We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Waters Edge Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waters Edge Resort
Waters Edge Resort
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Waters Edge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
charlotte
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I did not have high expectations coming in, so I got what I think was fair value for an average, not very clean, not service orientated, but right on water and free parking, beach hotel. If you just want a place to sleep and really aren't hanging out there, it is worth the money to be right at the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amy e
Hillview, Kentucky, United States
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in room 1511 and it was FULL of black mold. We didn't notice it at first because we weren't really looking but when our baby girl got really sick and she would get better then sick again and then we started feeling really bad too we knew something was wrong. She broke out with a red rash all...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Dawn H
Allyn M, General Manager at Waters Edge Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to see you have chosen this forum to Broadcast your issues with Waters Edge Resort. We have had a Great Summer where we had more than 10,000 people stay with us. Most people had a great time and Enjoy Waters Edge and come back year after year. Some people's expectations were not meant and we try to...

Hillsboro, OR
Reviewed 5 August 2013

First of all, the location is great, and the facilities are terrific for the price. Our room was very clean. Loved having two bathrooms and a full kitchen and washer and dryer!! Is this the Ritz? No, it's not but it's perfect for taking the family to the beach, and has everything you need for a pleasant stay. The pools...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank chipco2
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I love comming back to the Water's Edge. It is so close to the Ocean. Everything was fine. Pools and Hot tub clean and in working order. All employess very nice. Grounds kept clean. No issues w/ any other guests. The food at the Oceanside cafe was good. Another relaxing vacation. Avoid all the crap and rent directly through a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank houdini
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 5 August 2013

First, we got there a couple of hours early and the lady at the front desk told us it would be a few hours, which was fine, she said she would call us on the phone when our room was ready which was at 3:30 pm. We finally arrived back at the resort at 4:30pm after waiting on the elevators...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jeremy H
Allyn M, General Manager at Waters Edge Resort, responded to this review

Sir, I am sorry to hear about the issues you had. I am surprised to hear about most of these items because when we spoke you didn't mention them. I thought you had come to a resolution on your room not being made up when you arrived. We did have someone go up and make the beds for you. You...

High Point, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The title Waters Edge says it all! You are literally at the edge of the ocean. There is very little beach front which makes it very crowded. The unit we stayed in, 109, needs a major renovation. Everything is very old and dingy. The kitchen and bathroom floors are yellow. I just had this unclean feeling the entire time. The...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank KKBum22
Allyn M, General Manager at Waters Edge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I did want to clarify one thing. This unit is rented out by the individual owner and sometimes when this happens you get a inconsistent product. At WER Inc we strive to maintain a high standard in both cleanliness and room décor. All our rooms are outfitted with a standard amount of Kitchen amenities ....

Inman, South Carolina
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in Suite 1406 at Water's Edge Resort in Garden City from 29 June - 5 July 2013. We chose this condo based on reviews and the location is good. It is directly on the beach and on the 14th (really 13th) floor. There are better places to stay for the money we paid. The suite itself was appointed...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Carl B
Waterloo, Ontario, CA
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Excellent location direct beachfront. Our condo was decorated in a beach theme, and was super clean on the 7th floor. The ocean view straight ahead, and to the right of the Garden City Pier, and to the left looking towards North Myrtle Beach was fantastic. The Waters Edge building has lots of parking, clean pools and decks, and a breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank B D
NC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at Water’s Edge for “Bike Week” 2013 (May). Although we reserved a privately-owned condo for the majority of our week, we did end up going down several days early to stay with a friend in a three-bedroom “hotel-owned” condo. There was no comparison! The (hotel-owned) room was dated and run-down with shag carpet, 70’s wallpaper saggy mattresses with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TrooperWife
California
Reviewed 15 April 2013

A family friend owns 2 condo's here and offered us a week's stay. The ammenities include an indoor, heated pool, an outdoor pool and jacuzzi and the most beautiful, clean beach with views from every single unit! Very friendly, clean throughout. A mix of guests-families and "snowbirds". The unit we stayed in had everything we needed-washer/dryer, cooking and cleaning supplies,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RIslandgirl120

461 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (353)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Beach (18)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (59)
Viewed
Pool (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Suite (84)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City Beach
2.9 km away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
1,308 reviews
0.1 km away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#5 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
49 reviews
4.6 km away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
14.7 km away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,795 reviews
16.1 km away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Oceanside Cafe
Oceanside Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer the finest in one, two and three bedroom fully furnished condos ( all oceanfront ) for the price of a regular hotel room. All suites include fully-equipped kitchens with microwaves washer and dryers and private balconies for your comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waters Edge Resort

Address: 1012 N Waccamaw Dr, Garden City Beach, SC 29576-8799
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Garden City Beach
Price Range: $176 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waters Edge Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Waters Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Garden City Beach
Hotel Waters Edge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waters Edge Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Waters Edge Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher up is better for less noise and ability to keep balcony doors open”
 of 5 bubbles Luckywench66, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The higher rooms have better views of the dolphins”
 of 5 bubbles kevinwT8926DF, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles 646tim, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor is quiet and has great views but hard to catch an elevator sometimes”
  • View from our balcony
  • Sunrise from 12th floor
 of 5 bubbles 309justinr, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“upper rooms have better veiw of ocean”
 of 5 bubbles scottie1955, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5