We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ski Rider Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ski Rider Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 184: English reviews
Wyee, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

We were there towards the end September. Food is inclusive in the price and is excellent at the grill. Foam mattress is a bit much on the back though and the walls seem paper thin with the amount that you can hear in the next room. Staff are excellent and very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandon T
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We booked for 3 nights stay , 2 adults , 2 kids , skiing 3 days at Perisher . The cost for accom, breakfast , dinner, all gear and clothing hire , shuttles to and from ski fields for 3 nights was cheaper than the 3 days lift tickets , great , great value!!!! All the staff were friendly ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen Y
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thanks for choosing Ski Rider to stay on your family snow holiday. It is pleasing to hear that you felt Ski Rider was great value. We do endeavour to make your snow holiday reasonably priced and offer specials to keep costs down. Perhaps you took advantage of one or even more of our specials to allow you to...

Lennox Head, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We booked at Ski Rider because it was affordable. This was a trip with some work colleagues, so it was a place to stay and for the price, we weren't expecting a 5 star resort. Ski Rider doesn't try to be a 5 star resort, but it does have 5 star service! Often when something is cheap you get what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yonika M
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Yonika, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. You have outlined in a few words exactly why many people enjoy Ski Rider so much and choose to come back to us year after year. It is lovely to hear that our staff gave you 5 star service with a smile. We have had numerous...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The first time I stayed at Ski Rider was 1997, almost 20 years ago and have stayed there 3 or 4 times over the years. I stayed there just recently and nothing has changed since our first stay. The rooms have the same bedspreads, the mattress is a lump of foam on a wooden base, the rooms have no fridge,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gazza255100
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gazza, Over the past 20 years you have stayed at Ski Rider, in the last 10 years alone, there have been many changes including a complete re-build and refurbishment of Guppies Bar & The Avalanche Bar as well as public amenities. All tables & chairs have been replaced and booths in the dining room, have been re-upholstered. We also...

Grafton
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We stayed at ski rider for 5 days with a family of four. Rooms are very basic but comfortable. We had breakfast and 3 course dinner included and the food was fantastic. We wish we had tried the grill option one night because it also looked delicious. We also hired all our gear through ski rider and they were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saminda E
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Saminda, Thank you - what a helpful review. We realise that travelling with children can be tricky and every bit of advice will assist families to plan their holiday. A laptop with movies is an excellent idea to entertain the kids or just give them some quiet time back in your room. You may not have been aware, however...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2016

This hotel has the perfect position to satisfy people wanting to stay close to the snow but boy it was such a disappointment for us . On the day of our arrival of course we started to unpack the car and get our gear into the room . We were given room 69 ( sounds good but NO) My partner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sprite65
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review

I can certainly understand your frustration that you and your partner were not able to enjoy your snow holiday as you were unable to ski. It is disappointing, however, that you write this review. I am aware that my staff offered assistance when you reported your partner's accident. We take in-house incidents resulting in injury very seriously. Your partners’ refusal...

Port Elliot
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Have stayed here on an annual basis several times. The rooms though basic (no tv or fridge) are clean and comfortable Meals are good particularly the cook your own grill in Guppies Bar in the evening - salads are always amazing and plenty of meat to cater for the carnivores Staff are exceptionally friendly and keen to help

 Report
Helpful?
Thank llsaPortElliot
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, Thanks for choosing Ski Rider for your annual snow accommodation. The quality of our meals & lovely staff do tend to be a draw-card for return guests. We will pass your comments on to our chef & the rest of the team.

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2016

5 Rooms for 20 family members. Basic rooms but good enough for all of us and all our gear. Stands inside for skis and snowboards. Plenty of hot water in small bathroom. Room was very warm so adjusted temperature. Comfortable beds and tea and coffee supplied. Ate at grill first night lovely meal very full room though. Dining room for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarinnJack
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karinn, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Your group of 20 clearly enjoyed themselves at Ski Rider. In relation to changes to ski hire within 7 days - there is always an exception to the rule. I apologise that this exception was not applied to your injured group member. We look forward to seeing you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Second time at Ski Rider and already planning our next year trip. Although our room had basic facilities, it was clean and provided us with everything we needed after a long day at the slopes. All meals were tasty, plentiful and fresh. Staff was courteous, attentive and polite. Shuttle bus services were very convenient and always on time. Each night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elvira777
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Elvira, No doubt we will see you again. Thank you for your review.

Gold Coast Hinterland, Australia
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We have stayed for years here staff always friendly and helpful, food great rooms clean.Suits us.We'll be back.Good to have a shower on the last day before you drive off as well. was a little bit noisy this year as neighbours with young excited kids were up early .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aca68945
Roxanne D, Manager at Ski Rider Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that the kids in the neighbouring room were over excited. We do try to put family rooms with young children together in one area for this very reason. It is wonderful to hear that all other aspects of your stay were perfect and we look forward to seeing you again.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
12.6 km away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
86 reviews
12.3 km away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
66 reviews
12.1 km away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
170 reviews
12.2 km away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
69 reviews
7.6 km away
Sponars Chalet
Sponars Chalet
#12 of 22 in Kosciuszko National Park
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 11kms from Perisher. Free parking and Free guest shuttle to lifts. Stay close to the snow without paying on-snow prices. Delicious meals, warm comfortable rooms, Free entertainment & onsite hire. Luggage holding facilities and change rooms with hot showers available for before check in or after check out. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ski Rider Hotel

Address: Kosciuszko Road | Wilsons Valley, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Price Range: $303 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ski Rider Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ski Rider Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ski Rider Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ski Rider Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in block 90-99 and had a possum come visit each night, kids loved it.”
 of 5 bubbles samindae, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No room is better than the other.”
 of 5 bubbles 432regv, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are pleasant to stay in.”
 of 5 bubbles stanjanski, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Fridge would be handy”
 of 5 bubbles AusCindy, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“# 74 has of generator in front of room which was noisy. My door got lashed with snow, and carpet was wet.”
 of 5 bubbles joannelee2016, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay