We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wollongbar Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wollongbar Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 147: English reviews
Start your review of Wollongbar Motel
 Click to rate
Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago

Other than being dirty and infested with a cockroaches, our room had a lot going for it. A big red flag was the huge "for sale" sign festooning the entrance as we arrived. Often, but not always, that's a preview that something is bad, wrong, or just not up to snuff. I did check reviews for this well-located property, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ziggyfly
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ziggy Apologise our venue was not to your standard. When you checked out you did advise us about ants and roaches. On inspecting your room we did find 3 ants next to the front door but no roaches but your wife did have a picture of 1 roach on her phone. You yourself said you saw none but as...

A TripAdvisor Member
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived hours earlier than check in and they went out of there way to accommodate us with a room as soon as possible. Lovely customer service on arrival. Clean spacious room. Beach access and only a very short stroll to town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Hi Guys Happy we could look after you, appreciate the great review. I'll pass on your thoughts to our team. Hope you had a great time in the Bay and hope to see you soon. Thanks Craig

Penarth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Spent one night at this motel which is located a short walk from the town centre. Check in was efficient with helpful advice given by the receptionist about the surrounding area. The motel consists of two floors. Our room was spacious and functional. It contained a TV, Fridge, Hairdryer, Microwave and air conditioning. The bathroom was a good size with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arh2900
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Hi Arh Appreciate the review. Great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to check out Byron's great scenery and fine dining. Parking can be a problem (plus the dreaded parking meters) but due to our great location in the Bay we are an easy walk to most things. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks...

Adelaide
Reviewed 1 March 2017

At first glance, this motel looks like a noisy option as it's on the main road. However, if you manage to get a room at the back, you'll hear only a distant drone AND there are compensations. The little pool is delightful and its setting is pleasant enough to encourage you to linger over a book or enjoy your breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tourist014
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Hi Tourist Appreciate your review. Glad to see you enjoyed our facilities and Byron's beaches. Very sorry to hear about your restless sleep, we keep our mattresses current but note people do have sleeping preferences. When you stay again let our reception know on booking and we may be able to add some extra covers to soften the firmness. Thanks...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I stayed with a friend here and we loved it. From the moment we arrived, helpful staff and very clean motel with great facilities. We liked how they tidied our room and replenished our cold water in the fridge, the little touches like that make a difference. They gave us beach towels and board games and a map of Byron...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shakiwi
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and I'll pass your thoughts onto our team. Tis always good seeing our guests enjoying our facilities and Byron's great beaches and dining options. Our team consists of long term locals that can keep you very informed on where to dine and places, tours for you to see. Hope to see you guys again soon....

sydney
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

My friend and I had the pleasant stay here recently and couldn't of asked for better, the upgrade was wonderful , the easy walk to the beach was glorious and the rooms were clean, fresh and airy and very quiet even though the motel is on a main road I had a room on the front but slept like a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharalea
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Hi Sharalea Appreciate the great review and I'll pass your kind words onto our team. Very heartening to hear your enjoyed your stay and our facilities. Hope to see you again when you next visit Byron. Thanks Craig

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Prime location, friendly staff, clean and big rooms! This motel had everything we were looking for and more!! The private access to the beach was very valuable. The short distance (a few minutes walking) to town was also great! Perfectly happy with our stay 🖒🖒

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2ntravellers
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Hi Guys, appreciate the great review. Very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks Craig

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 December 2016

An excellent base for your Byron Bay experience. A great little pool and superb private access to the beach and town. The family room was of average size and facilities, but I would stay again for the prime location factor.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith B
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Hi Keith Glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and utilised our great location in the Bay. Hope to see you again. Thanks Craig

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

A nice comfortable motel in central Byron Bay. Close to shops and restaurants. Nice big room with a good size bathroom. Loved having a ceiling fan so didn't need to use the air conditioning. Would certainly recommend this motel and stay here again if returning to Byron Bay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rainybeech
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Hi Rainybeech Appreciate your review and glad to see you enjoyed our venue. We have a great location in The Bay and hope to see you guys again soon. Thanks Craig

Framingham Earl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

A larger than average room, with basic kitchenette. A private footpath to the lovely beach, 5 minute walk to shops restaurants and cafes. Plenty of car parking and small swimming pool. Bonus was a laundry room with washers dryers and a linen line. Would have benefited for an iron and ironing board in each room, as no one wants to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelley2421963
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Hi Shelley Thanks for the great review, happy you enjoyed our venue and its facilities. All our family rooms have irons and boards and we also have a supply at reception that can be taken to your rooms. Apologise for any mix up regarding this. Glad you were impressed with Byron and our beaches, hope to see you again. Thanks...

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 km away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
236 reviews
0.5 km away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
181 reviews
0.4 km away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#27 of 32 in Byron Bay
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.6 km away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
296 reviews
0.9 km away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Wollongbar Motel

Address: 19 - 21 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Price Range: $145 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wollongbar Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wollongbar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wollongbar Hotel Byron Bay
Wollongbar Motel Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wollongbar Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back.”
Tourist014, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from Shirley Street”
314graemer, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ground floor to the rear is good”
Gigglehat, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
651dougw, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for downstairs if you have kids or mobility issues.”
LorraineK149, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5