We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#31 of 101 hotels in Columbia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Columbia-Fort Jackson, located 14 miles from Columbia Metropolitan Airport (CAE) and 5 miles from the CLB Amtrak Station, puts you only minutes away from the major business and culture districts of Columbia, SC. Business travelers lodging in this Columbia hotel are less than five miles from the Vista and Five Points business districts as well as the State Capitol. You'll find our Columbia hotel is one of the closest accommodations to both Fort Jackson and the University of South Carolina. Both the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center‎ and the hotel's three meeting rooms are available for you to host an event while traveling. The area offers a vibrant cultural life. You can check out the art galleries in Five Points or relax at Finlay Park in the Vista near our Columbia hotel. Downtown Columbia hosts multiple art shows, free concerts, and cultural events throughout the year.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

7329 Garners Ferry Road, Columbia, SC 29209
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel
286Reviews3Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 135
  • 76
  • 36
  • 17
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jennifer P wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions
I don’t usually write bad reviews, but this situation warrants one! DO NOT book at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia – Fort Jackson hotel on Garners Ferry Rd, especially if you are military and are not sure if you will need to cancel for ANY reason!!! My cousin had booked two rooms for two night for the military graduation of her husband for her and my family the week of February 12th. She booked the rooms on 12/29/23 and then called to cancel the rooms online on 1/4/24 and called them on 1/4/24 to confirm the cancellation with the hotel. AT THAT TIME NOTHING HAD BEEN CHARGED TO HER CREDIT CARD FOR THE TWO ROOMS. Fast forward to 1/26/24 and the hotel charged the full price for all of the rooms for both nights! At no time was there a conversation that the rooms were non refundable AND they charged her the full amount THREE WEEKS after cancellation. She has spent hours on the phone with the hotel, managers, and corporate and they offered her part of the charge back plus had to pay a cancellation fee. THIS IS NOT HOW YOU TREAT MILITARY FAMIIES! Not to mention, my cousin is home with a 1 year old and is a government civil servant herself! Holiday Inn and IHG properties need to step up and remedy this situation! My recommendation is avoid IHG hotels at military bases, because I’ve seen from several other reviews that this has happened before. Shame on you Holiday Inn and IHG hotels if this is how you treat our military and their families.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Feb 2024
Dear JenniferP5007, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent booking at our Holiday Inn Express Columbia-Fort Jackson. I am truly sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize for the reservation issue. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nancy H wrote a review Jan 2023
Clemmons, North Carolina93 contributions26 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I was pleasantly surprised how IMMACULATELY clean my hotel room was. Since I'm a platinum member I got an upgrade. The staff was very friendly! The bed was comfy. I loved the room arrangement and furnishing. But most of all, I LOVED the fresh cinnamon rolls at breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Flagler_Parents wrote a review Aug 2023
Port Charlotte, Florida7 contributions
Friendly staff. Older building but clean. Rooms with wide wood door. I have never experienced a Holiday Inn Express with a railing dividing the bed area and a sitting area. Just odd. Lots of unused extra space which could have included more seating. Vinyl flooring throughout with a touch of carpet around the bed area. The bed was extremely soft. Fine if that's something you like. Breakfast was well stocked even when a bus load of athletes were there for a night. We stayed for 4 days and had our room serviced each day. We chose this location due to the reviews but if we were to do again, I think I would stay at a different location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Frig in room but without a freezer for ice packs. Ice machine on floor near elevators.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel
Responded 11 Sept 2023
Hello, Flagler_Parents Thank you for telling us about your experience. We're grateful you chose our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson for your travel needs. Your review is important to us and will help improve the quality of our service. I have shared your sentiment with our local team and manager, and I apologize for not delivering a better accommodation. Our staff will work to ensure a much better experience in your future travels. Our establishment aims to meet the highest expectations in your business or leisure trips. We genuinely look forward to serving you again soon. Our staff can't wait to show you all the changes and improvements made after your priceless feedback. Warm regards. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karan B wrote a review Jul 2023
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States82 contributions39 helpful votes
We had a great stay with outstanding service. Room was very clean and welcoming. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast more than adequate.Parking convenient! Reasonably priced. Staff amazingly competent and oh so friendly and gracious! We even received a phone call after checking in and going to our room asking if it met our needs and standards:) We were there for four nights.... great stay. There were elevator issues but that can happen:)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Very welcoming and clean!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
