We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

870 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 862: English reviews
Longwood, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is a great location for anyone visiting the University of Pittsburgh. Many restaurants within easy walking distance including a Pittsburgh iconic Primanti Bros a few blocks away. The area around the hotel has a campus vibe. I was upgraded to a very nice and large corner room...the only complaint is that it had an adjoining room door and...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Olivia D, Reservation Coordinator at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review David M! It's great to hear that our location suited your needs and you were able to enjoy the Pitt campus! We can't wait to be able to serve you again!

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this property while traveling for medical treatment at the University of Pittsburgh Med. Center. I was greeted at the front desk by an argumentative employee who said my suitcase had not arrived although the manager called me the day before to let me know it was delivered. Sent me to my room without suitcase to find it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thycamaine
Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel dinner items a little pricey, but good. Thanks J.G.for your help during arrival. Thanks Rocelle for your hospitality and making us feel at home. The rooms are beautiful, and housekeeping restocked everything in a timely manner. Loved It!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 54ayisham
Olivia D, Reservation Coordinator at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5* review 54ayisham! We're thrilled to hear of the great service you received while staying with us! We'll make sure everyone is recognized. We can't wait to serve you again!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We always stay at this hotel when in Pittsburgh visiting our kids on Pitt campus. Close to Campus, friendly staff, clean and inviting. parking is a bit expensive but easy to get in and out. had brunch served by Diane in the restaurant who was very friendly and attentive. I was even "guest of the day twice", we will be...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ellen F
Olivia D, Reservation Coordinator at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review Ellen F! We're happy to hear that our location is ideal while visiting Pitt as well as the great service from Diane and the rest of the staff. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Wesley Chapel FL, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

A convenient place for conducting my training at UPMC staff is outstanding. Great kitchen and Bar staff always with a smile and a cold drink and a great story. I enjoy staying here when I am in Pittsburgh.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jay F
Olivia D, Reservation Coordinator at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you Jay F for the outstanding 5* review! Our Food and Beverage team will be delighted to hear how much you love the service and food! We hope UPMC keeps bringing you back so we can continue to serve you with a smile!

Butler, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family arranged this stay as my husband was having major surgery nearby. Staff and facility were very accomodating to meet our needs. The restaurant even reached into their pantry to create a pasta dish to carb him up before the surgery. All reduced our stress and provided a peaceful advance of a stressful time.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank norman320
Dominican Republic
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for some fun then it's located near some nice bars and restaurant however it's a little far from downtown in case you are doing any businesses there. Price was ok but it needs more life in my opinion. i didn't like the front desk supervisor attitude; i booked through a online channel and paid in full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian d
Olivia D, Reservation Coordinator at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback Brian D. I'm sorry for less than perfect experience but this will be a good retraining tool for our Front Desk. We do hope you allow us to serve you again in the future.

Dallas, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service and staffs! Staffs are extremely friendly and everyone is very helpful!!! Most important of all, the coffee and hot beverage are always in front of counter, which is really nice! I really enjoy my visit at Pittsburgh and staying at the hotel!!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
5Thank tyronc2017
Olivia D, Reservation Coordinator at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our hotel tyronc2017! And 5*! Great! We appreciate you recognizing our staff and the excellent service. We can't wait to serve you again.

Winchester, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this property for one evening in a 1 bedroom suite. The parking valet ($18.00 per night) who parked my car in the evening and the person who returned it the next morning were very pleasant and professional. The front desk staff were wonderful; pleasant and helpful. Check in was quick. The room was very large; however, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Richard_frm_Virginia
Olivia D, Reservation Coordinator at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel Richard_frm_Virginia. We appreciate the feedback in regards to the suite and will make sure it is addressed. We are thrilled in the recognition of our staff. We do hope you allow us to serve you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was a little tired. The counter in the bathroom had evidence of a water leak on the ceiling of the shower stall. Water must have leaked from the floor above. The wood under the sink had chips and the veneer looked like it was about to come off. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was also very good.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Terry R
Olivia D, Reservation Coordinator at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel Terry R. We do appreciate the feedback and will address the rooms. On the upside, it's great to hear your positive experience with our staff and breakfast. We hope you allow us to serve you again.

304 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (175)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (26)
Viewed
King Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Single King Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 68 in Pittsburgh
3,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Price Range: $214 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont stay in Room 205”
 of 5 bubbles thycamaine, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for highest possible floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Simarprit, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request a room away from the street noise in back of hotel on upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles happytraveler8147, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“a high floor, away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles Rahaal, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“call ahead!”
 of 5 bubbles 111marcg, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay