We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 402: English reviews
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidnL5075YJ
Ravi J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Cocoa Beach, Florida
Reviewed 27 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 635williamy
Ravi J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Winter Haven, Florida
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Howard Johnson restaurants and hotels were ever so popular and plentiful in my youth. Today I seldom see this brand. While traveling home to Florida we stayed at this Howard Johnson Inn. The lobby was a reminder of how once this was a fine Inn. It was beautiful with windows every gracing the entry, an elegant chandelier, and a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nhs1212d
Ravi J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear nhs1212d, We are glad to hear that we were able to provide you with clean inn and friendly service. We are almost in our final stages of renovation and would like to invite all our guests to come and enjoy not only the service but the product they deserve in the very near future. Thank you for your time...

Lake City, Florida
Reviewed 22 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
Ravi J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We had to change our first room it was filthy, I had a hard time believing that they would give someone that room, when I went to complain they told me it was old there's a difference between old and dirty,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J8107NHmarkg
Ravi J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear J8107NHmarkg, We are almost in our final stages of renovation and would like to invite all our guests to come and enjoy not only the service but the product they deserve in the very near future. Thank you for your time to provide us with your feedback. We do realize that old rooms give guest the perception of being...

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

This was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. They say there remodeling but, is was still a mess. Rooms smell and there was only one person cleaning the rooms. I will give them a "E" for effort... Well, you live and learn..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ravenna S
Ravi J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear Ravenna S, We are almost in our final stages of renovation and would like to invite all our guests to come and enjoy not only the service but the product they deserve in the very near future. Thank you for your time to provide us with your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience in terms of service due to...

Fort Washington, Maryland
Reviewed 11 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warren F
Ravi J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewed 11 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1982zebrac
Ravi J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

My family and I evacuated here for hurricane Matthew and turned out in a horrible situation. It was the last room in town (looked like most of the place was run down and they were just throwing rooms together ) we knew it wasn't gonna be fancy. The bathroom was disgusting and bugs in the shower. The room was smelly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
Ravi J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear Samantha B, We are sorry to hear that the accommodations were not up to standard with hurricane Matthew challenges we all had to go through. Please accept our apologies with the flood because of heavy storm and heavy rain due to hurricane effect. We are almost in our final stages of renovation and would like to invite all our...

Central Florida, Florida
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We did not arrive from a day of travel until very late and to tired to make other arrangements!! But very glad we were not staying but 10 hours!! Did not eat breakfast due to the lack of cleanliness of the room~~the thought of eating there just grossed me out!! I was VERY disappointed as a Wynham Reward Member~~I thought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 168kellic
Ravi J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear 168kellic, We are sorry to hear that the property even though clean but being worn out looked and felt dirty. We are almost in our final stages of renovation and would like to invite all our guests to come and enjoy not only the service but the product they deserve in the very near future. Thank you for your...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.5 km away
Econo Lodge Florence
Econo Lodge Florence
#28 of 40 in Florence
192 reviews
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
0.8 km away
Ramada Florence Center
Ramada Florence Center
#23 of 40 in Florence
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 40 in Florence
177 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#19 of 40 in Florence
311 reviews
5.4 km away
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Management as of Nov 2015. Many rooms with flat screen TVs. All rooms are equipped with microwave, fridge, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards. Group Rates and meeting room available. Free in room WIFI. We are located within walking distance of several restaurant chains. Right off the I95 exit 164. Within 5 minutes of shopping, baseball park, softball park, tennis complex, hospital and downtown Florence. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Address: 2038 W Lucas St, Florence, SC 29501-1203
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Price Range: $80 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Florence
Ramada Hotel Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn Florence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere or sleep in your car”
 of 5 bubbles wdfltrdr, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We did not ask. Hotel seemed quiet and respectful Latoya will do her very best to accommodate you.”
 of 5 bubbles gailv985, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles LinT5, 4 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles 256kg, 2 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Main building is great for us, as there are no pets allowed.”
 of 5 bubbles 609ruthh, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay