We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC

Save
Share
630 Assembly Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$219
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$219
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$219
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$219
PricelineUS$219
AlgotelsUS$240
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (37)
Videos (1)

About

#20 of 105 hotels in Columbia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
429Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 152
  • 186
  • 61
  • 19
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Scott S wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I love this hotel! My first encounter was with buddy who after a long and dubious trip of delayed flights and being stranded momentarily he got my partner and I checked in and answered our questions effectively! Then I ended up getting sick over night Ashley took such great care of me! She brought up liquids and medicine to my room from the market, charged them to the room, ran around and got me an ice bag to help, brought extra towels and pillow. She absolutely won us over. These two made our horrible business trip so much more delightful. Also this hotel is conveniently located near usc and to downtown. A plus from us!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kasey Tyner, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Thank you for the wonderful words! I have shared your survey with the entire team, and we all appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kendellbrink wrote a review May 2022
Hilton Head, South Carolina382 contributions122 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Nice Courtyard conveniently located near USC. The staff are friendly and accommodating and made my overnight stay comfortable. Enjoyed the outdoor space for a bit of relaxation. The Bistro offerings are consistent and very good. Was there for a conference and found the space comfortable. Free parking in a downtown location a pleasant surprise.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kasey Tyner, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC
Responded 30 May 2022
Kendell, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax here and be comfortable while attending your conference. We hope to serve you again when travels bring you back to Columbia!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
phwiegandt wrote a review Apr 2022
Fincastle, Virginia10 contributions11 helpful votes
A word of warning. I booked a room at Courtyard downtown Columbia, SC that I had to cancel about 32 hours ahead of check in. I was told I would not be charged. I was charged $227.36 on my credit card.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kasey Tyner, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC
Responded 2 May 2022
I am very sorry for any miscommunication as we do have a 48 hour cancellation policy, like most Marriott properties.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveler1959-123 wrote a review Feb 2022
Starkville, Mississippi842 contributions383 helpful votes
The hotel is directly adjacent to the USC campus, so convenience is a huge plus if you're visiting the university. The staff were friendly and helpful at the front desk and the restaurant. Rooms are a bit tired, but clean and comfortable. I'd definitely plan on returning when I come back to Columbia.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kasey Tyner, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC
Responded 15 Feb 2022
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BackPacker567497 wrote a review Nov 2021
Parktown North, South Africa12 contributions5 helpful votes
I stay here often because of USC and I just wish the hotel staff could be consistent in it's service level and policies. Why do you get a microwave in a king bed room but not in a 2 queen room? Why are there problems with bathroom plumbing so often - the people that clean have to know when sinks are clogged and lights are out. A guest shouldn't have to deal with these things week after week. I stay here because of location - but please get it together.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kasey Tyner, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC
Responded 16 Dec 2021
Thank you for your feedback - this has been shared with the hotel team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sliphorn wrote a review Oct 2021
Springfield, Ohio1010 contributions392 helpful votes
I stayed here for one night while playing at an Oktoberfest off site. It was bascially pretty good. The room was modern and nice. There is a lot of noise fromt he street but it was Saturday night. The parking is in their garage and is free. You are just given a slip of paper to put on your dash. Check in and out were basically good. I did try to check out and got someone else's bill by accident. This was corrected though. The breakfast was not a good experience as I had to buy a dried oatmeal canister to put in my microwave. The coffee was good as it was Starbucks. All in all, if you are staying on campus, this is a good choice.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jesse1314 wrote a review Aug 2021
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania118 contributions35 helpful votes
Stayed while visiting U of SC for dons college visit. Hotel was a typical Courtyard property, clean, staff helpful & decent location. Bathroom was pretty small but if that’s the worst complaint than we’re doing ok. Overall I’d stay here again when in town.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Joan M wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I have stayed at this property before, and was delighted by the kindness and friendliness of the staff at that time. Not this time. Even as a loyalty member checking into a pretty empty hotel during a pandemic, I got a very small room with no refrigerator, and not even a bottle of water. When I asked for water I was told by the front desk clerk that the manager says she "doesn't have to provide water." Well, maybe she doesn't have to, but she certainly should, considering there are no other amenities available (bar, food) due to the pandemic. There was junk food/soda available for purchase, but I went to the CVS up the block and got water for my room. The hotel is conveniently located and offers free parking which is a plus, but be careful in that garage... it's designed for subcompact cars in an SUV world. Not a good representative of the Marriott brand, at all.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Holly Penny, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC
Responded 23 Apr 2021
Hi Joanm257, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. We are very sorry that you felt as though our service and property were not up to standard. Our number one goal every day even during a pandemic is to provide you, our guest, with the best experience possible. Again, I am very sorry that we did not during your most recent stay. We will be addressing these concerns immediately. We are also very sorry that you found our complimentary garage parking cumbersome. Please note that we do have open air parking which is located around the backside of the building. To get to this parking, simply circle around the building and it is located in the rear. We have a back door entry as well as stairs that bring you back down to the main lobby entrance. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon so that we can provide you with the perfect stay! Warmest Regards and Safe Travels, Holly Penny
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aremk wrote a review Feb 2021
New York City, New York141 contributions200 helpful votes
Just an average chain at best. And its dated. Rooms are small and not set up well. Even though I am an Elite member I was given a substandard room. The parking lot (which is terrible by the way) was empty, so I know the hotel was empty and I was not offered any upgrade or even a better room. And there is no breakfast or even complimentary coffee or tea. And no daily housekeeping due to Covid??? There are better choices when visiting Uof SC..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Kronemeyer's, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC
Responded 3 Feb 2021
Dear Aremk, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC and providing your honest feedback on the Guest Satisfaction Survey. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. At your earliest convenience, please contact us here at the hotel so we can view your previous reservation and offer an explanation as to why you were not provided an upgrade. According to the CDC guidelines that we follow, our guest room attendants are not allowed to enter the guest's room until departure, for both their safety and the guests. We do have a Starbucks in our lobby that is for purchase; however, there is complimentary coffee in the guests' rooms. Once again, we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you have faced while staying with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during these unusual times. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David S wrote a review Nov 2020
Spartanburg, South Carolina366 contributions104 helpful votes
We stayed for one night to attend the USC vs Missouri football game. Got a great rate. We were upgraded, at check-in without asking (platinum), to a one bedroom suite. It was nice to have the extra room. Everything was clean. Bathroom on the small side. Plenty of free parking. Staff was very welcoming and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Responded 1 Dec 2020
Thank you for the excellent feedback regarding your recent stay! We sincerely appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$138 - US$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard columbia downtown at usc hotel columbia, marriott columbia, columbia courtyard
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaColumbia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
189
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT COLUMBIA DOWNTOWN AT USC: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 132 Photos (SC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC?
Nearby attractions include Escapology Columbia (Vista) (1.2 km), Craft Axe Throwing- Columbia (0.9 km), and University of South Carolina (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC?
Conveniently located restaurants include DI Prato's, Bourbon, and Cola's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Columbia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC?
Many travellers enjoy visiting South Carolina State House (0.8 km), Robert Mills House & Gardens (1.8 km), and Hampton-Preston Mansion and Gardens (1.8 km).