We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Booking.comUS$199*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,091 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,072: English reviews
Start your review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
 Click to rate
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Our favorite spot to stay with our kiddos in charleston. They love the two story room, being right across from the barns and especially the yummy cookies at check in. Location is wonderful, convenient, rooms are always clean and staff friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtaamcd
Charlotte, North Carolina
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We try to visit Charleston annually and have fallen in love with its charm and people. We discovered the Doubletree several years ago based on it’s phenomenal location. If the weather is nice you have walking distance or free trolley access to nearly everything. If the weather does not cooperate you can skip a half block to the enclosed Market...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David B
About Hotel's Favourite Review
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear David B, Many thanks to you for your 5 star posting. It was such a joy reading all the wonderful things you wrote about our hotel and Team Members. It is such an overwhelming feeling of accomplishment seeing how many of our team members you encountered during your stay and how they made a difference during your stay. We...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good location, nice lobby, friendly staff, and smll room. Not even enough room for the a in small. Standard king has no room for the sink in the bathroom. I expected more than this. Hugely disappointed. Cramped, tiny, no charm, not inviting. Furniture from a second hand store.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
Brad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Daniel P, Thank you for staying with us during the fantastic Spoleto Festival. Our Director of Operations is reaching out to you today to see if you would like to move to a different room. We have many room and suite types and I am confident that we can get you settled in the perfect accommodation for the remainder...

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel is fine and served my needs. I had a room that literally faced a brick wall and, although I do not need best view, that was a somewhat disappointing. Location is good and facilities were fine. Would not stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y1331KQalans
Brad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Y1331KQalans, Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Charleston. While I am glad that you found that the hotel served your needs, I am disappointed that you didn't have the best accommodation. Please contact me at the hotel as I would love for you to return and I will make certain you have a fantastic view...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Perfect location for downtown Charleston, SC. Service was excellent from check-in to check-out. Very clean, comfortable updated room. Every staff member we encountered was very polite, friendly, and helpful. Made our visit a good memory.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John_Jane_C_inVA
Annapolis, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

very loud, not worth the price, don't stay in the courtyard rooms. they had events in the courtyard that prevented us from sleeping or enjoying our weekend. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your money.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8karar
Management response:

Dear 8karar, Thank you for staying with us for the wedding weekend. I sincerely apologize for the disturbance during your visit. Our goal is that every guest has a fantastic stay and I am so sorry that we fell short during your stay. I have communicated with our team to be very mindful of the times that they set up...

Minnesota
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very centrally located in Charleston, right where all the action resides so that's a plus. The room was a standard room, there was a mix up in our reservation and my 70 year old mother ended up sleeping on a hideaway bed which was not ok, they were booked so we were stuck (no compensation for the mix up offered)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StPaulIrishGal
Brad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear StPaulIrishGal, Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Charleston. Our desire is that every guest has a fantastic stay and I am disappointed that we did not provide you the level of service and accommodation that you deserve. I would love the opportunity to speak with you in person and see if there is something that...

Kennesaw, Georgia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We've stayed here a few times and like the central location. It's an easy walk to everything in the Historic District. We decided to stay here and use our Hilton points. The hotel is starting to feel a little dated and could use a face lift - especially to the rooms. We actually stayed in three different Hilton properties this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
Cotuit, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was in the perfect spot. Walking distance to everything. Staff very helpful and friendly. Bed very comfortable and room very clean. Kris at the front desk was especially friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sujer80
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Sujer80, Thank you so much for your 5 star posting praising our hotel's location and the helpfulness of our staff. You mentioned how friendly and helpful Kris was during your stay, we will certainly celebrate him amongst his teammates and the other staff. We hope that you will call on us again in the future. Best Wishes, Reggie

New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect location for touring Historic Charleston - across the street from the market and carriage rides, walking distance to many great restaurants. Our queen bed room was on the small side but certainly adequate. Bit of a walk to the elevators from our end of the property. Front desk staff appeared to be a bit frazzled and our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl L
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Carl L, Thank you so much for staying at our hotel! We are so please to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our queen rooms are our most economical rooms because their our smallest rooms, when the hotel is not sold out we do all we can to ensure guest are upgraded into larger rooms. We are...

475 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (203)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
King Executive (38)
Viewed
King Large Suite with Parlor (47)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (17)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Price Range: $307 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
quincy mass
Parkersburg, West Virginia
quincy mass
9 months ago
Atlanta, United States
11 months ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't believe any of the rooms have a view, but our corner room #299 was large and looked over Market Street.”
barbaraj471, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Our room was fine bathroom very small”
sujer80, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“courtyard rooms are available”
stephenmM5408MT, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Pick 1st floor, ask for one of Rosie's rooms, you won't be disappointed!”
SLF830, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“The free City Trolleys are now buses. Just look different. The buses are so much nicer and stop at the same locations.”
DavidB285, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$199* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$232
Doubletree.comUS$199
Hotels.comUS$199
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates