We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grand Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grand Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 221: English reviews
Start your review of The Grand Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are fortunate to have chosen another motel to stay after 5 min at your counter and your rude responses. I do believe you need to work on your attitiudes. As our second couple was leaving the check out lady was constantly asking them if they stayed the night we booked a 2 bedroom, and for her to have the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick2134
TheGrandMotel, Manager at The Grand Motel, responded to this review

Hi Rick, Even though the room was a twin room the price you paid and booked for was for 2 people. When 5 people arrived I asked 'once' who was staying in the room. I was told the lady with the child and her husband. Management has a legal obligation to know how many people are occupying the room in...

Echuca, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our company booked this Accomodation ofr our Business trip to Griffith. The room is very modium with great big ceilings and a big bathroom. Its a bit strange to have a room without any windows,"very strange". The motel is close to all things in town but the only issue i found this some of the globes in the bed side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stumpie8
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment you enter the foyer,you feel comfortable,you are greeted by warm friendly helpful staff that make you feel like you have stayed there many times before. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the fittings and fixtures are of high quality,the bed is one of the most comfortable ones that I have ever had at a motel,the linen was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis N
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

The hosts are lovely people, friendly and welcoming. The room is modern and spacious with a comfy bed. Clean, functional bathroom. Secure parking. Fairly central location. BUT...The room had no windows! Other than a skylight in the ceiling, obscured by louvres. It felt claustrophobic. I was here just one night so I tolerated it, but probably won't go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterF_Syd
Reviewed 1 February 2017

I have been a guest at the Grand for about 2 years, and unfortunately they have dropped the ball. It all started with the change of ownership in the second half of 2016, and since then there have been at least 5 different management couples running the place. The real demise came about when the Quest opened - Now all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SayAnythingNice
TheGrandMotel, Owner at The Grand Motel, responded to this review

Hi SayAnythingNice, I am sorry that I don't know your real name, I hope you don't mind if I just called you "SayAnythingNice". Thanks for taking your time for the review. I am really sorry that you did not satisfy with your recent stay at The Grand. Yes, it was our mistake that we did not turn on the air...

Wodonga, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We booked through wotif which was easy and chose to pay on arrival to the motel which was very convienient. We were only staying overnight and booked a two bedroom apartment (might be called queen?). We arrived on check in and from the minute we walked in we could not fault the place. The lady at reception was extremely helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elisabeth_McGuire
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

late booking but staff very helpful and as we have stayed before knew the property is a very good one and had a wheelchair room without windows but the skylight was sufficient and the room one we have not stayed in before but very comfortable and clean walk to shops with undercover security car park Griffith is a wonderful town...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lydia P
Canberra
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We are a family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids under 12) who stayed in a deluxe room. The room is great for a short stay - it has a fridge and kitchen (microwave, toaster, sink), a separate bedroom and balcony. In the centre of town, close to 'The Vic'' pub and one of the best playgrounds we have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janelle1971
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Whilst the location, room quality and bedding was of a good standard the room was completely devoid of any windows other than for a ceiling window which was obscured by shading blinds. Would not stay in this place again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod O
TheGrandMotel, General Manager at The Grand Motel, responded to this review

Hi Rod, Thanks for your review. I am sorry that we cannot meet your satisfaction during your stay at The Grand. We fully understand your concern about the non-window issue, this is a special feature of the original design of the building which we cannot change. However, the skylight window is opened at all time so there is always fresh...

Bairnsdale, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

I booked this motel very last minute (an hr or so before) on booking.com. When we arrived the gentleman at reception was welcoming, upon paying (by eftpos) he said that we had been charged $10 to much by booking.com and reduced the amount by this much. Car parking is secure under the motel and is accessed by key, there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juza_13

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Griffith hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 10 in Griffith
62 reviews
1.0 km away
Acacia Motel
Acacia Motel
#2 of 10 in Griffith
77 reviews
1.1 km away
Econo Lodge Griffith Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Citrus Motel
Citrus Motel
#7 of 10 in Griffith
29 reviews
1.6 km away
Coro Club Motel
Coro Club Motel
#9 of 10 in Griffith
21 reviews
1.5 km away
A Line Motel
A Line Motel
#8 of 10 in Griffith
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Motel is one of Griffith's leading 4 star motels, which is under a new management since Aug 2016. The Grand is a popular choice for travellers and business guests alike with its quiet main street location. Guests can enjoy free access to the motel's spa-pool, sauna, gym, and guest laundry. Secure undercover parking is also available with lift access to reception, parking, and accommodation levels. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, toasters, Foxtel channels, a hairdryer, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Free Wifi and unlimited broadband internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grand Motel

Address: 454 Banna Ave, Griffith, New South Wales 2680, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Griffith
Price Range: $115 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grand Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Grand Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“wheel chair rooms spacious and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles lydiap784, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with windows”
 of 5 bubbles rodo457, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Family rooms have a balcony and big windows. My sister in law had a spa and we only had a shower, so request a bath if you need one.”
 of 5 bubbles usrileys, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the main street(Banna St) would be a welcome sight upon waking up in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles 277patr, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2 room deluxe suit is more like an apartment heaps of space very high ceilings split level entry spa 2 bedrooms with TV.s”
 of 5 bubbles michaeldolce, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5