We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bali at the Bay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Bali at the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

I've stayed in Seminyak before and can't believe there is something this close to my Seminyak accommodation only 3 hours from Sydney! The artefacts and house itself were gorgeous, so close to beach, quiet, romantic, loved the double spa and the hammock...my boyfriend proposed, very special, ordered a seafood platter, grant and Jenni great hosts very helpful etc. I am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessiebee91
Grant and Jenni E, Owner at Bali at the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you Jessie for taking the time to review Bali at the Bay. We're so glad you enjoyed the beauty of Bali at the Bay and most importantly that it was the scene for your boyfriend's proposal. We've hosted quite a few weddings over the years so maybe you might want to follow suit? :-) Thank you for appreciating all...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 April 2016

The accommodation itself was fine but No attention to detail, using inferior products or No products where expected given the Marketing positioning & website description … So for me it “Over promised and under delivered”. The lovely balcony was not used at all due to the wasp infestation; in fact we couldn’t even open the doors fear of being stung....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank faycipollonefc
Grant and Jenni E, Owner at Bali at the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Faye- it is surprising to receive such a polar opposite opinion to most of our guests. Bali at the Bay is a self-catering apartment and not a hotel. As such we go above and beyond the standard inclusions of Lipton tea, Nescafe coffee, sugar and UHT milk found in self-contained apartments across the country. We...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We stayed here recently on a Friday/Saturday night in the upstairs apartment. The decor of the place is very authentic and a lot of effort has gone into designing the place. The gardens are also lovely and have had a lot of attention. However there are some major flaws to this property if you value privacy. There is a very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bellskiblue
Grant and Jenni E, Owner at Bali at the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Leian & David, Thank you for your comments re: our authentic artifacts, lovely gardens, decor and attention to detail. We usually receive 4.5 or 5 star ratings from our guests. We do also appreciate any constructive feedback and comments that will help us improve our service. Unfortunately being on a corner opposite a bush reserve we can not control...

Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

We were looking for an early stop north of Sydney to wind down Bali at the Bay proved to be the perfect spot. The web site descriptions matched our experience, a well cared for tranquil oasis. Everything worked, the quality of the unit and fittings was high, the champagne provided was good. The beach, only a brief 5 minute walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
Grant and Jenni E, Owner at Bali at the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you Glenn, Always a pleasure to accomodate our international friends especially those that may never have been to Bali. We think it is the perfect spot to live also and have made Port Stephens our home. Glad to have a 'cup half full' couple because if you can't find the beauty and enjoy the attention to detail at our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 February 2016

What a beautiful apartment . Attention to detail is amazing . We stayed in the Nirwana apartment which is upstairs and when we opened the door for the first time we were overwhelmed . Great location , two minutes walk to Shoal Bay beach , ten minutes to Shoal Bay central . The manager , Grant is a lovely ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markandjulie2016
Grant and Jenni E, Owner at Bali at the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you Mark & Julie for your kind words. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay- we pride ourselves on creating a romantic haven for couples to escape the hustle and bustle of life for a few days. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2016

On a positive note - Downstairs - Shinto Apt - Very clean and cosy with a spa bath in the bathroom. True Balinese styled apt where Jenni and Grant had shown a lot of "Attention to detail". When we met our hosts they were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. On the downside we had a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnandTrish_10
Grant and Jenni E, Owner at Bali at the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Trish and John, Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and am very glad that even though it rained for days you found your stay 'cosy'. The downstairs Shinto apartment is my favorite. Jenni and I don't always do the cleans so sometimes 'crumbs' fall through the cracks when you are relying on...

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the upstairs apartment. The apartment is nicely decorated, very clean and quite cosy. Plenty of hot water for the double spa bath. Looks out onto a beautiful part of forest with some ocean glimpses. Close enough to walk to some nice eating places in Shoal Bay or Nelson Bay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie E
Grant and Jenni E, Owner at Bali at the Bay, responded to this review

Thanks so much Kerrie for your kind words. It is a wonderful location and we pride ourselves on our 'attention to detail'. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and soaked up some of the romantic atmosphere that Bali At The Bay is renowned for ! Hope to see you again sometime. Grant and Jenni.

Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here(Nirwana Apartment)upper level for our Wedding Anniversary. From the moment we arrived and met Grant we were impressed. Lovely gentleman who even offered us late checkout.Upon entering the apartment we were greeted with lovely Balinese music,incense and candles. Champagne,strawberries and a cheese platter were provided including breakfast for the next morning . Intricate detailing in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kezza1023
Grant and Sharn... E, Owner at Bali at the Bay, responded to this review

Thank You kind friends for your wonderful appraisal. We are presently upgrading the downstairs 'Shinto Apartment' with the green stone bathroom floor, new stone kitchen bench, new updated Bose music system and Foxtel for movies. It just adds to the all weather gas B-B-Q, mexican hammock and polished concrete floor with Paua shell. Please come back and try downstairs soon....

Reviewed 15 November 2014 via mobile

Villa is within a new estate and fenced off from other surrounding houses. Very safe area and villa is nice and parking is great. however all house utensils had to be re-washed and the floor didn't look like it had been cleaned besides the cleanliness not bad for the price we paid. Also wouldn't be good place to stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank aussiechickaa
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Great venue for a couple. Such a lovely fit out - the Balinese theme really is tastefully done. It's one of the best places in NSW we've stayed in. Essentially it's the last house in the street so overlooking a beautiful park and only moments from the beach. When we were there it was a rainy weekend but it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Flaireesque

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.5 km away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
74 reviews
1.9 km away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
484 reviews
2.1 km away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
496 reviews
5.4 km away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay
2.0 km away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Bali at the Bay

Address: 1 Achilles St | PO Box 148, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Price Range: $252 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bali at the Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Bali at the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali At The Bay Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bali at the Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're looking for a Luxury resort type accommodation; you wont find it here.”
 of 5 bubbles faycipollonefc, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The upper floor apartment is perfect for seclusion and balcony breakfasts; the ground floor is what you'd want if in BBQ and party mode! Both levels exude Bali, and are superb.”
 of 5 bubbles RichardandJan, 31 Oct 2012 | Read review
“Upstairs for seclusion, downstairs if you fancy an outdoor barbie!”
 of 5 bubbles ManWithSillyHat, 2 May 2012 | Read review
“enjoy more value and experience with the lower apartment Shinto”
 of 5 bubbles Carla6789, 23 Oct 2011 | Read review
“This place is something different!”
 of 5 bubbles ninawheeler, 25 Apr 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay