We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Santai Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Santai Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 401: English reviews
Caloundra
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had trouble finding this resort, as on some sites, in said "Santai Retreat", and another said Santai Resort. As we aren't from this area, we were unfamiliar with it, so we drove into Kingscliff - But it's located much further down the highway. Took us quite some time to find it. I have to say it was worth it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bev W
Carl T, General Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Bev W, I am delighted to read your review, especially mentioning our staff to be friendly. I apologise however with the confusion of the name, to confirm it is Santai Retreat and we are working hard to realign this with our shared partners to ensure consistency is achieved. I am delighted you enjoyed the new bedding which has only...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful, peaceful resort with great amenities. The rooms are a perfect size for a couple on holiday and include everything you could need to make a perfect holiday. It's also a great bonus that a fantastic restaurant is onsite

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
Carl T, General Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Christine G, Greetings from Santai! Thank you for your brief overview of your recent stay, we appreciate the feedback. I do agree that our rooms provide an ample amount of space to relax and offer great facilities to our guests. Thank you for labelling us a "Beautiful Resort" we appreciate such great comments. Kind Regards Carl Taranto General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked our stay at this amazing Bali inspired hotel via TripAdvisor and are so happy we did! Looking at bringing the kids back in a few months time! Customer service - Excellent Clean and tidy, the entire hotel is built around the gorgeous pool AND you can't go past the Spice Den located in the lobby! The most amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyAnthea
Carl T, General Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear AndyAnthea, Thank you for the "Stunning" review of our retreat, it was a pleasure to host you. We take great pride of our retreat and I am delighted that your Spice Den experience met your expectations also. Look forward to having you back in a few months time. Warm Regards Carl Taranto General Manager

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Beautiful place to relax however would seem that during school holidays the pool turns into a waterpark, and far less a retreat experience. To maintain a relaxing environment I would recommend the pool be supervised by Santai staff to encourage the "retreat" environment otherwise this beautiful place will loose its unique qualities and just become yet another holiday resort.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MClaire77
Carl T, General Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear MCalire77, Thank you for taking the time to leave your brief review. We truly appreciate the comments you made and I am sorry to learn that your expectations were not met during this recent visit. The Christmas/New Year school holiday period is bar far the busiest time of year for us, so I apologise that you stay may not...

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Our stay was at Santai Retreat was wonderful. Excellent, friendly staff, clean and tidy rooms with a very comfortable bed. great pool and great Thai restaurant. Great location to beaches, within half an hour to the gold coast. Will be back to stay again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W4436XEwaynec
Carl T, General Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear W4436XEwaynec, Greetings from Santai Retreat! thank you for leaving such a great review. We are delighted to learn that your stay at Santai was relaxing and you enjoyed all of the wonderful facilities the retreat has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back and please keep an eye out on our special offers page for more great...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Stayed at Santai over the christmas break. Very relaxing away from the crowds. Chose a room on the top floor overlooking the ocean. Onsite restaurant is great for people who like a little spice or bite to their food.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
Carl T, General Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear RayD, It was our pleasure to host you over Christmas RayD. I do agree that Santai is the ultimate place to relax, recharge and rejuvenate. I will certainly pass on your positive comments to the Spice Den team. Look forward to seeing you again at Santai. Warm Regards Carl Taranto General Manager

Brisbane
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We had a quick 3 night stay with another couple. Both had king rooms overlooking the pool. Although I didn't mind the stairs my partner struggled a little but was definitely worth it when walking into the room. The restaurant was awesome for our last meal for 2016.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suemick2017
Carl T, General Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear suemick2017, Thank you suemick2017 for the great feedback. I am really pleased you enjoyed your accommodation and do agree they provide such a wow factor. The Spice Den is a great place to enjoy New Years Eve and I am glad this met your expectations. Warm Regards Carl Taranto General Manager

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2017

One of the best short stays ever had. Only two nights but came away feeling very relaxed and refreshed to get back into a bust working life. Definitely will stay again but not for two nights but much longer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank glenc991
Carl T, General Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Glenc991, Thanks for the brief positive feedback Glenc991. I am delighted that you had a Santai stay and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay on your next visit. Warm Regards Carl Taranto General Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 10 January 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay, the pool, the beach, the walks and bike rides it was a great place to be away from the hype of the gold coast. The only downside being the bed, the bed was terrible, we have three sleepless nights to point where I was sleeping on the couch, After much unrest we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
Carl T, General Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Chris L, Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you were able to achieve this after the bedding not meeting your expectations. In 2016 the retreat replaced 90% of its bedding inventory and has now since your stay completed the remainder. I apologise this caused such an inconvenience to your...

Sydney
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Had a great time at Santai with my husband and 16 month old. The resort wasnt too busy over the xmas period and had a great location. We walked to the beach in the mornings, used the pool in the afternoons and had a lovely evening walk along the path to Salt village in the evenings. Perfect!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank swilli_115131
Carl T, General Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear swilli_115131, Thank you for sharing your recent Santai experience, it is great to read that you felt the retreat was not that busy even when we were at full occupancy over that period. Our retreat can certainly provide a tranquil family get-away and I am so glad this was able to be achieved for you. I do agree that...

448 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (100)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Balinese Garden Pool (5)
Viewed
Grand Pool & Jacuzzi (18)
Viewed
Luxury King Studio Apartment (43)
Viewed
Luxury King Studio Apartment Pool Access (33)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Luxury Apartment (42)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Luxury Deluxe Suite (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscliff
14.8 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
380 reviews
4.0 km away
Halcyon House
Halcyon House
#1 of 4 in Cabarita Beach
118 reviews
36.9 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
1.9 km away
Mantra on Salt Beach
Mantra on Salt Beach
#3 of 5 in Kingscliff
2,056 reviews
4.2 km away
The Beach Resort
The Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Cabarita Beach
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Santai Retreat

Address: 9 Dianella Dr, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Price Range: $146 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Santai Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Santai Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santai At Casuarina Beach Hotel Kingscliff
Santai At Casuarina Beach Kingscliff
Santai Retreat Kingscliff, New South Wales
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingscliff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Santai Retreat staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Santai Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms by the main pool may get some noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 508anthonyc, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Third floor overlooking the pools, reasonably quiet but still a part of the vibe.”
 of 5 bubbles alland377, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room didn't have a pool view but faced south to trees and grassy fields. It was way more private and quiet than the pool access rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles cherylc990, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you like peace and quiet the southern end of complex is the best.”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a garden view room which we found perfect :) ”
 of 5 bubbles ftb13, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5