We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Candlewood Suites Reading

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Reading
See the most recent reviews
Showing 103: English reviews
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Quick overnight stay while traveling to a race. For the price this was an exelent choice. Didnt have much time there. It was clean, easy chec in and out. Bathroom was nice. Beds were great. Compairable to Holiday Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
GMCandlewoodReading, Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

It's rewarding to learn that we exceeded your expectations with the accommodations, hospitality and cleanliness of our guest rooms. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! We look forward to your next visit!

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Spent 2 weeks in a nice clean and friendly room...restaurants, shopping, libations all within walking distance...fun little town with great restored older buildings....farmers market on the street on Sundays....great architectural sight seeing not far away....up the hill with pretty views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your perspective of our hotel’s accommodations and services! I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! We are so glad that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again!

Union Bridge, Maryland
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was my first time staying at Candlewood. I was in Reading for WWII Weekend & normally I stay at a different hotel that I've been staying at for years. I decided to check other hotels in the area for this weekend. First they were much cheaper in total than the hotel I normally stay at. Front desk clerks were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fortressgal
scranton, pa
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

When I stayed there last year, a male front desk associate made an inappropriate comment. but I thought it was just him so I gave them another try in the spring. but a completely different man blew kisses at me, again a worker at the front desk. made me think solo female travelers do not belong there and don't deserve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank italianma06
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Dear italianma06, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry to know that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay because of some aspects that were not able to live up to your expectations. I have noted the level of service received from our staff. We certainly appreciate that you have brought this...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I travel back to Reading every year for WWII Weekend. An event that we have volunteered at for many years. This is the 3rd year staying at the Candlewood Suites. This year proved to be disastrous. I am 8 months pregnant with twins and we have a 15 month old baby. We made a reservation at the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Meghan C
Jill D, Area Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I wanted to first thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay. I apologize that you experienced these problems with your reservations. I would like to ask you to please contact the hotel General Manager directly (Ana Ruiz) to discuss this further at 610-898-1910. Sincerely, Jill Dyer Area Manager

Glen Allen, Virginia
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This Mother's Day my wife and I decided to go home to Pa. to see my parents. I usually stay at another hotel (also a Holiday Inn brand) but after my experiences at the Candlewood Suites chain I decided to burn a few reward points and stay there. It was a breezy, rainy evening when we arrived..near 10pm..but the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimC1951
New York
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is my third visit to Candlewood, love the hotel, the staff is very helpful and friendly. I was greated by Greg in the evening and Alex in the morning, very nice staff. Hotel is clean, lobby, bathroom, parking area. The rooms were very clean, the bed comfy comfy comfy. So comfy I want to buy the pillows. Area, was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tammi H
Jill D, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Hi Tammy, Thank you so much for taking time to write such a kind review about Candlewood Suites West Reading. I will be sure and share your comments with Greg and Alex, they are both great staff members and I'm happy that they were able to make your stay more enjoyable. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to keep the...

United States
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed at Candlewood Suites about a year ago and was rather impressed with this facility. Having to return to the area again, I immediately made a reservation for this hotel. However, after this recent visit, I doubt I will return another time. While the facility itself is alright, I had major complaints with the cleanliness. When we checked into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bluemoonsymphony
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Dear bluemoonsymphony, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is unfortunate that we were not able to deliver based on your expectations on this occasion particularly with the maintenance of the room that you were given. Your comments are essential for us to improve on what we can offer to ensure similar incidents are...

san francisco
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great location with indoor parking - a rarity for this brand of hotels. Spacious lobby and friendly check-in. But, room was in need of repairs and soft good upgrades. Tiles in bath-floor were loose. Pots and dishes were dirty - yuk. Another property where they never offer an upgrade even after years of staying at this location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sfwon
Jill D, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Hi Larry, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding our underground parking. This is a huge hit with our guests, especially during the cold/snowy winter we had this year! I apologize you had a negative experience in the room with the tiles and the dishes. We do work...

Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 March 2014

During a recent snow storm, a friend and I stayed at this hotel. I arrived slightly before the check in time and was welcomed with a smile and a ready room. I had to make a change in the reservation the day prior to arrival. My requests was handled promptly. A minor problem with the room was discovered shortly after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 30yearRN
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. It is our goal to deliver great service to every guest so that they feel confident in their selection. We value all of our customers’ comments and use it to examine what can be done to improve our hotel as well as what we are doing right....

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Reading
1.6 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
2.4 km away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We know what you need. Extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your unique needs. The Candlewood Suites, Reading, PA is designed with your travel needs in mind. Just minutes from downtown Reading and many local businesses such as Reading Hospital & Medical Center, Alvernia and Albright Colleges, we offer the amenities that make you feel at home. Our hotel features fully equipped suites with kitchens, room to spread out, space to work and space to relax. Plus, there's great shopping, dining and exciting entertainment at VF Outlet Village, Sovereign Center, and Goggleworks Center for the Arts just a short drive away. Stroll down Penn Avenue and experience the many unique shops and restaurants in West Reading. When it's time to get connected we know what you need free high speed Internet, cable, sports, and movie channels. And when you need to burn some energy the fully equipped fitness center will help melt the stress away. When you come to Reading, PA we know what you need. The Candlewood Suites is your best stay for a week, a month, or even a year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Reading

Address: 55 S 3rd Ave, West Reading, PA 19611-1246
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Reading
Price Range: $118 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Reading 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Reading Hotel West Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Reading staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Trains go by every night. Take your pick.”
 of 5 bubbles 407stephenz, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“top floor you won't have feet marching on your ceiling.”
 of 5 bubbles bsaylor1, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“odd numers look out at the city”
 of 5 bubbles FM6, 25 Nov 2015 | Read review
“had second floor room with view of downtown Reading”
 of 5 bubbles LARRYOTTER, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
“I wouldn't stay here again, but if forced to, I would choose the top floor so it didn't sound as if someone was doing gymnastics on top of us all night.”
 of 5 bubbles NominivanFamof5, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5