We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown

Save
Share
501 Taylor Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Booking.com
US$105
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Fairfield Inn
US$105
View deal
Expedia.com
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Hotels.comUS$105
TravelocityUS$105
TripadvisorUS$105
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (2)

About

#39 of 105 hotels in Columbia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travel with confidence at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown. Offering friendly service and modern amenities. Conveniently located minutes from CAE Airport and in the Vista District, our hotel puts you near top local destinations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
273Reviews4Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 110
  • 76
  • 44
  • 15
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
GmaPapaw wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
+1
Already pretty worn, no pool, and no decent breakfast, and rude morning staff. Grout is washed out of tile and beams in room had obvious repairs left unstained. In the morning most breakfast tables were left covered and we had to wait behind a staff member to get to the coffee and she didn't even acknowledge us. Elevators are dirty. Lobby entrance had missing ceiling tiles. And hallway, and elevator smelled like weed. Won't stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello GmaPapaw, Thank you for choosing IHG Hotels and Resorts as your travel partner! We appreciate you as one of our valued guests. We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jamaica_2013_13 wrote a review Oct 2021
Bethesda, Maryland13 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
I recently went to Columbia South Carolina for a wedding at the Robert Mills Historic House,as I was choosing a place to stay I come across a nice little Inn called the 1425 INN on Richland St. I had my own suite called the Sumter. It was very nice so if you are looking for a place in Columbia SC please visit 1425 Richland St. Jeff and Pam Hester are the owners. The Inn was very quiet there were several other customers there it was nice. The area is easy to get around, eating places are near by. I plan on visiting again very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mike X wrote a review Oct 2022
Chicago, Illinois1938 contributions396 helpful votes
+1
It's the cheapest Marriott property around with free parking. Make sure you have appropriate expectations. No issues with booking, rooms, check-in etc. Gym was a bit run down as the treadmills were slippery when running on them (belt slips) so be careful. Front desk at checkout was absent and smells like smoke but you get what you pay for.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
TYB2015 wrote a review Oct 2022
87 contributions39 helpful votes
Worst Marriott Property! Stayed at this property and a number of things were not available. One of the elevators was out of order, ice machines were out of order and much of the gym equipment was out of order. Asked for housekeeping which never happened. The property was run down and not up to Marriott standard
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marga A wrote a review Sep 2022
Madrid, Spain64 contributions21 helpful votes
Don't expect Marriot standards. We did not have hot breakfast as we were supposed to, excuse was that staff did not show up. I understand that it is inconvenient but guests should not suffer the consequences. Plan B should be provided. We suspect that the reason is that only a few guests were spending the night there, so no effort was made. Rooms are OK. Shower is not what I expected. I only got warm water at the end, and it was only slightly hot. Also water did not come with enough pressure. Location is not the best either
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown
Responded 12 Oct 2022
Hi 727margaa, We appreciate you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express And Suites Columbia Downtown–The Vista for your leisure stay. Providing an excellent level of hospitality and cleanliness is our topmost priority. I would like to offer our sincere apology for the issues you encountered during your time with us. Your honest review is very important, and I will share this with our appropriate hotel team to take necessary action to prevent any issues from reoccurring in the future. I hope we'll remain to be your dependable choice, as we promise to make your stay more memorable and exciting. Yours in hospitality, Melissa P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David V wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Weeks ago I made a reservation at this hotel for my daughter to travel to Columbia to help my other daughter move out of her dorm at the Univ. of SC (check in on April 30). When my daughter arrived at the hotel to check in and presented the lady at the desk with a copy of the reservation/confirmation I had printed out for her, the hotel staff said they couldn't accept the reservation since she was not me.. even though she has the same last name and had a printed copy of the reservation. So they did agree to cancel the reservation that I had made (room charge $137 per night) and charged my daughter the full room rate of $239 to stay that night. So they didn't trust that my daughter was who she said she was and wouldn't let her use the reservation I had made, but they did trust her enough to cancel my reservation.. without my permission. My daughter did reach me about an hour later to notify me of this. I called the front desk at the hotel and asked if they could at least offer her the same rate from my reservation. She told me she would notify the manager on the following Monday and thought something could be done. She took my phone number but, of course, the manager didn't contact me. I called this morning and spoke to someone at the front desk, and she said there was nothing they could do. I've been staying at Marriott hotels for 30 years now with my work and for personal use. I've been a rewards member all those years. This is the first time in all those years that Marriott has stuck it to me. I would advise ALL people traveling to Columbia to avoid this hotel. If you must stay at a Marriott chain hotel, then stay away from this one. As for me, I think I will look for a Hilton hotel or another chain next time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lorri P wrote a review Feb 2022
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina6 contributions9 helpful votes
We arrived on Friday and found our king suite had no AC. 3 people including another hotel manager attempted to resolve...they ended up bringing us a floor fan. They did not have any other suites available. The next day we came back to an unclean room. Called and was told they had limited housekeeping. During checkout on Sunday I asked about a credit for no AC. They said they would have the general manager call me. I have called 4 times and she refuses to call back or talk to me. The poor customer care is what bothers me more than being hot all weekend. Will not stay there again. Manager can still call me. S Beassie
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown
Responded 10 Mar 2022
Hello Lorri P, Thanks for sharing feedback. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, what you mentioned about the room having no AC and for the subpar level of service received made us miss the mark this time. I am sorry for the letdown. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. Comments such as yours are valuable and relayed to the team to help point out areas needing additional attention. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aremk wrote a review Feb 2022
New York City, New York142 contributions206 helpful votes
I've stayed at most hotels within the downtown Columbia area and frankly most of the chain hotels are just OK. I noticed this hotel last time I was in town and it looked new. I did some research and it looks like it was taken over by Marriott recently. The property itself is clean and fresh. Hallways are bright and rooms are large and well furnished considering the budget nature of the brand. But that's where it ends. Knowing how loud the main road is outside of the hotel, I knew (from staying at other properties on that road) to ask for the quiet side of the hotel. A week prior, I did just that -- request the quiet side and of course they responded with no guarantees but they would try their best. I figured being an elite member and asking a week in advance it would work out. Day prior to arrived I reconfirmed my request for the quiet side and confirmed I would be a very late arrival and again was met with a pleasant response. I checked in very late and was assigned to the first floor. Went to my room and didnt even open the curtains it was so late and I was tired. But I didnt need to open the curtain to know that I was in fact on the street side. It was VERY loud. All day and night. The next morning I opened the drapes to see I was about as close to the road as possible. This property was built right near the curb level of the highway and it is noisy. And you cant open the shades because it is so close to the road you can see everything I looked around the property and quickly determined that I was put in probably the most noisy room. Closest to the multi lane busy road and on the first floor. And this is after making 2 requests as an elite member to avoid this. I asked at the front desk to change and they said they were full. I asked why I was assigned this room when I asked for a quiet one and they said I was late checking in. Huh??? Oh and by the way, my room phone rang at 3am - it was the front desk asking me to verify my name. Again, huh???? The next morning when I asked why they said "dont know". So, unfortunately this is a Columbia property to avoid. Its a lesson learned for me. I read other reviews like "Horrible street noise" and was worried -- I thought being an elite member would get me a quiet room. Wrong.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown
Responded 9 Mar 2022
Hi aremk, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a candid review. I was very concerned to read your comments regarding room comfort, noise, sleep quality, customer service, and value. I understand your dismay and I am sorry. This is not the frictionless experience that we wanted for all our guests. I will make sure to share your comments with our team for the necessary improvements needed on our end. I appreciate you as our guest and I still hope you would give us another chance in the future. Orlando A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brad S wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
If you stay at this hotel (and don't have hearing problems) be sure to stay on the far side of I21 or you'll have traffic noise at the sound level approaching a lawn mower (not an exaggeration). Thw street noise is absurd and it's through all hours of the night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shyema S. wrote a review Jun 2021
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida19 contributions14 helpful votes
Great location. Extremely clean rooms and bathrooms. The staff was polite and helpful. An overall comfortable stay for a family of 4, which included two kids. Lots of restaurants close by and historic sites as well. Everything was in walking range.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express & suites columbia downtown hotel columbia, holiday inn express and suites columbia downtown, comfort suites columbia, columbia comfort suites
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaColumbia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FAIRFIELD INN & SUITES COLUMBIA DOWNTOWN: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 72 Photos (SC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Escapology Columbia (Vista) (0.6 km), Craft Axe Throwing- Columbia (0.9 km), and South Carolina State House (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cola's Restaurant, Motor Supply Co. Bistro, and Blue Marlin.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Downtown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting South Carolina State House (1.2 km), Robert Mills House & Gardens (1.8 km), and Hampton-Preston Mansion and Gardens (1.8 km).