We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1400 Main St, Columbia, SC 29201-2806
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Sheraton.com
US$125
View deal
Expedia.comUS$125
Booking.comUS$125
Hotels.comUS$125
TravelocityUS$125
PricelineUS$125
Agoda.comUS$125
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (175)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (58)

About

#31 of 105 hotels in Columbia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Car hire
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
674Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 216
  • 224
  • 117
  • 65
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Varun M wrote a review Oct 2022
Chicago, Illinois4 contributions
Stayed here on business. This is not a business hotel. No coffee / breakfast available until 7 AM, which is not conducive to business at all. This is a Sheraton. You can’t tell me that it would be too much of an effort to at least have coffee available for your guests in your lobby. By the way, the coffee machine in the room is cumbersome to use and doesn’t work well. I’ll be coming back to Columbia often but won’t be staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Other at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Responded 28 Oct 2022
Dear Varun M, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It is through Guest Feedback that we are able to improve upon the hotel experience provided to our guests. You brought to my attention that during your recent stay, we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your experience during your stay has been shared with the appropriate department managers who joins me in offering not only our sincerest apologies for the Team’s shortcomings, but our commitment to resolving these issues in order to improve your lodging experience in the future. Although we fell short of meeting your expectations during your stay, I hope you will consider our hotel on your next visit to the area so that we can deliver on the guest experience you deserve. Sincerely, Guest Services Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel guestservices@sheratoncolumbiahotel.com 8039881400
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jerry D wrote a review Oct 2022
Beaufort, South Carolina14 contributions8 helpful votes
There was no appreciation for being a Bonvoy Member, We were not thanked for being a member on check in nor did our TV welcome us by name, as other Bonvoy hotels do. They have a roof top bar. It is tiny, the plexiglass to keep you from falling out is tired and dirty-as is the entire bar itself. The barmaid never introduced herself, there were no draft beer selections, The beers on menu were unavailable, she was unaware of the beers that were available, I choose a beer that was not listed as one they offer?, We asked for a water with our drinks, that never happened. Another server (she had a radio on her hip) showed and left, when she returned with their Starbucks order the croud had increased from 5 to 20--we were never attended to again, the origional server made drinks as the coworker with the radio watched and put awasy whatever she took out??? We had to stop them and ask for our tab. Very disappointing. Our 2 rating is because the hotel”s location is very convenient to downtown
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Other at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Responded 8 Oct 2022
Dear 944jerryd, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It is through Guest Feedback that we are able to improve upon the hotel experience provided to our guests. You brought to my attention that during your recent stay, we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your experience during your stay has been shared with the appropriate department managers who joins me in offering not only our sincerest apologies for the Team’s shortcomings, but our commitment to resolving these issues in order to improve your lodging experience in the future. Although we fell short of meeting your expectations during your stay, I hope you will consider our hotel on your next visit to the area so that we can deliver on the guest experience you deserve. Sincerely, Guest Services Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel guestservices@sheratoncolumbiahotel.com 8039881400
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
flyingrn50 wrote a review Sep 2022
cincinnati15 contributions12 helpful votes
Unfortunately our one stay at this Sheraton was not good. Upon check in We were told concierge would be open in the am for breakfast but that turned out to not be true. No points for vouchers were offered- just sorry they won't be opening after all. We were also told the restaurant would be open and that was not true. Our water in the shower stopped 3 different times(completely stopped-twice when I was taking a shower, once when my husband was in there ) and when we told the front desk, nothing was offered for service, only an apology. We usually stay at thew Marriott a block away but thought we would try this autograph hotel- won't do that again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Other at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Responded 8 Sep 2022
Dear flyingrn50, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It is through Guest Feedback that we are able to improve upon the hotel experience provided to our guests. You brought to my attention that during your recent stay, we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your experience during your stay has been shared with the appropriate department managers who joins me in offering not only our sincerest apologies for the Team’s shortcomings, but our commitment to resolving these issues in order to improve your lodging experience in the future. Although we fell short of meeting your expectations during your stay, I hope you will consider our hotel on your next visit to the area so that we can deliver on the guest experience you deserve. Sincerely, Guest Services Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel guestservices@sheratoncolumbiahotel.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy W wrote a review Aug 2022
Bethesda, Maryland51 contributions8 helpful votes
We went to Columbia, SC for our son's graduation from Fort Jackson. We wanted to experience the charm of Columbia so we added an extra night to our trip. We chose the Sheraton for the charm of the old building and its proximity to downtown restaurants. It is an old building with tiny elevators so if small places stress you out this is probably not the hotel for you. We enjoyed having drinks in the vault (not too many times you will have an opportunity to sip drinks in an old bank vault). We also tried out the rooftop bar and enjoyed taking in the city views.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Other at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Dear Exploring2023, On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share feedback regarding your stay with us! It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Your feedback has been shared with members of our leadership team and our Guest Service Specialists as a way of celebrating the great guest experiences we delivered. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie J wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
Would not do over the phone reservations, said to go online. Website doesn't change the date you intend it , so charged that day,,, and when we arrived the next day, they would not refund our money for dates we weren't there. Mgmt, wouldn't budge for a refund of our money for "so called" reservations I had , when I wasn't there. We come up with 2 rooms a few times a year, here, and we have 1 kid with 2 years left and another child coming up,, we won't stay here again, AS NO , NO customer service for a clerical error on their part. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Ussery, Other at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Responded 5 May 2022
Ms Jones, As I said in person while you were with us, we do apologize for your oversight on the dates you booked. That is why the online site sends out reminder emails of your upcoming stay for you to review prior to arrival. Again, we are sorry you selected the wrong dates for your stay, and we did provide a discounted rate for your stay with us that was more than generous from our end. The hotel had no way of deciding the dates you selected in order to scam you as you indicate. I am sorry you feel this way, and could only offer my apologies and wish you well on your future stays in Columbia, SC. And I also explained the user error when selecting the view rates. When you hit the "view rates" button, you are viewing the rates selected out to the left. In order to change the dates, you select the date range and then you have to select done, or else it doesn't know to look at the rates you want to see. Once you select "done", it changes the rates you wish to view. I understood this was an honest mistake, and that is why I offered the discounted rate on the stay. I'm sorry this happened, but we will adhere to the policy you agreed upon at the time of booking, which did not include a discount.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arttia G wrote a review Apr 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina2 contributions1 helpful vote
Very horrible experience here at the Sheraton. The customer service was extremely bad. I was yelled at across the hotel by a lady named Julia who is guest services simply because i asked for the Marriott Corporate number to file a complaint. After being yelled at across the hotel my anxiety and ptsd (i am a disabled veteran) began to go through the roof and i began shaking. I asked Julia not to speak to me being that my disability symptoms were flaring and she continued to speak after being asked to leave me alone numerous times. If your a disabled vet or someone who enjoys good customer service and promptness i would not stay here. They wouldn’t even let my 15 year old niece up to the room. They could have called the room or my person number to let her up but instead made me come 11 flights down just to use my key at the elevator to let my niece up who only went down to give valet a key. I have videos of the incidents in which will be posted. I left a voicemail with the general manager Stephen. Although i left the voicemail i seen him in the lobby with Julia for quite sometime as i sat in the lobby and not once was i addressed about the situation. I didn’t approach him because i was on the phone with the Marriott customer service line. Julia began snickering while staring at me complain to the customer service line. When i asked the night before for management information Tosha stated it was “her first night back to work so she wouldn’t know anything”. Although it was her first night back she could have simple redirected me to who she knew. Valet asked me to go get my own car from the parking garage. This was simply horrible. As a disabled vet and an ambassador elite they should be ashamed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Ussery, Other at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Responded 29 Apr 2022
To follow up, after providing you a full refund, it should be mentioned that even though you stayed under an Ambassador members reservation, you are not the Ambassador. Also, no one would interrupt a phone call to speak with you. We would encourage anyone to patiently wait on you to finish your call before approaching or addressing you. The fact that we would not allow someone up to your room is for the security of our guests. We felt no matter what we attempted to do for you was not satisfactory, therefore we offered the refund for the stay. Again, we mentioned several times that we appreciated your service, and apologized for the handling of the stay. For future reference, please make sure that when the reservation is booked, that you are the one on the reservation and not someone else.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stefanie M wrote a review Apr 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina23 contributions7 helpful votes
I gave 1 star only b/c of the location. This hotel is so old you can barely make out the numbers on the buttons in the elevator. They haven't changed the carpet in 40 years. This hotel brags about a rooftop bar but it's nothing to brag about. Yeah, its on the roof but not nice at all. Thank heavens I was only there one night for a wedding b/c as soon as I saw my room I wanted to walk out. You couldnt sleep in because it doesnt have curtains and it was so hot and bright in the morning. Just horrible all around. The holiday inn or marriott HAS to be better than this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure you do not get a corner room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Ussery, Other at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Responded 25 Apr 2022
I recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have taken the time to provide. Maintaining a clean atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is important and I apologize that we did not fulfill that expectation during your visit. Your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping leaders to ensure this issue is fixed. In addition, you would be happy to know that we are waiting on supplies (like most of America) for new elevator numbering, curtains, and other upgrades for our property. My hope is the next time you are in the area, you will give us another chance to provide the guest experience we strive to deliver. Thank you for your kind words regarding our front desk staff, and I apologize you felt the parking information online was misleading. We will look into make that information more clear. Sincerely, Stephen guestservices@sheratoncolumbiahotel.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TWCCharlotte_NC wrote a review Apr 2022
Greenville, South Carolina57 contributions39 helpful votes
Have stayed at this hotel before - people are nice, but management is terrible. Had money stolen from me while I was there - management didn't care. Car was vandalized while at the hotel - management didn't care. Be careful if you stay here since they will not take responsibility for anything their people do to you or your property. Management doesn't even have the decency to return calls. And look at other reviews that say poor things about this hotel - management usually writes a follow-up note, but trust me it is a hollow response.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Ussery, Other at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Responded 8 Apr 2022
TWCCharlotte_NC, as management has stated before, in order to pursue this claim of malicious damage and theft requires a police report that you have failed to provide. We do not police the outside world, and we have no authority to pursue this any further. Our employees are not vandalizing or stealing. Management has reached out to you numerous times, and this is no hollow response.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KWLV wrote a review Feb 2022
South Hadley, Massachusetts227 contributions160 helpful votes
Location of this hotel was perfect for a short stay in Columbia.. Room was nice and well maintained. Lacking in amenities., however. Here’s a tip - the pandemic is 2 years in…stop using it as an excuse to deny cleaning service. We all know it is just an excuse to cut your costs. Anyway, not a bad place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Other at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Dear KWLV, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the management team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to prevent this experience from occurring in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Southerntraveller_12 wrote a review Oct 2021
New York City, New York76 contributions110 helpful votes
We have stayed in this hotel several times before, and were surprised to see how run down it has gotten. It is just pain dirty, no other way to describe it. Missing tiles on the floors in the lobby and the elevators, bathrooms dingy, doors creaking and not shutting completely. The roof top bar is downright disgusting. This hotel should be removed from the Marriott brand. There is no service whatsoever, front desk is a joke and valets were nowhere to be found when we came back from the game Saturday night so we just left our car on the street. AC in the room cut off at night, we were hot the entire weekend. Really nothing good to say about this place, stay at the Marriott in Columbia instead.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Ussery, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Responded 24 Oct 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding this issue. I appreciate you bringing it to our attention. I will share your message with our leadership team. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Sincerely, Stephen Ussery Ops Manager Sheraton stephen@hicolumbiasc.com 8039881400
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$130 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
columbia sheraton
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaColumbia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
134
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHERATON COLUMBIA DOWNTOWN HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 268 Photos (SC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel?
Nearby attractions include South Carolina State House (0.4 km), Columbia Museum of Art (0.2 km), and Soda City Market (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bourbon, Cola's Restaurant, and Cantina 76 Main Street.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Columbia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting South Carolina State House (0.4 km), Robert Mills House & Gardens (0.8 km), and Hampton-Preston Mansion and Gardens (0.8 km).