We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Planula B&B Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Planula B&B Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 117: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The accommodation was exactly as described, set in a lovely secluded setting away from the road. Our room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was really good including fresh bread or cakes. Wandy, the owner, was very welcoming and enthusiastic about the wildlife on their property. We especially adored the frogs and birdlife around the pond.

Helpful?
Thank Colin A
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights while in Byron Bay for a wedding. The staff were very helpfull, breakfast was quaint and very satisfying. Rooms were clean and simple. It's a place for people who enjoy great locations at a very good price. It is about 2 km out of the city so perfect for couples who are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brendan A
planula, Owner at Planula B&B Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Brendan, thank you so much for your review ! It is always wonderful to read about happy guests. We look forward to seeing you both next time. Many thanks, Wandy & Tim More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2016

The owners were wonderful and kept to the Byron culture of being amazing people. The B&B was beautiful. Well decorated and cozy. The location is quiet and only the birds can be heard. The location is out of the way so you wont feel the bustling of the city. Would recommend having a car to get to and fro.

Helpful?
Thank larsljung7
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Fine for an overnight stop, the room was somewhat Spartan. Located in a mini rainforest, there were tree frogs, dragons and millions of mozzies, so take some insect repellent. Located 3 km outside the town, it is a quite escape from the hustle and bustle.

Helpful?
Thank Henry C
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Planula is in such a beautiful location, out of the bustle of byron bay. The rooms were clean with shared kitchen facilities. Great place to spend a few days to unwind. Not far from Byron about a five min drive.

Helpful?
Thank Y2965RKlauram
Melboune
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Gorgeous location, yet I was a little disappointed with my room I was in the garden suite, and don't feel it was matching the cost. The room was clean, but a little damp being on the ground floor and also felt there was some mould there as I woke up extremely stuffy and the rooms was not light filled as... More 

Helpful?
Thank MalaikaVeraC
planula, Owner at Planula B&B Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Vera, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Planula Retreat. As you would have seen when you tried to find a room for one night before Christmas, Byron Bay is not the cheapest place to stay and can not be compared to Bali where you live most of the year. Getting a large room with... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Penula is located amongt some of the most beautiful nature I have seen. It is very quiet and relaxing. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The owners of the property are extremely kind and helpful. Delicious breakfast served daily. Will definately come back here to stay!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ania I
planula, Owner at Planula B&B Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Ania, Thank you for your review. Great top hear you enjoyed our secluded location and natural surrounds. We are looking forward to the next time! Kind Regards, Wandy & Tim More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

We visited here for a wedding (never really fun) and didn't want to stay with family, so chose the b and b option. Planula was only slightly out of town so we didn't have to go through the horrid traffic jams of Byron itself. Very easy to find, the grounds were beautiful and secluded with frogs and lizards roaming around... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RMH247
planula, Owner at Planula B&B Retreat, responded to this review

Dear RMH247, thank you for taking the time to write a review. By the sounds of it Planula was exactly the place you were looking for! We look forward having you staying again when you are visiting the area. As we are trying to be mindful of our impact on our environment we have installed water saving shower heads with... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We booked this on the basis of recommendations.Our room was very small with no luggage space.We had to make our own bed each day and the breakfast was lacklustre being self service where one had to make their own coffee and toast

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm F
planula, Owner at Planula B&B Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm, Thank you for your feedback. Of course, getting a negative review is always disappointing as we genuinely strive to provide a nice, comfortable place to stay with friendly service. We are very sorry you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay at Planula, especially since we came recommended. The room you booked was our very last one and the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast was generous. The muffins were delicious. Would highly recommend Panula B&B Retreat. So peaceful and quiet. Wandy was very kind and obliging. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraD001

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
3.1 km away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#9 of 32 in Byron Bay
221 reviews
2.3 km away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
64 reviews
4.9 km away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Tallow Beach Motel
Tallow Beach Motel
#2 of 3 in Suffolk Park
144 reviews
2.6 km away
Bayhaven Lodge
Bayhaven Lodge
#8 of 38 in Byron Bay
286 reviews
2.6 km away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#21 of 32 in Byron Bay
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Planula Retreat offers beautiful accommodation set on over 50 acres amongst tropical landscaped gardens just over 3km from the centre of Byron Bay. You will love the relaxed atmosphere created in this modern B&B style retreat. We are the only true remaining oasis that close to town! Unwind on the extensive decks around the house overlooking the frog pond and enjoy the lush gardens. How about listening to the birds and frogs over a BBQ at night? Extensive continental breakfasts are included in all rates. FREE wireless fast broadband everywhere. Friendly hosts and great recommendations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Planula B&B Retreat

Address: Lot 1, Melaleuca Drive | PO Box 1753, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range: $171 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Planula B&B Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Planula B&B Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Planula B&B Retreat staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Planula B&B Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a garden view room with ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles Pebbles300188, 6 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Spa room was lovely, big spa overlooking bushland, very quiet with deck from your door”
 of 5 bubbles kels44, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Ask for upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles SimmyDono123, 21 Sep 2014 | Read review
“There are five rooms to suit various groups of travellers. The common lounge area, decks, kitchen/dining and outdoor areas are so comfortable and attractive that the bedroom size is not critical.”
 of 5 bubbles johnfK9872GJ, 10 Sep 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in the downstairs spa room, which was great. Secluded with access to the kitchen and deck.”
 of 5 bubbles DMDigby, 27 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay