mini Bar and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Secure undercover basement parking. Room rates include a complimentary 'light start to the day' of locally sourced muffins along with coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waves Byron Bay

Address: 35 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Price Range: $181 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Waves Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay
Waves Hotel Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waves Byron Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the main road. There is a backpackers on the opposite side of the road.”
kerryj60, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“studio was perfect for a couple”
barbaram1602, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Maybe go for a room on the second or third floor. We booked late, so got what was left, and maybe the others could be better.”
MattC498, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My guess is all rooms are great”
143tiar, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure there are towels and soap in the bathroom”
sarahwC4556FR, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
View all 12 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates