We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Candlewood Suites Reading

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 101: English reviews
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here a couple years ago and again this year-- and unfortunately, the property seems to be on a downhill slide. The staff is excellent-- they seem to genuinely care about guests' comfort and I appreciated that. But the stove didn't work, the wall-mounted hairdryer was broken (which they replaced quickly), the shower was so weak I had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank SusanMochnacs
Candlewood Suit... R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Hi Susan, I'm glad to hear you had a great experience with our staff. It is good to hear that the bed was comfortable and you didn't have any noise issues. Thank you for the input on your guest room. We will take care of those issues you experienced so that the next time you visit we can provide an... More 

Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
369 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Switched here from the Hampton Inn - and this is not on the same level as the Hampton although pricing is about the same. Longer stay type of place with weekly housekeeping service. Smell of bug spray in the hallways, etc....... lower quality but very spacious and I would come here again if I had to stay for a week... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
Candlewood Suit... R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Hi Tom, I'm glad that you enjoyed your experience during your recent stay. We do cater to extended stay guests but do our best to accommodate those on short term stays as well. We look forward to your next visit. Timothy Seidel General Manager More 

Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Would have given this Candalwood Suites a 0 if I could. Booked through Hotwire 6 days ago. Drove over three hours only to receive a Hotwire message at 1:00 pm today that the hotel was overbooked and the hotel cancelled my reservation! Didn't the hotel know at the time of the booking that they were overbooked?Terrible customer service.

Helpful?
Thank Flyan
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Dear FlyAndLearn, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Candlewood Suites West Reading, PA. We apologize for any inconvenience encountered with your cancelled reservation. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Room was nice and clean. Staff is phenomenal. Especially Fred. He checked us in. I requested a room with two beds instead of one at the last minute and he accommodated me with no hassle. I will stay here again if I ever come back to reading.

Helpful?
Thank DeAnna S
Candlewood Suit... R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Hi DeAnna S, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Candlewood Suites. Our staff does a phenomenal job of creating a great guest experience and clean rooms for our guests. Fred is a great asset to our company. His service is one of the reasons we are successful. We look forward to your next visit. Timothy... More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We spent five nights here while visiting family in the area. The front desk clerks were all very friendly. We had the one bedroom suite and were very comfortable in the room. The bed was awesome! We didn't spend too much time in the immediate area so I'm not sure about the surroundings. The kitchen was well stocked and had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristils
Candlewood Suit... R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Hi kristils, I'm glad to hear that you had a great experience at the Candlewood Suites. Our staff works hard to provide a great experience for our guests and help them to feel at home. I love our kitchenettes that we have to enhance the guest experience. We look forward to your next visit! Timothy Seidel General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I have been in this hotel since Thursday afternoon and tomorrow (Sunday) is my 3rd and last night here, my room has not been cleaned ONCE, I have not gotten new towels or any refills on coffee or even toilet paper. The room isn't bad at all I must say, but housekeeping is a MUST for me. Just called front... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria T
Candlewood Suit... R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Hi Victoria T, I'm sorry to hear that you are not having a great experience at the Candlewood Suites! As an extended stay property, we only offer housekeeping service once a week (every 7 days), due to the nature of our hotel. We do this in order to offer privacy to our guests so that someone is not coming into... More 

Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The hotel is close to a lot of great restaurants and bars. The room cleaning was horrible. We had hairs in our new sheets ("That's just the way it is") and the rest of the cleaning was so poor that we had to buy our own cleaning products to clean the bathroom and kitchenette. We tried getting them to clean... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik T
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Dear Fredrik T, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel in the area. We would like to apologize you were not well satisfied with the room you received, especially with its cleanliness. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Stayed 9 days due to a death in the family. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff friendly. Great location to walk to restaurants & bars on Penn Ave. "Full size" refrigerator, with ice maker, in the room (didn't use the microwave or stove). Good for a longer term stay, great location even if you're only there a couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank craigschofer
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Dear craigschofer, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you that you appreciated our location and our comfortable rooms. We value your comments. This is a continuous process as we strive further in making our product and services from good to great. Again, thank... More 

Dingmans Ferry, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

I use Candlewood suites a lot and I am generally happy. This visit to reading,pa had some kinks,but most were taken care of. First ,all visitors must know there I'd major traffic construction in front and of and all around hotel area. The city has created the most confusing traffic pattern. The police department needs to immediately take notice,instead of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Dear Gary C, Thank you so much for taking some time off of your busy day to leave us a feedback. As an IHG Rewards Club Elite member, we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and Hotel. I am elated by the fact that you were able to commend our hotels. However, it is to my absolute regret to... More 

Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

The best thing I can say about this location was the beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean. There were a couple issues that prevent me from really recommending this location. Getting to the hotel, you have to take run the block, as there are no left turns allowed. When I arrived, I was greeted to an... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlton1862
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Dear Charlton1862, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate the comfort of our beds, the cleanliness of our rooms, and the friendliness of our maintenance staff. However, I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with the customer service your received.... More 

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Reading
1.6 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
4.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Reading Wyomissing
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We know what you need. Extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your unique needs. The Candlewood Suites, Reading, PA is designed with your travel needs in mind. Just minutes from downtown Reading and many local businesses such as Reading Hospital & Medical Center, Alvernia and Albright Colleges, we offer the amenities that make you feel at home. Our hotel features fully equipped suites with kitchens, room to spread out, space to work and space to relax. Plus, there's great shopping, dining and exciting entertainment at VF Outlet Village, Sovereign Center, and Goggleworks Center for the Arts just a short drive away. Stroll down Penn Avenue and experience the many unique shops and restaurants in West Reading. When it's time to get connected we know what you need free high speed Internet, cable, sports, and movie channels. And when you need to burn some energy the fully equipped fitness center will help melt the stress away. When you come to Reading, PA we know what you need. The Candlewood Suites is your best stay for a week, a month, or even a year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Reading

Address: 55 S 3rd Ave, West Reading, PA 19611-1246
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Reading
Price Range: $118 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Reading 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Reading Hotel West Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Reading staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Trains go by every night. Take your pick.”
 of 5 bubbles 407stephenz, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“top floor you won't have feet marching on your ceiling.”
 of 5 bubbles bsaylor1, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“odd numers look out at the city”
 of 5 bubbles FM6, 25 Nov 2015 | Read review
“had second floor room with view of downtown Reading”
 of 5 bubbles LARRYOTTER, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
“I wouldn't stay here again, but if forced to, I would choose the top floor so it didn't sound as if someone was doing gymnastics on top of us all night.”
 of 5 bubbles NominivanFamof5, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay