We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista

Show Prices
#16 of 97 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown\/The Vista
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 301: English reviews
Palm City, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was very clean. They serve a very nice breakfast. Staff was very pleasant. Loved how convenient it was to restaurants and attractions we wanted to see. Decor is very modern, reminds me of our stay in Sweden.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzette K
Greensboro, Nc
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brought my mother to Columbia to see Bob Dylan at the Township Auditorium. This location is within walking distance to lots of restaurants downtown. The rooms were clean and spacious. I appreciated the separation of the toilet and shower. Loved the double sinks as well. Hotel staff were nice. Wish they had more snacks at the bar, but the drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank truezeta
BilyanaFranks, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review

truezeta, You put a big smile on all of our faces when we read this! We really appreciate you sharing your experience, and are glad you were able to enjoy the show and our hotel. I will make sure to recognize Dontye during our next daily stand-up meeting. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You can't expect a lot from these low-end Marriott properties, but when you can't turn on enough light from the door to feel welcome, or even within the whole room, there's a problem. Sickly blue-green fluorescents embody the worst of cost cutting. Even Home Depot has better lighting. Don't give me the eco-friendly crap, you're saving money by putting in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
BilyanaFranks, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review

Dear Jeff K, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very proud of how we welcome and manage our fabulous visiting groups. We always strive for a perfect 10, however sometimes miss that mark. Your feedback only helps us to identify ways we can improve. I would like to apologize if your room lacked light and did not...

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Europeans might find certain aspects of this hotel odd. Plastic plates, plastic knives and forks at breakfast for example. Hotel is clean, rooms are a good size and have a good sized living area with desk. Premium wifi (free for Marriott Gold)was first rate. My room was noisy (close to the Interstate) but i m a deep sleeper. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kissthesunsetpig
BilyanaFranks, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review

kissthesunsetpig, Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms, our staff hospitality and premium wifi. We always enjoy feedback, as we want to continually improve our hotel. If you have any other information you would like to share, please feel free to reach me at the hotel....

New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having made many campus trips, we always aimed for one of the two main campus hotels (you'll figure them out if you're shopping hotels on campus). Since our student relocated to an apartment, we opted for this hotel in the Vista. Now I'm kicking myself for not staying here on all of my other trips. A word for new college...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bearman1
BilyanaFranks, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review

Bearman1, Thank you so much for your fantastic review of your visit at the Springhill Suites in the Vista. We are thrilled you enjoyed our friendly amenities, our location, clean rooms and hospitality from the heart! We thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with other travelers, and hope to serve you again! Warmest regards, Bilyana...

Simpsonville, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We stayed here in mid October for a family wedding. Our family of 5 had a suite and it had plenty of room. Bed's were comfortable and we found the service to be above average. We liked the area of town and there is a Publix grocery store located within walking distance. We ate breakfast and found it to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
BilyanaFranks, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review

Dear Brian K, We are so happy you had a wonderful stay. Our goal is to provide every guest with an exceptional stay, and it is awesome to see we were able to do that for you. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to the area. Best regards, Bilyana Franks

Reviewed 25 October 2016

This is a beautiful hotel and is in a great location.The people at the service desk and all of the employees I met were cheerful, friendly and helpful. The place is extremely clean and the rooms are nice....problems: no water pressure, the tv is similar to a hospital tv...it takes forever to change stations and the stations are very limited....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
SpringHillColaSC, Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Springhill Suites Columbia. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. I want to apologize for the issues you encountered with your water pressure. We will be sure to have our maintenance department look into it. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night and found the front desk staff to be warm and welcoming. Hotel is clean and quiet with ample free off street parking but the decor is a cool modern and not very inviting. There is an odd layout to the hallways and the elevators are not convenient to the lobby. Saw the same cleaning mop propped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K L
SpringHillColaSC, Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our staff strives to offer each guest top notch service and I am glad we met this expectation during your stay. Thank you for letting us know how we can improve so we can make the necessary changes. Thank you for choosing the Springhill Suites Columbia Downtown/ The Vista and...

Beaufort, South Carolina
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We came to Columbia because we had to evacuate Beaufort, SC because of Hurricane Matthew. So we are grateful we were in a safe place. We had a suite with 2 queen beds which were very comfy, mini fridge and microwave. All that was nice. But I do have an issue with the bathrooms. There is one small bathroom with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edie S
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

I have been a big fan of Spring Hill suites since I first stayed in one over 7 years ago in Savannah, GA. My favorite thing is that all of these properties have been so consistent. You know what you are getting, and this property is no different. It is steps away from the Vista, a great place to grab...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHSlwr6

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.5 km away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
1.5 km away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
#6 of 97 in Columbia
976 reviews
1.0 km away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
0.8 km away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#11 of 97 in Columbia
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista

Address: 511 Lady St, Columbia, SC 29201-3015 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Price Range: $173 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Downtown Hotel Columbia
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Columbia
#23 Family Hotel in Columbia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
over a year ago
Nutley, New Jersey
Metairie, Louisiana
Charlotte, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms near the end of the wing are right by the parking lot through a side hotel door.”
 of 5 bubbles Bearman1, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I like street side because no parking lot lights, also top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Lars05, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the front of the hotel are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles melviras2016, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are convenient to the ample parking.”
 of 5 bubbles BobAlexandria, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a parking lot facing room to avoid street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles SOuthernLady3950, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay