We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Andrew Pinckney Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Andrew Pinckney Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,480: English reviews
Irving
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great place to stay to walk to many restaurants and attractions. It's an OLD building, so it's a different feel than modern hotels, but that's what you get. Lovely amenities, comfortable furnishings. Very expensive, but all in Charleston is, so you may as well stay somewhere really nice, like this place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrickpY2512HB
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to publish your review. We're glad you chose to stay in our historic inn right here in the heart of Charleston and found our amenities and location to suite your needs. Please do come back and stay with us again and thank you for your business.

Laguna Niguel, CA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Andrew Pinkney is split across Pinkney street in Charleston. The outside is charming and quaint and the reception area is very old world looking. However my room was across the street. when i entered that building I was greeted by the smell of cleaning solution. The lobby and the rooms had that same antiseptic clean smell. kind of like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biff M
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Biff for choosing our Inn. While your witty review was nice, we're sorry that it wasn't directed towards a more positive experience. Some guest find that when they book the same day on third party discount sites that while choosing the least expensive option they may choose one of our petite queen rooms like yours. Sorry to hear that...

north venice, florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located one block from the city market, walking distance to most of the major restaurants in the Historic District. Unusual arrangement. Reception and parking are on one side of the street and the hotel is across the street. Reception has coffee and great cookies 24/7. Parking is by valet, $25 per day plus tip. Hotel has four floors. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kidneymd
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you first for staying with us and second for taking the time to post your review. We're glad you will be back to stay with us on your next trip to town and we look forward to welcoming you back. We do hope that you will use us as your home away from home to explore more of Charleston...

New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here during our visit last year. While the rooms are clean & generally comfortable, the place was noisy. Our room was on the side street & garbage truck access as well as back entrance for some restaurant was right under our window, so it was very loud early in the morning. Also, you can hear people walking around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maly A
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

While we're really happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and took full advantage of it to explore Charleston, we're sorry to hear that you did not have a completely satisfactory stay. Not all guests find that they enjoy the historic boutique hotel experience and perhaps it's not the style of inn that you're used to either. We do...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed the friendly staff and the daily breakfast on the roof was a highlight of the hotel. Bathroom is a bit small and the beds were high off the ground (my 75 yr old mom could have used a ladder) Charming crooked stairs:) Try not to face the road if you want to sleep past 6am. Street cleaners or garbage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristin F
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Kristin! We appreciate your choosing to stay with us and we're glad that you enjoyed our property despite some of the quirks that you experienced that come with an historic property. Our staff will be happy to hear that they were one of the highlights of your stay and we're glad that you enjoyed breakfast as well. Please...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here in Dec 2016 after looking at Trip Advisor reviews. Generally we were disappointed. The room was internal, which was a big deal for me. Having no outside windows is rare as I've never seen it before but it seems common at this hotel. I called for a room change and was told nothing was available for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jwb262
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you would have liked to. As you saw, the room type that you booked, the petite queen, is one of three such rooms on our forty one room property that have those interior views. As our property is historic, there will be some aspects that you may not be...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved it . Enjoyed the wine and cheese every afternoon .. Also from an upstairs balcony had a nice view of the port where the cruise ships dock. Service from the desk was excellent, i.e. tour referrals, etc. Would have preferred not to pay $25 per day for parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beem887
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your review! We're glad you were able to take advantage of all those extra included amenities like our wine and cheese and that awesome terrace view. Our desk staff will be happy to know that they were so helpful to you as well. As you saw, our valet parking is the same cost per...

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was charming and very well located in the center of the town! The staff is very welcome, helpful and nice. The room and facilities were very nice, easy with children aged between 9 and 4. We loved the breakfast on the rooftop. Great stay!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maud d
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Je vous remercie! We're so glad that you and your family enjoyed not only your time in Charleston but with us here at the inn as well. Our breakfast is a big hit with a lot of guests and is an easy one for those with kids as well. Glad you enjoyed the terrace as well and please, if you're...

Tuckahoe, Ny
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located perfectly in historic Charlestown. stayed 3 days and didn't need a car!!! Rooms were clean and ready at 12pm. great staff and continental breakfast was a nice addition. Highly recommend this Inn,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G4844LMmikeb
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

THANK YOU! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you in advance for all your future recommendations. Our housekeeping staff does work hard to ensure that all of our in-house guests' rooms get turned over a quickly as possible so we're happy that you noticed and acknowledged their efforts as well. Thank you. Please do come...

Gilford, NH
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A small boutique inn in a great location near the city market and great restaurants. Rooms with nice features, clean. Afternoon wine and expanded continental breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially with recommendations for local restaurants, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billjohn4
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and we're happy to hear that you were pleased with our location and your room. Our desk staff will be happy to hear that you enjoyed their recommendations and had such good dining experiences as well while in town. Thank you again and do come back to see us again...

589 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (244)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (341)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
King Jacuzzi Suite (49)
Viewed
Queen Historic Value Room (59)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
St. Philip's Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
2,655 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
1,572 reviews
The Restoration
#9 of 60 in Charleston
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $349 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Andrew Pinckney Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Miami, Florida
Houston, Texas
4 months ago
Harrisburg
8 months ago
Jonesborough, Tennessee
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Andrew Pinckney Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great value for old Charlestown. Wonderful boutique hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Tallytravler, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to ask in advance where the room is located.”
 of 5 bubbles judyazoff, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in two different buildings. Request multiple rooms be together so you aren't split.”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid first floor 4th floor great”
 of 5 bubbles jamesonf2017, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't pick a room that was once the Carriage house if you are a light sleeper...too much noise!!”
 of 5 bubbles Y287EXnancyp, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5