We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages

Save
Share
2439 Old Philadelphia Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-3401
Lowest prices for your stay
US$80
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
US$80
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Hotels.comUS$80
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (85)
Room & Suite (55)
View from Room (7)

About

#3 of 6 Specialty lodging in Lancaster
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Vending machine
Kids stay free
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English
185Reviews14Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 99
  • 57
  • 10
  • 10
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rosebud103 wrote a review Nov 2022
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania5 contributions
I do not recommend! The cottages look super adorable from the outside. If managed and taken care of properly it would be really awesome. Location is perfect! Check-in & Check-out was all by phone. So much for good old fashion hospitality. We didn’t see anyone around. A little creepy actually. The bathroom had mold by the tub, the toilet was dirty, the sink was old and dirty, and the towels didn’t look very clean. Needless to say I did not shower during my stay. The microwave didn’t work and there was no tv in the room. I brought tea to heat up and I couldn’t even use the microwave. Thank goodness for Netflix on my phone as it was super quiet with no TV to watch. On a positive note, the bed was comfortable. The property has so much potential but it’s not being properly taken care of.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Kumar, Guest Services / Front Office at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We have noted down your raised concern & we shall certainly look to improve the same. We are glad you have chosen us for your stay and sorry that the stay was not up to your expectation. Please do provide us an opportunity to host you again to provide a better experience. Team Spruce Lane Lodge and Cottages
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol C wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Unfortunately this was our 3rd and last stay at the Spruce Lane Lodge and cottages. It started with the check in process. It was very impersonal and hard to understand the person on the phone from who knows where! Once we entered the room my husband noticed that one of the windows in the room had no screen or even a lock. The window sill was completely rotted out. The shades were held together with binder clips. There is a big crack in the window that sets high near the ceiling. The light in the bathroom had a burnt out bulb so only the heat lamp bulb worked. The little coffee maker was broken. I called about these issues, but nothing got resolved. Not even a new light bulb in the bathroom. The corners in the room were not clean. Don’t know when the rug was vacuumed. The mattress cover was completely covered with worn polyester so that you could feel all the bumps and clumps through to the fitted sheet. The outside light by our room was also burnt out. It’s obvious that management needs to pay more attention to the maintenance of this property. It’s just not acceptable. We feel like we wasted our money for the 5 days we stayed there. Our advice don’t waste your money staying at this place, because under the current management it looks like there in it just for the money! This was so disappointing!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Kumar, Guest Services / Front Office at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We have noted down your raised concern & we shall certainly look to improve the same. We are glad you have chosen us for your stay and sorry that the stay was not up to your expectation. Please do provide us an opportunity to host you again to provide a better experience. Team Spruce Lane Lodge and Cottages
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tee M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Please don't stay here , ants everywhere , dirt and dust on baseboards, food under beds , ceiling fans are black from dust , cob webs in corners of walls ......Please don't waste your money.... Has very much potential but owner and staff don't care .......... think I'm lying go stay there and you'll see for yourself and don't say you haven't been warned......
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Kumar, Guest Services / Front Office at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Responded 12 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Everything was fine when you checked in however by evening ants crawled inside your room from the window. We would like to inform you that in your room we did find oreo biscuits implanted in the AC vents, which attracted the ants. However, as a gesture, we have refunded your full booking amount. Your stay was fully complimentary. We thrive to provide good service & attempt to guests' needs on priority. We hope you will provide us with an opportunity to host you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kent Haberern wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Don't be decieved by former management stars. Please be aware this is no longer the slice of heaven it once was. We had been visiting this place as an anniversary getaway for years. Long story short, due to bad management, it has become a bowel movement from the underworld. If you get beyond language barriers over a phone call, good luck on even getting a room, even after booking 2 months in advance. If you end.up getting a room, bring cleaning supplies and bug spray!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Kumar, Guest Services / Front Office at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Responded 12 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We will certainly address the issues pointed out by you and ensure we provide you with a much better stay experience the next time. Please allow us another opportunity to host you. Kind Regards, Team Spruce
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Doug A wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I have stayed here a few times in the past and needed accommodations in Lancaster again and I didn't look anywhere else than here. This time I had my elderly mom with me, who has some mobility issues, and the room was very spacious and there were no problems getting a wheel chair maneuvered around the room, nor any problems with mom using the walker in the room. The setting is great, very quiet aside from the occasional private airplane from the small airport right behind the property, but that was only during the day. The room was clean and there were enough linens on hand so we didn't need anything for our two-day stay. About the only complaint would be that the sink drain did not close completely so the basin could not be filled with water, and the toilet paper holder is behind the door when it is open. Normally not a problem for most folks, but with mom and the walker etc. closing the door wasn't happening which made the TP hard to get to. I am definitely keeping this place as my first choice for staying in the Lancaster area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The cottages provide a nice, private stay.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jay D, Guest Services / Front Office at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Dear Richard, Thank you for sharing such positive feedback with us. We are glad to hear about your comfortable stay with us and that you liked the property a lot. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards, Team Spruce
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gloria M wrote a review Jun 2022
20 contributions8 helpful votes
Sad to see this lovely property overgrown and in decay. After annual visits over 20+ years, I will not return. Faceless check-in was a nightmare. Five calls to the ‘off-site’ Office were hung up on after 8 rings. Four other visitors showed up as I was giving up and leaving. Luckily, one was finally able to get a response from an Indian woman who talked a lot and didn’t listen to what we were saying. Eventually we all did get in to our cabins through that one call. The Lodge is locked, so there’s no longer a kitchenette available. Paint on the buildings is peeling. Windows are cracked. The grounds and gardens are eerily overgrown. The porchlights on the cabins don’t come on at night anymore. The contact number left in case of emergency was the same one that didn’t work at check-in. The place felt creepy and abandoned. Looks like someone is trying to cash in by running the place remotely and as cheaply as possible. Next year, I will be choosing from one of the numerous warm and welcoming hospitable family-run lodges in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Cabins are better than staying in the Lodge (former chicken coop) where the walls are paper thin.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jay D, Guest Services / Front Office at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had with us and the inconvenience caused during your stay. We will certainly address the issues pointed out by you and ensure we provide you with a much better stay experience the next time. Please allow us another opportunity to host you. Kind Regards, Team Spruce
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Todd A wrote a review May 2022
6 contributions
+1
We have stayed many times however this will be our last. They have let this place go toilet seat fell off. When called in we were told they would call right back THEY LIED NEVER CALLED ME BACK. I explained it's a safety issue the women answering calls talks over you is very rude and just doesn't care. The grounds have been let go grass needs cut trees need cut back There are to many other options in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jay D, Guest Services / Front Office at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had with us and the inconvenience caused during your stay. We will certainly address the issues pointed out by you and ensure we provide you with a much better stay experience the next time. Please allow us another opportunity to host you. Kind Regards, Team Spruce
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ml Y wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
I would not recommend. We tried to book directly with the property, but they would not answer the phone. Then we saw you could book through Expedia, so we did. The property sent a confirmation email saying we could cancel up to one day before. They also claimed their phones are staffed 24/7. Then we were exposed to someone with covid a few days before the trip and asked to quarantine. Rather than spread covid to them and their employees, I made several attempts to contact them and finally got someone (this was several days before checkin). I explained the situation, asking to just to move date, not necessarily asking for my money back, and they said they needed to talk to the manager and disappeared for a few minutes. They said the manager said contact Expedia. Expedia tried to call the property 10 minutes later, and every day after and Spruce Lane would not answer the phone for them, until the checkout date, and then just replied we were a no show and would not discuss further. We tried in good faith. We were willing to even move the stay weekday instead of a more expensive weekend, as in our initial booking. They chose instead to not honor their own cancellation policy. We travel to the area regularly and were hoping they might be a good place to stay in the future so we were trying it out. Now I will never stay there nor recommend them to anyone. We already have reservations for elsewhere in May.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from S D, Guest Services / Front Office at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Responded 28 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Please allow us to investigate this situation and get back to you with a suitable resolution at the earliest. We will certainly address the issues pointed out by you and ensure we provide you with a much better stay experience the next time. Please allow us another opportunity to host you. Kind Regards, Team Spruce
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Agnes O wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
Please do something about making access to your office and lock boxes easier for handicapped people! It is difficult with out a handrail to get on the porch…and I have complained about this approx 2 1/2 years ago. Also I do not understand why there is no one in the office? This is crazy especially since the answering service has no idea how to tell people to open the lock boxes…it is getting frustrating that you folks are not trying to keep up with modern times…
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from S D, Guest Services / Front Office at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Responded 28 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had with us and the inconvenience caused during your stay. We will certainly address the issues pointed out by you and ensure we provide you with a much better stay experience the next time. Please allow us another opportunity to host you. Kind Regards, Team Spruce
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marianne N wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We have been staying at this location for over 20 years. We thoroughly dislike the lock box check in procedure. My hotel reservation paperwork clearly stated someone would be in the office until 3 pm. This was not the case. Last year when we arrived it was dark. We could hardly read the instructions on the outside wall. The room we were in (#51) was clean and well appointed with towels and pillows. However, the first night we stayed there were only two other cars in the parking lot. The second night there were four. I would sincerely not want to stay here by myself because it IS so secluded. Our room was not refreshed after our first night which I understand is the norm these days. We saw someone removing furniture from the lodge. There is a For Lease sign at the entrance on Route 340. We wonder how long this property will be in operation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from S D, Guest Services / Front Office at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Responded 19 Feb 2022
Dear Marianne, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We understand your concern regarding the remote check-in process but we have communicated this clearly across all channels that we have moved to complete remote front desk operations and on-request services including housekeeping. We have a team of agents monitoring our property call lines and helping our guests with their check-in, check-out and any other requests they may have during their stay. Regarding the 'for lease' sign you saw, it does not mention anything about our property but for a shopping center nearby. The property is managed by a group of professionals and we intend to provide the best stay experience to all our guests. We hope you would give us another chance to host you soon. Kind Regards, Team Spruce
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
spruce lane lodge & cottages hotel lancaster, spruce lane lodge and cottages
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaLancaster CountyLancaster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SPRUCE LANE LODGE & COTTAGES: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 121 Photos (Lancaster, PA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Old Windmill Farm (7.0 km), Magic & Wonder Show (2.7 km), and Sight & Sound Theatres (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
Is parking available at Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mr. Sticky's Homemade Sticky Buns, Gracie's on West Main, and Bird In Hand Bake Shop.
Are there any historical sites close to Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Amish Farm and House (1.5 km), Hunsecker Mill Covered Bridge (6.2 km), and The Willows Covered Bridge (1.9 km).
Is Spruce Lane Lodge & Cottages accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.