We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wild Edge Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wild Edge Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wild Edge Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Newcastle
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I chose this beautiful place to spend my 50th with my very romantic husband. We only had two nights at Wild Edge Retreat but it was superb. We had perfect weather. We were able to sit out on the deck of the Nature's Mist pavilion till late and lazily work our way through our cheese platter, sipping delicious Hunter Valley...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Karen H, Thank you for your choosing to celebrate your 50th Birthday with us and for taking the time to post such a great review!. We do try hard to present the Pavilions and the property as well as we can for our guests, so it is very much appreciated when guests recognise this. Glad we could help out...

Jewells
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

We booked for our 10year Wedding Anniversary to try something different. The quality and attention to detail was amazing. This accommodation totally exceeded our expectations in every way! We will without a doubt be going back. Everything was perfect! Andrew you were such a pleasure. Such a quiet and secluded location.. Just breathtaking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Daniel H, Many thanks for submitting such a great review of Wild Edge. It was very pleasing to read that we had exceeded your expectations. Something we hope we can do for all guests. Like you, we agree that our unique location is 'just breathtaking'. The perfect escape for a romantic escape in busy lives, and we look forward...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

My husband and I came to Wild Edge for 2 nights after our wedding to relax and reflect on the busy week we had. I had always dreamt of visiting Wild Edge and finally found the perfect reason to visit. Alan and Andrew are the perfect hosts, so warm, welcoming and friendly, and we loved meeting Ruby. We arrived off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyLife001
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Happylife001, Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review. It was great to have read how much you had enjoyed your stay and we are pleased to have been a part of your wedding memories. It's always good to read when guests enjoy this special place as much as we do and we are finding...

Reviewed 4 April 2016

Opening the door to Whispering Pines Pavilion - queue beautiful, relaxing music and candle light. My breath was taken away. We spent four nights in this luxurious retreat. The view is spectacular, the accommodation is luxurious and spotless, everything has been taken care of with such care and heart. Thoughtful hot cross buns and Easter eggs had been left for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantel L
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Chantel, Many thanks for posting such a great review (always nice to get positive feed back). Like all four of our Pavilions, Whispering Forest has some great features, least of which is the wonderful view! As you arrived after dark, it must have made quite an impact in the morning. Pleased also, that you enjoyed the Easter treats and...

Dee Why, Australia
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

Me and my fiancé visited Wild Edge Couple Retreat last weekend and it was a surprise for me from the beginning! I must admit that I have never ever stayed in a more beautiful and more special place. It was literally a heaven on earth. So piece full,so private. We stayed in the Earth Song villa that is located on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dita K
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Dita K, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us last weekend. Very pleased to read how much you had enjoyed your stay, the peaceful location and our magnificent views- all topped off by the surprise engagement - congratulations! We look forward to welcoming you both back before too long! Very best wishes and regards, Alan

Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

My husband & I stayed in Natures Mist Pavilion in March 2016 for two nights. This is probably the most impeccably appointed accommodation we have ever stayed in. The decor is beautiful and it's spotlessly clean, not even a trace of past careless guests which is often seen in most luxury accommodation. The hosts have thought of every detail you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenSarso
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear JenSarso, Thank you for your review of Wild Edge, and for choosing to stay with us. I was pleased to read how much you had enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated how hard work to present our Pavilions in a pristine condition for our guests (often difficult given our location and battling with the elements!). Maybe we will...

SYDNEY
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Our luggage was loaded aboard a golf buggy and we were then driven a short distance to our luxurious pavilion. Upon entering the pavilion, we were warmly welcomed to the prearranged candles which spread throughout the entire clean, romantic and warmly designed pavilion. We had a warm and inviting welcome from our host. Alan showed us the complimentary breakfast which...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SOPRANOSydney
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Robert and Roberta, Thank you so much for submitting such a great and detailed review of your experience at Wild Edge, and thank you also for helping us reach the milestone of 100 reviews! It is always good to read that guests enjoy visiting Wild Edge as much as we enjoy living here and sharing this special place with...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Stayed here about five years ago in Wind Spirit and was thoroughly impressed by the location and quality furnishings and amazing infinity pool. My partner and I stayed in Natures Mist this time and were just as impressed if not more so! The location and atmosphere are amazing - totally private and relaxing. Andrew one of the hosts is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lifestylechoice
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Lifestylechoice, It was great to welcome you back to Wild Edge, but hard to believe it was 2011 since you were last here, time certainly does fly! Very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay in Nature's Mist. The private pools are certainly an added bonus at this time of year and a great way to start...

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2016

It is a long drive up the unsealed track from Wollemi, but from the moment we arrived at the gates of wild edge retreat we felt at ease. The welcome from hosts Alan and Andrew was warm and genuine but never intrusive, and throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble. The 4 pavilions are cleverly sited, two on each...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulyj60
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Paulyj60 Many thanks for your review of Wild Edge. It was great to meet you both and really pleasing to read how much you had enjoyed your stay and the facilities provided. I think the drive up the mountain to the Retreat is all part of the Wild Edge escape and adds to the feeling of seclusion and surprise...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2016

My partner and I recently spent a weekend at Wild Edge. Whilst the weather was bleak, Wild Edge was totally the opposite. Our accomodation was superb with amazing attention to detail. On our first day we were able to enjoy the magnificent views, and although the weather changed for the worst on the second day, our hosts Alan and Andrew...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Robert M Many thanks for posting your review. It was lovely to welcome you both back to the Retreat and to hear about your travels since you were last here. We certainly experienced some 'crazy' weather changes during your stay and received more rain after you had left, but I am pleased to report that the lovely Summer weather...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
29.4 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
823 reviews
19.8 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
13.6 km away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
3.7 km away
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
#2 of 4 in Wollombi
55 reviews
13.8 km away
Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat
Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat
#1 of 1 in Mount View
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wild Edge retreat is a 'Couples Only' Retreat. Positioned within our 100 acre property on a Mountain Ridgeline and comprising of four luxury Spa Pavilions, each with it's own breathtaking view of the valleys and mountains beyond.Surrounded on three sides by State Forest, Wild Edge offers guests peace and tranquility with the benefits of modern luxury accommodation. Two of our Pavilions have their own private plunge pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wild Edge Retreat

Address: 260 Craft Road, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wild Edge Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only an electric barbecue is offered unfortunately but believe this may be due to the location and potential fire restrictions”
 of 5 bubbles paulmL825IC, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Wind song had beautiful views and private infinity pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 554kathrynm, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No bad Pavilions at Wild Edge, consider a room with a pool if staying in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles paullZ7306UO, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Nature's Mist has a lovely view of the valley.”
 of 5 bubbles KarenH219, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Wind Spirit Pavilion out standing worth the extra money, furthest one on the sight.”
 of 5 bubbles SOPRANOSydney, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5