We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista

Save
Share
819 Gervais St Main Entrance located at 808 Lady St., Columbia, SC 29201-3125
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
US$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
US$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$129
PricelineUS$129
Agoda.comUS$129
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (41)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#13 of 105 hotels in Columbia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Hyatt Place Columbia/Downtown/The Vista is a new downtown hotel in the Capital City. Our hotel is located within the heart of Columbia's premier art and entertainment district, The Vista. A short walk will get you to over 75 restaurants and entertainment venues, the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center, Colonial Life Arena and the University of South Carolina.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Estonian
1125Reviews15Q+A67Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 741
  • 223
  • 88
  • 50
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
lukenbrian wrote a review Nov 2022
Columbia, South Carolina1 contribution
Place is amazing and Clean. Great location. But the chemicals i the pool were not managed and burned my kid and I. My trunks were died white from a royal blue and kids had to be taken to urgent care. Not a great start to a trip
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chad Howard, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Responded 1 week ago
lukenbrian, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so sorry for your experience at our pool. This is being address as we speak. If you would like to speak with us further on this please feel free to contact us at 803-978-2013. Chad H.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Topmah wrote a review Aug 2022
Fayetteville, North Carolina10 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Despite being in the midst of construction upgrading the facility, you hardly knew it was going on! My room was spotless, inviting & had all the amenities. The included breakfast was a big plus & had quite a vaiiety of selections--HOT selections, too. Great coffee to start your day. A big shout out to the ladies at the front desk--when it turned out my cancelation of my 2nd night wasn't needed, they promptly & cheerfully set me up with a room at the last minute--I can't say enough about their ustomer service, the hotel in general--it's within walking distance of any type of dining you'd prefer--and even with the construction going on, parking is convenient & close to the check-in lobby. You can't go wrong with this Hyatt Place if you're looking for a stay in Columbia. You won't be disappointed. PS: Although I hadn't requested it, my room was perfect since I use a cane--the walk-in shower eqipped to accomnodate anyone needing extra help was fantastic--those needing 'handicapped' facilities would be very happy with a room such as I had. The King bed & plump pillows, made for a great night's sleep--very pleasant hotel experience!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chad Howard, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Topmah, Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. We are very excited about the renovations and hope you get to stay with us once the project is complete. Chad H.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KennethKyle wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Hotel is currently undergoing construction however everything possible has been done to make the stay as comfortable as possible and they are really taking that seriously. This hotel has great staff, very friendly and very helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chad Howard, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Responded 1 week ago
KennethKyle, Thank you for your understanding with our renovation. We are so excited about the upgrades that we are making in our guest rooms. We hope that you can come back and enjoy the finished product. Chad H.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ExclusivelyHyatt wrote a review Nov 2022
Charleston, South Carolina2 contributions
Great customer service, friendly staff, and the breakfast was great. Hotel was in the middle of renovations but it really had zero impact on my stay. I don’t really have anything else to say but there is a character minimum that I have to reach before I can finish.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chad Howard, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Responded 1 week ago
ExclusivelyHyatt, We are very appreciative of your feedback. Thank you so much for your kind words. We will be sure to pass your revoiew along to the team. Happy Holidays! Chad H.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gassvb wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Our family of nine traveled in a small bus and staff assisted us with parking so we could park near the door. Our children were disappointed they were unable to swim because the pool chemicals were too strong.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chad Howard, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Responded 1 week ago
gassvb, Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will get the pool addressed immediately. Chad H.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chemoth1 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I felt very at home in USC in South Carolina. My ability to think felt nurtured, not impeded. I connected with a longtime buddy who I had not seen since a previous life. We were able to catch up on what we had been doing in this time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chad Howard, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Responded 1 week ago
chemoth1, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again if you are ever in the Columbia area. Chad H.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shantamit wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