tostle wrote a review Feb 2023
Salt Lake City, Utah85 contributions20 helpful votes
This hotel pool is scary! Don’t use the pool. The water is milky and our kids had a serious allergic reaction to the water & maybe chlorine in the pool. We filed a complaint and they followed up saying it wasn’t chlorine. Okay…it smelled like chlorine and our kids had a serious ophthalmic reaction to the pool water. An ophthalmologist diagnosed this was a reaction to chlorine. If it wasn’t chlorine, there was something else seriously wrong. I wasn’t going to write a bad review as I wanted the team there to have a chance to fix the problem. They are denying there is a problem so please protect yourself and your family from the pool at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the pool
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2023
Hi tostle, We appreciate you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express And Suites Columbia-fort Jackson for your leisure stay. Providing an excellent level of hospitality and cleanliness is our topmost priority. I would like to offer our sincere apology for the issues you encountered during your time with us. Your honest review is very important, and I will share this with our appropriate hotel team to take necessary action to prevent any issues from occurring in the future. I have sent you a private message to discuss this further. I hope we'll remain to be your dependable choice, as we promise to make your stay more memorable and exciting. Yours in hospitality, Melissa P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jonetta wrote a review Sept 2022
2 contributions
We needed a quick place to stay on the way to our son’s cross country meet. We reserved the room online a few hours prior to our check-in and everything was smooth when we arrived even though it was after 10PM. The hotel was modern, clean and quiet. Our room was cool (set to 67 degrees), clean and smelled fresh. The bathroom was clean and well stocked. The toiletries were all Dove products and there were more than enough towels and wash cloths. The pool was clean but the water was a little too cold for my taste but my kids didn’t seem to mind. The only thing that needed improvement was the continental breakfast. It was the standard fare of scrambled eggs, sausage, turkey sausage, oatmeal, gravy and biscuits. The eggs were hard and clumpy, the meats were over cooked. There was also a pancake station and those were OK. The standard apple, orange and cranberry juices were available along with coffee and milk. There was also pastries with honey and cream cheese too Overall terrific stay!! We plan on staying here every time we are in town for cross country or track which will be multiple times a month. Don’t miss out!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michelle Elliot... P wrote a review Jul 2022
Hampton, Georgia6 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel this past weekend. Grounds and hotel was very clean. We were here with a convention. Our room had no air. They refused to have anyone look at it. They said there maintenance person was on vacation. They said they were completely booked no empty rooms. They offered to comp our room which they never did. On top of all of that we had ants as well. Very unpleasant experience. Would not reccomend this hotel. Worst hotel experience I have ever had.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
gilchrist48047 wrote a review Apr 2022
New Baltimore, Michigan107 contributions79 helpful votes
Overnight stay on our way to Florida. This hotel was very clean from the lobby, breakfast area to our room. Front desk staff especially Beth were very friendly from check in to having to come down at 11pm to get a extra blanket. Breakfast was good, hot and had plenty of selection. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Herb S wrote a review Mar 2022
Eustis, Florida285 contributions77 helpful votes
After a long day fighting interstate traffic. We checked in and found our room clean, restful and relaxing. The bed was comfortable with more then enough pillows. Bathroom very clean. Eggs, biscuits and gravy for breakfast, finished off with a cinnamon roll. Next time we are in Columbia SC will will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
cathyd wrote a review May 2021
Jekyll Island, Georgia2162 contributions459 helpful votes
This is by far the nicest hotel long this street. Looks recently remodeled or built. We received an upgrade and had a beautiful room, 214, on the second floor. It was huge! The bed was separated by a step up and a railing. Room included two flat screen TVs, fridge, microwave, keurig, etc. I love that they have wood-like floors instead of nasty carpeting. Breakfast was back to normal HI standards. Yummy scrambled eggs, bacon and their delicious cinnamon rolls. Only thing was that someone served you instead of helping yourself. The street this hotel is on is really busy and very hard to pull out from the parking lot. Only bad thing is that there are not a lot of restaurants within walking distance, not the hotels fault.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Columbia area.
PRICE RANGE
S$172 - S$244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express hotel and suites columbia-fort jackson, holiday inn columbia, holiday inn express columbia, columbia holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaColumbia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES COLUMBIA-FORT JACKSON, AN IHG HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 69 Photos (SC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Adrenaline (0.6 km), Big Lots (0.9 km), and Thrash The Smash Room (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chick-fil-A, Pizza Palace, and Rush's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting South Carolina State House (8.4 km), Robert Mills House & Gardens (8.5 km), and Hampton-Preston Mansion and Gardens (8.5 km).