We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

633 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 621: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Located very conveniently to restaurants and other points of interest. Very nice rooms. No issues. Only advice do not go for the balcony room really no view to sit and look at. Wish I had not paid extra for it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie F
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I recently stayed at this Holiday Inn with friends and had a wonderful experience. The front desk staff was knowledgeable and friendly and always willing to help. Carter was especially helpful and had lots of great suggestions for meals and things to do around town! Tattooed moose was awesome! Plus, this hotel is right next to some great places on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pittsburghforever
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to review us here at the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. I'm very glad that my suggestions proved useful during your stay here in Charleston. There are just so many delicious options here that you'll almost go crazy trying to get...

Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel recently for a small meeting, and was very pleasantly surprised. It is a newer hotel - less than five years old, I would guess. The public space is very modern and appealing. The Front Desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Should you plan meetings, their Boardroom was perfect for a small meeting, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missmaggiesmom
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown. We are very glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. It pleases us to no end to be able to bring this kind of review to our staff. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the Charleston area, you'll come...

Seattle
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a hotel that feels like every chain hotel. It is clean but without character or much comfort. There is a basic restaurant in the lobby, an unheated pool and minimal fitness room, and rooms are nothing much, with no bathtubs, no robe, no makeup mirror, and some minimal toiletry items. You could be anywhere. The block is bare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bearwife
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Have a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was quiet clean and very comfortable. Moderately priced. Valet service available and car retrievals prompt and available 24 hours. A Good place to stay within easy walk to the downtown area. Recommended for value conscious.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RichardBejah
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in. We hope that if you are ever back in the area, you will offer us a second chance to impress upon you our version of southern hospitality. Have a great day! Carter D....

Boca Raton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is on the outskirts of the actual historical center, so it's not quite as convenient as they indicate on the web site. The hotel cleaning is not quite up to standard with hallways not vacuumed properly, and plates/glasses sitting on the floor outside rooms for too long. I had to complain 3 times (1.5 days) before a clogged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plog60
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown. We feel that every review is an opportunity for us to get better. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We certainly apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. There's no excuse for...

Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Charleston- SC over the Holidays and as an IHG member, we decided to stay at the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown- it was the most disappointing and unpleasant hotel stay I have experienced in more than 2 years. The hotel's location is OK- not great. It is located in an isolated part of Downtown Charleston and it is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nasser P
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

As an IHG® Rewards Club Member, we truly value your feedback. Thank you for your candid review. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. It is upsetting to us that your recent stay did not meet expectations; yours nor ours. We appreciate your comments and will share these...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On a recent visit to Charleston, combining Business and leisure, decided to book this particular hotel. Hotel isn't located in what would be considered the center of town, but in a very good location to many attractions and restaurants. Hotel is very clean and comfortable, with large rooms and a very professional staff. I would recommend and will be back....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roman T
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I will definitely pass on your sentiments about our delicious breakfast to my F&B Manager, David and the rest of his kitchen staff. We are very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to our next chance to impress you. Have a great day! Sincerely, Carter D....

Wilmington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

First time visit to Charleston, SC on a leisure road trip vacation with my spouse. We elected to stay at this hotel in the historic district. It did not disappoint us. The staff were fantastic and friendly, from the valet that greeted us to the desk staff in the lobby. Valet is very reasonably priced and you can come in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SJL1976
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that your room was very clean, and that you enjoyed our reliable wi-fi. Thank-you for your kind comments about our staff as well. We are able to do what we love because of guests like you. It's something our staff takes great pride in. Again, thank-you...

Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewed 12 December 2016

So first of all, I wouldn't say this is in Historic Downtown. It's close, and you can definitely walk there, but it's about 20 minutes away. If you are wanting to be in the middle of all the action, this hotel is not for you. Also, the hotel is literally right on the border of a sketchy section of Charleston......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jocjarmom
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jocjarmom, Thanks for choosing our property for your romantic getaway and for writing us a review. Making your stay a complete success is our goal and with that in mind, I regret to learn that you were met with inconveniences due to the parking fee as you were not initially aware of the policy and the overall parking condition...

434 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (301)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Pool (44)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen (63)
Viewed
Standard King (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $186 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Fort Smith,AR
New Orleans
1 month ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are probably more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Plog60, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“At the present time, every room is either going to overlook construction or the street. So there's no such thing as a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles Jocjarmom, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for something away from the construction.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolebans, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“our view was looking out on to construction.”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a high floor to avoid elephant feet above you.”
 of 5 bubbles kareno899, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay