We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ansonborough Inn

Traveller (429)
360
Panoramas (13)
Dining (37)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
74Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
45Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1,095Reviews
1,018Photos
28Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 746
  • 244
  • 56
  • 30
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ansonborough Inn is a great place to stay. My ONLY complaint is that they deal with reservations.com and you get billed a separate service charged by them on your credit card. Reservations.com lists a service charge on their website, but you have click on it to find out they
Read more
Response from Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this information on TripAdvisor! I am so glad that you enjoyed the time you spent at Ansonborough Inn and I'm sorry you had any issues with the third party through which you booked. I really appreciate you spreading the word about direct reservations! Our website (or better yet, a phone call to our front desk!) is the absolute best way to ensure you get great rooms, at the lowest possible rate. With direct reservations, final charges are posted at departure and there are no service charges or deposits taken at the time of booking. Thanks again for helping to inform others about third parties and thank you for choosing the Ansonborough Inn! I hope to speak to you soon! Carrie
Read more
We found this hotel at the last minute when we decided to spend the night in Charleston. From check in to check out everything went smoothly. Front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful in providing recommendations on places to eat based upon what my wife wanted to try. The
Read more
Response from Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this lovely review to TripAdvisor! We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed everything about the time you spent at Ansonborough Inn. It is also wonderful to know that you encountered capable and friendly front desk staff, as well. Thanks again for sharing this review to TripAdvisor and thank you for choosing Ansonborough Inn! (Next time you are coming to town, please give me a call and I can help you select a room with a more ideally situated television, too!) We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
We were able to walk everywhere we were looking to go in the city. The front desk staff was very knowledgable of the area as well as helpful with making arrangements. The room was comfortable. I love how they exposed the original beams and brick walls. They also furnished with
Read more
Response from Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review to TripAdvisor! We are so happy to see that the front desk staff were helpful and informative. It is also wonderful to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance and decor of Ansonborough Inn. We hope that you have a chance to come stay with us again. Thanks again for sharing this review and for choosing Ansonborough Inn--we are delighted to know what a great experience you had!
Read more
I checked in here with my cousin for a night as we were passing through Charleston, but once we saw this place, we quickly decided to extend our stay to 2 nights. We were impressed with how affordable it was for being as classy as it is. The room was amazing. The attendants were
Read more
Response from Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for sharing this review to TripAdvisor! I am excited to see that your inaugural visit to Ansonborough Inn was such a pleasing one that you have already scheduled a return visit. It is wonderful to know that every aspect of your time with us was outstanding and that you consistently encountered pleasant and helpful staff. Thanks again for posting this review and, more importantly, thank you for choosing Ansonborough Inn. We look forward to seeing you in April!
Read more
This is our 8th visit to Charleston, and the Ansonborough Inn has been the best. Great location, great value, great employees, with free wine/cheese hour in the evening, and free breakfast in the morning. You will love your decision to stay here.
Read more
Response from Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn
Responded 14 Jan 2019
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share this lovely review to TripAdvisor--you brought a smile to my face! There is nothing better than having the privilege of welcoming regular guests back to Ansonborough Inn--I am delighted that time and again we have been your home-away-from home in Charleston and consistently exceeded your expectations. Thanks again for taking the time to post this review and thank you for being loyal guests of Ansonborough Inn. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Studio King Room at the Ansonborough Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Premium Loft at the Ansonborough Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Premium Loft at the Ansonborough Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Double Luxury Room at the Ansonborough Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Admiral Suite at the Ansonborough Inn
PreviousNext
123456115
The rooftop is open for you to use, you can bring your own beverages and I believe you can get some beverages on request, but there is no attended bar on the rooftop.
1 vote
Show all answers
Yep, all of our rooms have Keurig machines, plus there's GREAT coffee in the hospitality suite from 6:45am on! Thanks!
2 votes
Show all answers
Sorry i dont know
0 votes
Show all answers
Very safe. The entire historic Charleston area is very safe. I am a police officer in Nashville so I am paranoid and notice stuff. this little town obviously keeps riff raff ran out because not once did I feel something was afoot. After Dark you will find occupies patrol cars sitting just sitting near places that are open and busy.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123456
"I think the street level studio room would be a bit noisy with traffic from the street. We upgraded one level and had no issues."
"Don't choose the first floor!"
"I think I was in 204....unbelievable 20 foot ceilings...."
"Had room 226, but all rooms are likely to be a good choice."
"The first floor would be kind of noisy with the street traffic... so the second floor would be a better level."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$196 - US$428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ansonborough hotel charleston
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing