We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Harbourview Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Harbourview Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,849 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Harbourview Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,837: English reviews
San Diego
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This hotel has the best of everything. The staff is always pleasant, helpful and are great for tips on places to visit and eat. The rooms are comfortable, well-appointed and very clean. The only downside is that you may gain weight from the continental breakfasts. They are too good! The location is also terrific as you are within walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily018
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you had such a great time with us at the HarbourView Inn! We do have a wonderful and helpful staff, and I am glad to hear that they were able to assist you with having a great stay. We are excited to see you on your next trip to Charleston!

Alexandria VA
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My second stay and still very nice. Nice front desk staff and valets. The room is large as is bath. Nice location and close to everything. I highly recommend. I also looked at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel and rooms there- and the Harborview is much nicer! Better rooms and staff by far!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alexandriava
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad that you came back to Charleston to stay with us at the HarbourView Inn! Thank you for the kind words about our hotel and our team and we hope to have you stay with again on your next trip to the Charleston area.

Camdenton, MO
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We loved the peace and quiet of this old building that faced the Charleston Harbor. From our room we could watch children playing in the fountain and the ships sailing by. This hotel was very quiet and not the place for people who like a lot of activity. It was within walking distance of all the activity we wanted, including...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret B
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn. We do have a great location to be just off the beaten path so our guests can relax, but still be close enough to enjoy all that Charleston has to offer. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Southern California
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Very happy with this centrally located hotel. Room was big and so was the bed. Complimentary huge continental breakfast daily, 5p-7p cheese/wine each night and at 9pm cookies & milk! Front desk was warm, welcoming and professional. Within two blocks of the cruise passenger pier. Many, many nearby restaurants. We ate at Hank's one night and Fleet Landing another. Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank OnTheGoForever
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn! We are so glad that you had the chance to enjoy our complimentary breakfast, wine and cheese hour and milk and cookies before bedtime! Thank you for your kind words about the staff and our location. We hope you will return to Charleston and the HarbourView Inn soon!

Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights for our anniversary getaway. It was a wonderful location with great service. Our room was clean and the extras such as tea hour, wine hour and cookies and milk at night were a plus. Breakfast was very nice and always delivered on time. The staff were always friendly. We enjoyed being able to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anna A
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

We are so excited that were able to be part of your anniversary celebration! Thank for the compliments about all of our special extra touches, we are thrilled that you enjoyed everything with your stay! We hope to have you stay with us again at the HarbourView Inn soon.

olney,MD
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We enjoyed a lovely stay at this Inn. Just right on the water with many personal amenities and very attentive service--warm chocolate chip cookies and milk at bedtime!! Food is personally and very well prepared and tasty. Helpful and caring staff. Very clean room and well appointed. Located in center of everything and easy to get to restaurants and other...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank reviewsr
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the HarbourView Inn. Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, complimentary amenities and location. We definitely have a great location for walking to and enjoying all that Charleston has to offer! We hope you can continue your exploration of Charleston again soon!

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed at the Harbourview Inn for sadly only one night with my mom and my 2 kids. It was a very pleasant experience. It is in a wonderful location - we were able to walk everywhere. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Everyone seemed to do their best to make sure we felt welcome and at home. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Welbourne
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad that you were able to stay with us at the HarbourView for your short visit. It is great that you were about to enjoy many of complimentary services, though next time you’ll have to find time for the wine and cheese reception! We would love to have to you stay with us again soon, and for...

Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

I stay here a couple times a year. I'm sure I've reviewed it before but I'll do it again. I love this place. I love walking along the pier across the street. I love the wine and cheese. The staff is great. It's so close to everything- especially Magnolia's (my favorite restaurant on the planet). The rooms have a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 7continentsby25
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad that you keep staying with us at the HarbourView Inn. We love to see you each time you come to Charleston. We can’t wait until your next visit!

Port Republic
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Spent 6 nights end of October to the first of November to celebrate our anniversary. Great couples place. Service is very good. We came home from dinner our first night to find champagne in our room. Turndown service with chocolates every night. Our room was fine but I thought a little small for the price. Could hear an odd whistling...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank out3650
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn! We are always delighted to be part of a celebration! Thank you for your note about the noise in your room; we will certainly have our engineering team investigate the source of the noise. We all also appreciate your suggestion about including valet parking within the room rate; it is...

Columbus, OH
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I visit Charleston every year and this hotel has been on my list. Last week was finally able to experience this fabulous hotel and it didn't disappoint. Nothing new to add, previous reviewers have covered it well. If you're a M & M freak, you will hang out in the lobby eating the free chocolate and peanut M & Ms.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loblolly9
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the HarbourView Inn! We are so glad that you were able to finally stay with us and that you had a great time. We hope you can stay with us again and enjoy more plain and peanut M&Ms!

786 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (318)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (430)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Grand Harbour View Room (87)
Viewed
Harbour Side Room (82)
Viewed
Historic Wing Room (92)
Viewed
The Hotel (117)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,567 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
1,234 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
1,479 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Price Range: $327 - $818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbourview Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Harbourview Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We paid extra for the Harbourview room, not sure that was worth it, but no other rooms were available.”
 of 5 bubbles NJKathy62, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sleep quality can be better with requested mattress topper now available.”
  • View out of room
 of 5 bubbles sdconrad, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel since there is a bus stop on the corner next to the fountain.”
 of 5 bubbles 982jamik, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms are very nice, we had a king room, but not a bay view room.”
 of 5 bubbles cman36, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We didn't have a room with a "view" but still had a decent view of the water and a good look at the side street.”
 of 5 bubbles kristink55, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay