We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

990 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
See the most recent reviews
Showing 980: English reviews
Irmo, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 April 2016

The Greenville Hampton Inn provided a very nice downtown experience and a good meeting location. Service was very good from check in thru departure. Everything was up to our usually great Hampton Inn experience but the room cost seemed pretty high, even for the location. None the less, we would return when in Greenville.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travel54281
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Travel54281, I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your Greenville experience, especially at our property. I understand our rates can be more than expected for most Hampton Inns, however our dedicated Sales staff does a fantastic job to ensure our rates are competitive with other local hotels. Please let me know the next time you plan on...

South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Staff and facility are top notch. Only complaint is the sometimes high price that is charged. Prices are not consistent for the same type of room and apparently it depends on what events are happening in the city.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrisha V
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Patrisha V, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I am happy to hear you had a great experience. Regarding the cost of our rooms, we find ourselves comparable to similar properties in our market. While there may be other locations in our brand with different offerings, our team spends a lot of time researching...

Leesville, SC, United States
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Our delightful stay in Greenville was due in part to our overnight at the Hampton Inn. The location was perfect, the room large, clean, and ready upon our early arrival, and the breakfast was excellent. Daniel, at the front desk, was extraordinarily helpful in guiding us through the hectic Sunday town traffic and in offering local information. The fresh fruit...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Nancy R, Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor.com. I can confirm that our seasoned staff sincerely enjoy providing the best possible experience, especially the ladies in the morning. One thing you can always count on when visiting the Hampton Inn & Suites @RiverPlace is a pile of fresh offerings each morning. I look...

Atlanta
Reviewed 27 April 2016

This hotel exceeded my expectations on location alone. We were in town to see a concert at the arena and were able to walk there from the hotel. The hotel itself sits basically in Falls Park...which are some man-made falls built into the River with some old rehabbed buildings and new hotels. It's very lovely. The view from our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgpatlantatraveler
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear jgpatlantatraveler, Thank you for sharing such an honest review of our property. The city planners did a fantastic job incorporating the buildings into the landscape, and lucky for us, we have definitely benefited from the views. Also, the carillon you heard was in fact a malfunction, but I am happy to inform that it is back to proper working...

Charleston, United States
Reviewed 27 April 2016

One of the nicest Hampton Inns for which I have had the pleasure staying and I will definitely come back. Pretty location, near lots of choices to the main area downtown, and the people are very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Lori S, Your review is exactly the kind of reaction we hope to provide to every guest. Each colleague strives to provide top-notch service to exceed the expectations for everyone. If you find yourself back in Downtown Greenville, SC, please let me know if I can be of any assistance. With delight, Patrick Munroe Guest Services Manager Hampton Inn...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 April 2016

My wife and I had a quick trip/stay in Greenville for a night. The Hampton Inn is perfectly located in the middle of everything that you need to see if you’re visiting Greenville. Its located right on the Reedy River across from the Peace Center Performing Arts Theater/Wyche Pavillion/Amphitheatre area and a couple steps away from the scenic Falls Park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atrizzle
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear atrizzle, Thank you for staying with us recently at our Hampton Inn & Suites! I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our facilities and our wonderful city of Greenville. We are fortunate to be seated on the Reedy River which provides our hotel with a wonderful view of the river and surrounding downtown area. Also, your review...

South Carolina
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This Hotel is located within walking distance to great restaurants and the Fluor Field. We enjoyed a good baseball game and a quick walk to some excellent restaurants. Hotel was great and very professional. The area restaurants are just fun and great food. Great Stay.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitwest
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Mitwest, It appears you had a great time watching the Greenville Drive! With our location being an easy walk to the field, it is obvious you did your research ahead of time. Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope we can be your hotel of choice for all future trips to the Upstate area. With delight, Patrick...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I was told that my rate for the third night would be $299.00. We left. They corrected the bill to $160.00 for the two nights we stayed. This property is a rip off and should not be a Hilton property. Signed, Attorney from NY

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Peter S, Thank you so much for providing your TripAdvisor Review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope that we will have the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience. We never wish to come across as insincere in our offers and strive to continuously provide the highest level of service to each guest....

Reviewed 25 April 2016

The location of this Hampton Inn cannot be beat! With the River and ample walking trails right outside the door there was no reason to use the gym. It is within walking distance to Main Street with numerous restaurants to choose from. The hotel itself was remodeled and having a corner room facing the River was wonderful. The hotel was...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deannac946
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear deannac946, Thank you for your amazing review! I am elated to read that you had just a great time with us on your recent trip to Greenville. The entire staff takes great pride in their job, and with reviews like yours, they couldn't be happier. Our Breakfast team does a great job choosing the highest quality for their fresh...

kent, United States
Reviewed 21 April 2016

wonderful hotel! Very clean and updated. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great complimentary breakfast. Comfortable bed and layout of our suite was beyond perfect! Great location downtown. Close to everything!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear John M, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. Our staff do a fantastic job keeping a positive attitude and ensuring all guests feel right at home. As for breakfast, I completely agree that the spread is fantastic. Hopefully we impressed you enough to have you return the next...

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
3:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.4 km away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
1.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.6 km away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#19 of 64 in Greenville
119 reviews
9.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#3 of 64 in Greenville
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Price Range: $235 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Black Mountain, North Carolina
over a year ago
Bethesda, Maryland
10 months ago
over a year ago
USA
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a balcony room on the river - get high up. Avoid noise from early birds - I'm talking about the ducks and geese on the river.”
 of 5 bubbles John662, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I enjoyed having a room looking over the river.”
 of 5 bubbles JoanMarietta_GA, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Perfect hotel to run the river trail”
 of 5 bubbles juliecm22, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Elevators and vending machines are at the end of each floor, so rooms near the center of the floor are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles SALibrarian, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Facing the water”
 of 5 bubbles halfwayback, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5