I enjoyed my stay; the room was comfortable ; room and hallway smelled clean. Recommendation: clean carpet and replace damaged carpet. I would stay again; the location was perfect. My event was 5 minutes away.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chad Howard, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Responded 4 weeks ago
shantamit, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of a renovation and are replacing all guest room carpet with new tile flooring. We hope you can experience these upgrades on your next visit. Chad H.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mobile62270521465 wrote a review Oct 2022
San Diego, California2 contributions
Property is under construction and not listed on app when you reserve room. Front desk staff not welcoming. Couldn’t get service at bar. Black mold on the shower curtain in the bathroom. Construction was loud in the morning making it impossible to concentrate on work.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chad Howard, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Responded 4 weeks ago
Mobile62270521465, Let me personally apologize for the challenges you experienced during your recent stay. Please know that this is not the norm for us and I would be glad to speak with you concerning you stay. Feel free to call me at 803-978-2013. Chad H.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aharvey569 wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
A well-appointed, modern property nestled in a sleepy but picturesque downtown. the staff was legitimately friendly and courteous. Even though the property was in the midst of renovations, the work did not hamper my stay. The newly upgraded room was bright and comfortable. Just right for a single traveler.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chad Howard, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Responded 4 weeks ago
aharvey569, Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Chad H.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon F wrote a review Sep 2022
Anderson, South Carolina1 contribution
Leaving a review because the customer service for this hotel is lacking. Our family made last minute reservations because we were driving in to town for Family Weekend at USC. We attended the night game at USC and I got sick and felt A two hour drive back home would be safer pending what was wrong versus staying in a hotel with possible fly or Covid symptoms. We left game early and called to let the hotel know I was feeling poorly and that we thought it best to go home rather than stay and they of course refused to allow us the ability to cancel even though they were booked solid and could have picked up a late booking from the game. For over $800 which was the final charge for the one night, we felt we couldn’t lose that so I agreed to stay-sick- and leave in the morning. Huge mistake!!!! The noise from the traffic on the street was horrific with revving engines and loud mufflers- this went until 2:00 in the moornkng. Apparently this is normal, becasuse we didn’t realize our room already had a white noise machine when we called down to request something to help drown the noise. The competing noise of The sound machine coupled with the cars revving engines made for a sleepless night for my son, my husband and me who was still sick when we left. A call back from the hotel manager was just as rude when explaining the poor customer service and a $100 credit to an over $800 bill is a slap in the face to someone who truly had an emergent situation. If you are looking to stay at a hotel In Columbia, I would ask the questions from this hotel on noise level and location of room. Plus they have a dog friendly policy and our rooms carpet smelled of urine so perhaps you can request allergen-dog free rooms? We are not Hyatt fans as we always stay at Hilton brand hotels and would have done so had they not been booked up. Will never stay here nor at a Hyatt brand hotel again! Parents look at all your choices before making the choice to stay here. Over $800 a night- because of the demand- is a joke! Worst night ever!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chad Howard, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Responded 4 Oct 2022
Sharonf5110NV, We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please understand that Parent's Weekend is one of the busiest time of the year for all of Downtown Columbia and our rates were in-line with the majority of our competitors. During that weekend we had a 14 day cancellation period and we were not able to cancel you reservation due to this. We totally understand that things happen, but if we have to be fair in how we handle our cancellation policy for all guests. It would have been unfair to allow you to cancel when we enforced this policy with all other guests. Finally, we pride ourselves in running a clean and efficient hotel with a focus on customer service. As you can see from the majority of our reviews over the years. Chad H.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$133 - US$188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaColumbia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HYATT PLACE COLUMBIA / DOWNTOWN / THE VISTA: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 118 Photos (SC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Which popular attractions are close to Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista?
Nearby attractions include Escapology Columbia (Vista) (0.2 km), Craft Axe Throwing- Columbia (0.2 km), and South Carolina State House (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cola's Restaurant, Motor Supply Co. Bistro, and Blue Marlin.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista have airport transportation?
Yes, Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Columbia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.