We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cuthbert House Inn

TravelocityUS$190*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Cuthbert House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

563 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 560: English reviews
Start your review of Cuthbert House Inn
 Click to rate
Blowing Rock, NC
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The pros: Charming antebellum house (with quirks and wear as to be expected), lovely, convenient, quiet location, great water view from porch, delicious, ample breakfast, comfortable mattress and good rain shower in the Hideaway Room. Nice social hour for those that enjoy that sort of thing. The cons: a rather chilly check-in, no help with luggage up the stairs, bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LitPr0f
Massachusetts
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent two comfortable nights in a large, beautifully furnished room. The room had everything we desired, and one of the most beautifully carved beds you could find. Breakfasts were delicious and substantial, served in a sunny, formal setting at private tables. The one drawback to our room would be the small, corner shower, which was a bit tight. Obviously...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank metacom3
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Cuthbert House Inn staff was the best and the morning breakfast was very good and the owner were very helpful in every way. The room was very nice and clean.Beds were very comfortable. Next time in Beaufort will stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dla352449
Pierre-Edouard B, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We wish you happy travels until we see you again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed every aspect of this place. The outdoor gardens were beautiful. The location is really awesome, on the water and 2 minute walk to restaurants and stores. The town is adorable, we would have liked to do a tour, but no time. Our room was large and in the front of the house (Federal Room). The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joann F
Pierre-Edouard B, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this review

We're really happy you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you'll be able to come back and spend more time getting to know our great town. We recommend a walking tour to become more familiar with the area and its history, but there are also carriage tours, a boat tour, and van tours. Something for everyone.

Manteno
Reviewed 1 week ago

We changed rooms after our first two nights because I had booked the third room at the last minute. Both rooms were exceptional in their own way. The Victoria Room was pretty and large; the Hideway was new, modern and had a beautiful bathroom. The location was perfect for walking to the water and to shopping and restaurants. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joey S
Pierre-Edouard B, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Each of our rooms has its own style. Many people like to browse through the rooms on our website and choose one suited to their taste. We have rooms decorated in period styles as well as coastal, nautical and more modern styles. Many of the rooms have great views of the water or courtyard. All...

Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is fantastic..you can walk everywhere The house is wonderful and beds are so comfy Very relaxing... amazing breakfast All the staff were very friendly and helpful The have a social hour that I missed but will make sure to attend next time i stay*

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth F
Pierre-Edouard B, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased you had a nice stay. Most people agree, one day is not enough to experience our lovely town. Social hour is one of the nicest times of the day. Guests love to come hear what others have done or seen that day. It's a great time to get ideas for your explorations of the next day...

Irvine, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I made a reservation to stay 1 night, exactly 3 weeks in advance. I immediately received confirmation email but within an hour of booking, I realized I needed to cancel my stay. As no phone number was listed on confirmation email, I replied from this email with my cancellation but received no response. I had no response the following day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 138MRP
Pierre-Edouard B, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your input. We wish you could have stayed with us to experience our hospitality. We explained to you our need to have a cancelation policy. Please remember that the $25 charge is not related to the time when you cancel.

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was clean and large. Breakfast was excellent and evening social hour very enjoyable also with snacks. Staff was friendly, professional and went out of its way to be helpful. This is a GREAT place for couples to get away and relax, but still just a short walk away from shopping and eateries.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jj0hns0n44
Pierre-Edouard B, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We are happy you enjoyed your time here. You are right Beaufort is a great small town to relax in. The view from the Cuthbert House in particular is very peaceful. There are also a great variety of things to see and do, for those who are in the mood to explore. There seems to be something for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would live at the Cuthbert Inn if I could. It is a beautiful Inn walking distance to everything in town. The breakfasts were delicious and the veranda a great place to relax and read. Happy hour was a great time to meet other guests. Don't miss this experience!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcia G
Pierre-Edouard B, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this review

The Cuthbert House is very conveniently located just a few blocks away from great restaurants, art galleries, shops and museums. We're so glad you liked our social hour! We always enjoy getting our guests better, where they come from and go, what they liked and what they look forward to! And yes, our veranda is wonderfully exposed to the nice...

Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Cuthbert House has a lot of great things going for it. The location gives an unhindered view of the bay unlike its competitors. You can easily walk everywhere in Beaufort. You get no street noise at night. It is an old inn so you'll get some floor boards that will be a little soft. The rooms are spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KES97
Pierre-Edouard B, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Hospitality is one of our top priorities too. Check-in is at 3pm and check-out is at 11am. When guests want to arrive early, we always recommend that they take advantage of our free off-street parking and walk to nearby restaurants, shops and attractions only steps away. We remind our guests to return in time for...

343 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (326)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.4 km away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,155 reviews
0.1 km away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,000 reviews
0.5 km away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
688 reviews
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cuthbert House Inn

Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Price Range: $279 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cuthbert House Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cuthbert House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Victoria Room was comfy and beautiful, as long as you don't mind a corner shower”
metacom3, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“If you do not like stairs.... book a first floor room”
265elizabethf, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“With a wide selection of rooms types, it maybe availabilty will determine the room you can get. The Oaks Room facing out back is quiet.”
  • Oaks Room, Top Floor Looking Out Back
  • The Lovely Ambiance of the Living Room
  • Door Entrance
rodp989, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor suites are very private and luxurious.”
PatrickT342, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Eastlake Suite is on the first floor with a view of the water from the sitting room windows.”
dnarcisi, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$190* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$190
Expedia.comUS$190
Orbitz.comUS$190
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates