We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
107 6th Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$263
PricelineUS$263
Agoda.comUS$263
FindHotelUS$263
Trip.comUS$263
eDreamsUS$263
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (858)
Room & Suite (241)
Dining (23)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 80 hotels in Pittsburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2010Reviews36Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,146
  • 539
  • 208
  • 71
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Outbax wrote a review 5 Sep
Toronto, Canada244 contributions113 helpful votes
Booked months in advance, arrived early and got one of the worst rooms with a view of industrial air conditioners constantly humming. Staff are pleasant but unproductive, slow elevators, restaurant understaffed, continental breakfast on 14th floor under stocked, rooms spacious but lacking amenities like stationary, furniture… pillow cases with stains, sheets with holes. No value here for what you pay. Would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Self park across the street.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We sincerely apologize for the issues you faced during your stay. The issues you faced are below our standards and our leadership team has been notified and are investigating your concerns.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynn P wrote a review Jul 2022
Hopewell, New Jersey10 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We travelled hours for a Pirates game. Ray greeted us with water right away. Rooms were beautiful and clean. Loved the Aveda shampoo and conditioner. We self parked which was a pain because we had to carry a lot kinda far. They had valet but we didn’t use it because there were so many people on the street waiting. Felt safe. Enjoyed the bar and yummy breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Dear Lynn, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm sorry you were not able to utilize our valet service but am happy to hear the rest of your stay went well. We hope next time you stay with us the Bucs bring home a win for the perfect Pittsburgh experience!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sophie P wrote a review Aug 2022
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania94 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed at the Renaissance years ago and greatly enjoyed it. We were looking forward to an overnight business trip and to staying there again. The lobby area has maintained its beauty but the room left much to be desired. It was like a nun’s cell with a platform, Murphy bed, a lumpy mattress, an extraordinarily uncomfortable occasional chair and a tiny desk. I could not have been more dismayed and disappointed. The clerk told us she was giving us a room with a view what she didn’t say is that she was trading creature comforts for that view. If this is what all the rooms are like I will never return. If it’s not I wonder why we were given that room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The valet service was excellent.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Sophoep193, Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you had during your stay. It is unfortunate that some of our rooms do indeed have murphy beds. We apologize for not living up to our potential that you had come to know before. We assure you if you decide to stay with us again we will make sure you have a more comfortable stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert N wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
First came to this hotel over 20 years ago. Then---it was a premium hotel. Not a premium spot any longer. No valet service----but they did try to charge us for three nights of it. No bellhop service----I had to cart my own bags. Hair clumps on the floor in the bathroom. A coffemaker with a missing piece---non-functional. A broken curtain which we had to rig to close and give us privacy. A total of three towels on our check-in. Ice maker on our floor not working. Shall I go on??
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear N5067FXrobertn, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We truly apologize for the issues you faced during your stay. This is not up to our standards. I have reported your issues to our leadership and are investigating. We do have valet and bell service but it is true that they are limited staffed hours at this time and I understand that having to park and move your own luggage can be a hassle and a headache.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Spataro18 wrote a review Aug 2022
Martinsburg, West Virginia21 contributions7 helpful votes
I stayed two nights and had a nice stay. Front desk staff was very friendly and seemed like they would go out of their way to help. I had a corner room suite and it was clean. The only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is the blinds could use a little TLC. I also feel like a hotel of this level, especially a corner room suite should have a walk in shower, but that’s just my personal taste.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreicate the recognition of our staff! We we will look into your feedback about our curtains so we can address that for future stays!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveler_from_PA wrote a review Aug 2022
Philly Suburbs978 contributions64 helpful votes
Great location for a Pirates game, a short walk even with the Clemente bridge closed. Check in was fine and the staff was pretty friendly. Room was clean but had an odd configuration. No dresser? We had to put everything in the closet. The closet and bathroom doors opened back to back so you had to close one door before opening the other. We requested housekeeping after 2 days but no one came. Eventually someone dropped off clean towels and toilet paper. There is no in room coffee but there is a coffee stand downstairs, however there is no back up when the one person goes on break. The room was fairly quiet until the bridge construction started up again promptly at 7:00 am on Monday. The building is beautiful and we enjoyed drinking our coffee in the lobby or enjoying a drink at the bar. The fitness center is above average for a hotel. Overall the physical features of the building are pretty nice but I expected better service from what is billed as a luxury hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Thank you for the review! We appreciate the feedback! We will look into the small lapses in service that you mentioned so we can improve for future stays!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mike h wrote a review Jun 2022
Taneytown, Maryland18 contributions12 helpful votes
This hotel certainly is not a luxury hotel although the prices are luxury amounts. I believe you are paying for the location, near both professional sports stadiums. Rooms were ok and Food was mediocre at the pub and restaurant. We would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms facing building next door. One such room is room 430.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay. We appreicate you taking the time to leave us a review. We strive to excel and will take your feedback and grow from it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rock Jaunt wrote a review Jun 2022
Incline Village, Nevada11 contributions
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel is a beautifully renovated historic building just off the rivers edge on 6th street in downtown Pittsburgh. Straight shot across the 6th Street Bridge to PNC Park and a short walk to Heinz Field, this hotel is the goto if available when in town for a game or concert across the river. The hotel lobby is beautifully renovated, with all sorts of texture and detail to the extent I notice something new each time I visit. The bar is lively on game weekends and always meet great people in town from all over the country coming in for the game. Rooms are tastefully done with working area, flat screen and really everything I want in a room for a short stay. My last stay was in 2019 before the world got sideways, and my experience with the staff was positive and candidly, friendly and helpful. I wonder sometimes if we find what we are looking for but thats a different conversation. Walking distance to an abundant amount of attractions and sites, with an easy parking garage across the street. Fitness center is above average and has more than enough equipment and options to get the workouts in. There are all sorts of bar and food options within a couple blocks and really, on game day, the last thing I want to see is the car.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear you not only enjoyed your stay with us but also enjoyed Pittsburgh. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sal_Paradise767 wrote a review May 2022
Durham, North Carolina5543 contributions740 helpful votes
+1
Stay Report - 5/21 to 5/22 Location: The hotel is located on 6th Street just a block south of the Allegheny River.  Right now the 6th Street Bridge is closed for construction and most of 6th Street itself is torn up as well.  You can still park at the garage across from the hotel at least but getting around is trickier than usual.  It's still an amazing location for a Pirates game or for being downtown. Hotel: The hotel is one of those glorious renovated old buildings turned into a Renaissance.  The building dates to the early 20th century and is beautiful inside and out.  The lobby especially is lovely and it has a restaurant, coffee shop and really good cocktail bar.  There's also a small store.  Check In: I checked in at 12:30 Pm and was able to get right into my room which is always a huge bonus.  I was thanked for being Titanium and given two waters as well. Room: Very nice and large enough for an older building.  The room itself was lovely with high ceilings, a desk, large TV, outlets near the bed and no issues with soundproofing.  The bathroom was a touch on the small side however. Dining: The cocktail bar was wonderful, I was glad I went and they stay open until 1 AM.  Breakfast was disappointing though.  A really limited menu and the Titanium benefit was $10 off entrees (which doesn't cover drinks) or a continental breakfast.   I was able to use a 4 PM late checkout.  My rate was a staggering $339 pre tax but I was still really happy with my stay and would come back. 
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 27 May 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith wrote a review May 2022
20 contributions1 helpful vote
Have you ever gone away for a special event? need to check into a hotel to shower and put your black tie on? Imagine the horror of trying to check into a hotel at 430PM and being told there will not be a room for hours????? Managers did not take accountability, and instead blamed the staff. Said there were no housekeepers - WARNING - DONT STAY AT A HOTEL WITHOUT housekeeping. Avoid this hotel at all costs. managers had not problem sitting on their behinds while the rooms went uncleaned. Where was the phone call alerting the guests?? The triage to handle the damage? just excused and BAD LEADERSHIP. Shame on you Marriott for flying your flag at this hotel. AVOID
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Choose a room somewhere else would be my adivce
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 24 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We truly apologize and are disappointed about the experience you had with us. The team did their best with the unforeseen circumstances that caused the situation, and the entire leadership team is involved and taking steps to ensure this is not repeated. We strive to provide excellent experiences for all of our guests and are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at stephanie.masullo@renpgh.com.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$270 - US$445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pittsburgh renaissance
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPittsburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
300
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Liberty Magic (0.4 km), PNC Park (0.5 km), and Heinz Hall (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Proper Brick Oven and Tap Room, The Capital Grille, and Butcher and the Rye.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Pittsburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.