We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Planula B&B Retreat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Planula B&B Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Planula B&B Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We booked this on the basis of recommendations.Our room was very small with no luggage space.We had to make our own bed each day and the breakfast was lacklustre being self service where one had to make their own coffee and toast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm F
planula, Owner at Planula B&B Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm, Thank you for your feedback. Of course, getting a negative review is always disappointing as we genuinely strive to provide a nice, comfortable place to stay with friendly service. We are very sorry you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay at Planula, especially since we came recommended. The room you booked was our very last one and the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast was generous. The muffins were delicious. Would highly recommend Panula B&B Retreat. So peaceful and quiet. Wandy was very kind and obliging. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BarbaraD001
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Sadly we only had a short overnight stop here but were impressed right from the outset. Hosts Wandy and Tim kept in touch as our stay approached to discuss arrival times and welcomed us warmly. The room was clean and comfortable and the self-service breakfast exactly what we would choose with some delicious homemade bread. We would definitely stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tea-and-Sea
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Absolutely loved it here... beautiful and tranquil! Its a little out of byron bay (either bike, walk or hire a car!) but the peace here makes it worth it! Room is absolutely fine - by all means not a 5 star hotel, but good enough to feel comfortable and relaxed.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pebbles300188
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015

We stayed 4 nights here and had a very relaxing time, which was welcome after the busy earlier part of our holiday. The room was comfortable and had plenty of space for everything. Breakfast was plentiful and just what we usually like to have. weather was hot and we were able to eat it out on the deck in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carlisle70
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

Planula is a wonderful retreat in a rainforest setting. It's very peaceful and comfortable so nice to get away from the mad Easter crowd in Byron. With only five guest rooms it's easy enough to enjoy the amenity in peace and quiet. Staying in a B&B was really good for the Blues Festival as we were able to swap notes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leanne J
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 March 2015

We chanced upon this unique B & B during a five day road trip north, staying midweek in a comfortable, clean, twin room. Didn't see any other guests and had the communal lounge and kitchen to ourselves. Wandy and Tim are charming and attentive hosts and the inclusive breakfast provided more than we could eat. The situation is one of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter S
Reviewed 28 February 2015 via mobile

This is a review based on our experience dealing with the B&B when cancelling. We booked 2nights accommodation 3months in advance and unfortunately had to cancel within first 24hours. There is a cancellation policy of $70 from time of booking but Some resort owners are flexible with their policy or don't charge till after 24hours in their policy. From all...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AVIEWatts
planula, Owner at Planula B&B Retreat, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you feel this way, despite you understanding all this when we talked on the phone and agreeing to the fee. Our cancellation policy is very clear on all booking agents sites and on our own website and again repeated on the booking confirmation. We hope you will have an enjoyable time in Byron Bay and if you...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 8 January 2015

The owners of the property were quite helpful and pleasant as other reviewers have stated. Unfortunately your experience here will completely depend on who you are sharing the property with. It is a 5 bedroom house converted into a B&B with shared kitchen and outdoor space. We had a nice breakfast enjoying the homemade bread (but it's just breads and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lauren P
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 30 December 2014

We met Tim upon arrival at the reception and saw his diving photos all over the wall. After a friendly chat about diving at Byron Bay, he helped us to book a dive trip at the last minute and at a discount. We stayed at a room outside on the ground floor (next to the main house). The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wingwing7

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.7 km away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
4.1 km away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
3.1 km away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Bayhaven Lodge
Bayhaven Lodge
#8 of 39 in Byron Bay
299 reviews
4.9 km away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
2.6 km away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#19 of 32 in Byron Bay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Planula Retreat offers beautiful accommodation set on over 50 acres amongst tropical landscaped gardens just over 3km from the centre of Byron Bay. You will love the relaxed atmosphere created in this modern B&B style retreat. We are the only true remaining oasis that close to town! Unwind on the extensive decks around the house overlooking the frog pond and enjoy the lush gardens. How about listening to the birds and frogs over a BBQ at night? Extensive continental breakfasts are included in all rates. FREE wireless fast broadband everywhere. Friendly hosts and great recommendations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Planula B&B Retreat

Address: Lot 1, Melaleuca Drive | PO Box 1753, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Price Range: $161 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Planula B&B Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Planula B&B Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Planula B&B Retreat staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Planula B&B Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a garden view room with ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles Pebbles300188, 6 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Spa room was lovely, big spa overlooking bushland, very quiet with deck from your door”
 of 5 bubbles kels44, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Ask for upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles SimmyDono123, 21 Sep 2014 | Read review
“There are five rooms to suit various groups of travellers. The common lounge area, decks, kitchen/dining and outdoor areas are so comfortable and attractive that the bedroom size is not critical.”
 of 5 bubbles johnfK9872GJ, 10 Sep 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in the downstairs spa room, which was great. Secluded with access to the kitchen and deck.”
 of 5 bubbles DMDigby, 27 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5